1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    A couple of guys have the same setup with the DKA790GX, go ahead and PM them. None of them followed thru.

    I know there was a guy with the 1.6ver bios that had luck with unlocking his 4th core. Just try and get a 0904 720, those are the ones that seems to have the best luck with unlocking.

    Check this thread out
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/Forums/showthread.php?t=219087&highlight=DKA790GX 720&page=5
     
  2. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Well thought I'd give you guys a look at my rebuild

    [​IMG]

    Going to post a project log about it in a day or so, once I get my wording right heh.
     
  3. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,350 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,142
    well i believe ya CD... you have an ES chip but most of us cant run real benches @4+ ghz unless on Ln2.... at that low temp the frequency is way more stable.... i seen 6.5ghz on liquid helium pass Mark05.... God i can only dream:respect:
     
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I would like to know why my overclock has still not made it in the top 5? Has it just not been updated or is it not getting added for a certain reason?
     
  5. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Shadow, you need to add me to the list of members.

    Phenom II X3 720BE + Foxconn A7DA-S
     
  6. Supreme0verlord

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    696 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    Yeah Shadow, jeeez lol. Add me to while your at it!

    Phenom II X3 720BE + Gigabyte GA-MA790GP
     
  7. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Ditto..tia :)
     
  8. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,350 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,142
    lol CP..... Shadow said on the 1st page to pm to get your update on.... since he isn't here 24/7 :toast:
     
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Show me the screen ;) it may seem like I'm on 24/7, but I really aren't lol
     
  10. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Are you sure? because that whopping 21 and a half posts daily argues.
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Haha I just have a lot to say!
     
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    First non-ASUS board on the list, grats :laugh:
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,821 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,196
    CP you can run those sticks at 1066 5-5-5-16 timings.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  15. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    I'm going to sound kinda stupid for this considering I've been using AMD since S754, but what does C&Q do if I leave it enabled and set a manual bus and multi on my CPU? Does it effectively disable it, or does it do weird shit where it just down volts when it's not under load? (I've always understood that the latter is what happens.)
     
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    It slows it down and lowers the volts, even if you OC. I usually keep it off. I don't see the point honestly..
     
    OzzmanFloyd120 says thanks.
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,821 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,196
    Add me too. Rig is in my specs and currently folding away. :)
     
    OzzmanFloyd120 says thanks.
  18. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    thanks bro. I wont top CDAwall as I wont do no DICE, but i'll see how far up I can go on a non asus board :D Got my mounting clip coming for the Zalman, see how it does with a good cooler.
     
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I know, after I shut it down and was browsing on my other rig I noticed I could have tightened up the timings :laugh: Oh well, I'm waiting to install my cooler to push a bit harder see how it does.
     
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,062 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,651
    Damn, DFI now has a DDR3 motherboard.
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,821 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,196
    That's one thing I don't like about the LP Jr. It will change the timings on your whether it's on AUTO or not. With my sticks it just doesn't give me the option of 5 5-5-15 so "" 16 is the next best I suppose.:ohwell: Hopefully a new bios will help recognizing some spd's.
     
  22. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    since im not exactly sure with the DFI what to change as far as timings in the BIOS, I just do it with Memset. Just didnt do it on the runs where I ran at 3.9 ghz.
     
  23. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,350 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,142
    1104MHz 5.5.5.15.25 2.20v...... i gave him those sticks and know what there capable of running.... common CP crank em up Bro!!!!!:rockout:
     
  24. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    I know the feeling of the board restricting you like that, my giga board will only volt my vdimms up to 2.2v
     
  25. jmartire4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    [​IMG]»



    AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz blk edt oced to 3.9 ghz at a 1.6vc » Motherboard » MSI K9N2 SLI PLATINUM » Memory » G.SKILL 4GB 6400 oced to 1000 mhz at 4-4-4-12 » Hard drive » 2x WD 300g raptors in raid 0 » Graphics card » 2x XFX 9800 GT clocked at 750/1850/2114 » CPU Cooler » swifttech apex ultama » GPU Cooler » Ultra performance gpu cooler » PSU » Ultra 1000w psu » Case » Antec 900


    http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/2053.html
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page