1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

the burn in tutorial

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by psychomage343, Apr 4, 2007.

  1. psychomage343 Guest

    Hey everyone, so i had a thread about this and how it worked for me, so i'll explain it simple for all to try.

    First what does burning in do? Well it basically is supposed to help you achieve a higher overclock, with a lower voltage, thus overall lower temps as well. I say supposed to because there is no hard science as to how this works, it's really speculation but from the week i've been looking at thread after thread in forum after forum, i'm beginning to see a trend towards the success side over the failure side. So let me get started.

    1. The first thing to do is bring your computer to stock clocks, and drop your htt to 3, and your mem down to 100, or a 1/2 divider. this eliminates the memory and htt bus from causing any error at all and leaving the only errors to the cpu.

    2. Next drop your voltage from stock 1 notch at a time running prime95 or orthos for about 1/2 hour. Do not worry about errors, keep going till the computer outright freezes, then go back up one notch and run prime or orthos for 1 hour making sure that your computer isn't going to freeze.

    3. this is where the burn in begins, it's best done while you will not be using your computer because you will not be able to do anything while it's int he process. i started with a 1.4v on my 4000 and ended up starting at about 1.29 tested with a multi. Begin running prime, or orthos, do this with the max heat test, do not set it to halt on errors, just get it to run.

    4. Let it go for about 8 hours. just let it go, i worried about my pc while i was at work due to the fact that it might freeze, so if you are going to do this at work, set your computer to do no memory dumps and just auto restart. continue this for 8 hours.

    5. when 8 hours has passed it's time to make a change to the voltages, drop 1 more notch and test for 1 hour of prime, if it gives erros this is ok it should not freeze. if it did not freeze let it run another 8 hours.

    6. continue this until you cannot go any lower with your volts without it freezing. if your cpu cannot undervolt much simply raise cpu clocks at standard multi until the computer spits out errors and doesn't freeze, this also works, although i'm hearing it's not as effective as the undervolt method.

    if this has been performed steadily for some time, i did this over a 4 or 5 day period on my 4000, you may see some results, i did see some results, i spent hours attempting to oc my cpu when i first got it, and came to the conclusion that it took 1.5375v to keep it just barely stable at 3.10ghz, and at that it spit an error or 2 out after about 6 hours prime, which is stable to me. I'm not at 1.44v at 3.15 and i've seen it go 8 hours now orthos and prime stable. i'm going to further keep up with this guide to give you my new max cpu oc if any, but if anything did happen i'm happily gaming and benching at .14v less then i used to be, that's less temps and less power to keep my cpu cool. hope you guys give it a try and please post your results here, so that i can see how effective this may be.
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    im currently priming my opteron 144 at 1.1v so far not 1 error at all...all stock clock memory is at DDR200 HT @ 3.....that about it i will let you know what happens:toast:
  3. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    not one error for 8 hours it was priming...not one error at all..the default voltage for this thing is 1.4v,but yet i can run it @ 1.1v all night priming and its stable as hell:confused:
  4. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I read a few articles on this but didn't see any tangible evidence, but this really makes me believe it's possible.

    Would there be any point in doing it on a CPU that's about a year old? or should I just wait until I get my new one (anytime between now and Xmas lol)?
  5. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    now my opty is running exactly 1v stable as a rock...i dont understand before it would never run this low voltage at stock clocks......i think we may be on to something
  6. psychomage343 Guest

    great athlonx2, and as for the question about being used on a cpu that's a year old, it doesn't work as good, but it does sometimes work. give it a shot, athlonx2 is having results so far, which makes him the third person to try my method and be somewhat successful. good work the 1v, damn that's low
  7. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
  8. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Ok, well I'll give it a go. Currently I can get 2.56Ghz at 1.51v so we'll see what I can get afterwards.
  9. psychomage343 Guest

    excellent athlonx2, i saw the thread, i actually was inspired to write this up real quick after reading yours last night
  10. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    the temps just keep on droppin...i run orthos for 1 hour at a time and see how low the temps go on idle..so far lowest is 11c idle and load is 17c:toast: [​IMG]
  11. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    4nj0n3 3l$3 h 4d 4n4 l|_|ck \/\/17h d4 b|_|rn 1n? b3ph0r3 1 h4d 70 p|_|7 1.7v 70 g37 3g n0\/\/ 1 0nl4 n33d 1.52v 4m4z1ng!!!!!!!!!!!!
  12. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Unfortunately my board wont allow me to underclock, and it wont boot with my CPU frequency high enough to error, so I'm currently looking for a modded BIOS, but I can't find any....
  13. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    check out rebels haven there good for that....:toast:
  14. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    so after monthes of having my cpu undervolting could drop the voltage again?
  15. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom

    I did, unfortunately they don't have anything that changes voltages because of the way Abit designed the BIOS. All the BIOSes add features, but don't touch the overclocking facility, which from the looks of things is an extra module tagged on, and I can't find any way to edit it....so I'm kind of screwed.
  16. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    thanks
  17. psychomage343 Guest

    if you can't do an undervolt, oc until you get an error but it don't crash, then do f@h for 8 hours, that'll work just not as well from my understanding, in most cases it's a matter of time, ifyou can't undervolt, run longer
  18. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    720 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    So have you heard of anyone having any luck with taking their CPU below stock speeds so as to run on as little volts as possible, then burning in? Right now I have my Opty 170 at 1.6GHz (2GHz stock) at 1.025V. I'm pretty interested in finding its lower limit, my board is capable of giving only .8V To speed up the process of finding the max clocks with least voltage I first set the processor at its stock speed then kept decreasing the voltage one step at a time until I couldn't boot into windows. Then I'd drop my multiplier to the next whole value and start decreasing the voltage from there and see how far it'd take me. I've been writing down as I go the voltage requirements to boot into windows at the various speeds. I'm hoping to be able to get down to .8V and see what I can do with that before I burn it in for a few days. I might not get much from this process as my processor is about 3 months old at this point but it can't hurt. After taking off my IHS, I can do 2950MHz at 1.4V rock stable. I've been up to 3.1GHz for benching and could boot at 3.15 but that was with 1.6V which I didn't like much.
  19. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I ran for 24hours and got no errors, if I push the clocks to high the board refuses to POST, I do have another motherboard which goes from 0.5v all the way to 2v but I don't want to switch everything over just to do this.
  20. nick_1992

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    580 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    my bord is capable of going down to 0.825V but my cpu is over a year old so it wouldn'y do much i guess
  21. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    well, I did not run underclocked too long, BUT I did see a big stability increase in orthos, although at 1.5 vt my cpu still tests inder sevear load the same temp c
  22. psychomage343 Guest

    so how's any burning in coming along, i've got a max post of 3.55ghz at 1.56 so that's pretty exciting, if only i could keep it stable, i haven't been playin much with it, fixin other peoples pos pcs but i'm back at it again, i'm hoping to have 3.4 or so stable and i'll call it quits, that's not bad with a load temp of 42 on air and an idle of 33, plus my new vf900's keeping my 7900gt's at 650/900 1.50 vmod nice and cool at 36idle and 45 load, so i'm pretty happy all together with it, hopefully by sat i'll have a full range of benches and stabiltiy runs for proof of all this hoopla, anybody else having good results, either lower temps or higher clocks or even lower voltage at same clocks for that matter??
  23. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    As above now at 925 stable in orthos, I am not playing arround too much, thinking off a single loop, single pelt out of case playing thing tho route my water through, would only be turned on to test..

    So temps are somewhat better, oc went up stable.
  24. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    whats really weird is since ive ran my cpu at 1v for the last 3 or 4 days,my default voltage has changed on my chip...it used to be 1.4v and now its detected as 1.32v.....anyone else have this?
  25. psychomage343 Guest

    i don't know, but that's a pretty interesting change, if it's stable at 1.32 i guess keep it lol, can't complain if the computer says it wants less voltage lol

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page