1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Crappy Overclockers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Since I feel I am the crappiest overclocker on the face of the planet I decided to start a club for people that are equally as crappy in their opinion. Post all your mistakes and bad luck here. Personally if there is a bad hardware mix to be made I am the man for the job. I have yet to find a good combination of ANYTHING.
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,619
    quit using amd:roll:
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    ok........AthlonX2 :shadedshu :laugh:
    johnnyfiive and 1Kurgan1 say thanks.
  4. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,619
    Its the truth...If you want to overclock you dont buy subpar components:p
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Oh I didn't. If I did that I would have bought an Apple. I buy good stuff. Just not the right combination of good stuff. :laugh:
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  6. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,619
    Its not easy to get high binned parts with AMD,ive had 2 Phenoms and they were both crap, thats why i have a xeon now:toast:
  7. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    My CPU is fine. Its my mobo/RAM combo thats kicking my ass.
  8. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    That was wicked funny, but let's try to keep fanboi wars out shall we? ;)
    ________________________

    I must say that oc'ing depends more on mobo quality and its available bios, and also on RAM rather than cpu.
    My old E4300 used to go up to 3.15Ghz on the P5B but now that I put it on a work pc on some asrock mobo it won't budge beyond 2 Ghz.

    I can clock my E8400 to 4.2Ghz on same P5B with my Apacer RAM, but replace the RAM with value Corsairs and I won't go beyond 3.2Ghz (tried and tested to exhaustion lol).

    The Q9450 in my laptop isn't a bad proc, but I'd donate €100 to anyone who can unlock the bios and enable oc'ing! :laugh:
  9. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,619

    theres no fanboi war here we are having a discussion...Moderators:shadedshu
  10. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,619
    Look into the crosshair 4 and some tridents MailMan:rockout:
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    No wars here PB. Just some friendly jabbin between friends. :toast:

    I would kill for that combo. Trying to save for an SSD right now but this damn economy is cramping my style.
  12. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    843 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    I coulda had a good deal on some Tridents but didn't take it because I was under the impression they were mostly geared towards or optimised towards i5 and i7 systems. Is this true? Did I miss out on something good? (I could've had a 2x2GB 12800@1600 set for $75)
  13. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    if im not WRONG x2 isnt amd currently holding the record for the highest overclocked process. i might be wrong, its been awhile since i checked seeing that intel cant control there cold bugs.
  14. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,619
    sorry bro you were wrong LINK
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    I would like a Crosshair and some DDR3 Rip jaws with a OCZ Vertex 2 SSD on the side please.
  16. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,619
    it could depend on the board but sneeky is running 2400mhz on his tridents and im able to get 2100mhz cas 7 on mine. Both of our systems are intel though:)
    Loosenut says thanks.
  17. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    843 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    I shoulda bought them and tried them out. At worst, I could've sold them for a few extra dollars :banghead:
    AthlonX2 says thanks.
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Anyone want to buy my mobo or RAM?
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,402 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,485
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Running 8 GB of DDR2 isn't helping you none:laugh:

    The majority of super-high overclocks you see out there are sometimes just 1 stick, even...

    Ram is probably 75% of an overclock, IMHO.
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Well If I can sell my mobo and RAM for 120 then all I would have to come out of the pocket is 200 bones for a Crosshair and some DDR3 Rip jaws. Not even sure if the two play nice together however.
  21. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,927 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    No offense, but how do you expect to get good advice from other bad overclockers. Anyways does a 600mhz Overclock constitute a bad overclock, I want in :p
  22. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,854 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Brasil
    My thoughts people that overclock pentium4s and athlons constitute crappy ocers, people that suck at Ocing i7s are bad ocers
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,155 (13.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    I'd love to join but unfortunately all of my overclocks are perfect. Stable, beautiful, powerful overclocking perfection. My condolences to you and your unstableness.

    *Oh @ AthlonX2.. You bought Phenom I's. Awful overclockers, but anyone could of told you that before you made your horrible purchase. You FAIL. :slap:

    @ TheMailMan.. Your motherboard sucks. Others I've seen with that board need excess voltage to overclock. You need a CrossHair IV and some Micron D9 (high voltage) DDR3. Darwin is selling some Crucial Ballistix cas 6 1.8v stuff (I use the stuff) and it's excellent. There's also another chap on this forum selling some OCZ Micron D9's for $75 bucks which is a total deal.
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2010
    1Kurgan1, Solaris17 and Radical_Edward say thanks.
  24. somebody

    somebody New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    BIOS is useful but I get the impression from a lot of overclockers that overclocking starts and ends with the BIOS. If that's true then I guess I belong in the crappy overclockers club. P8400 CPU overclocked from 2.26GHz to 3.0GHz, Vcore increased and RAM Clock ratio changed all without using the BIOS and what's worse, it's a laptop. :laugh:

    Sign me up. :toast:

    http://forums.overclockzone.com/forums/showpost.php?p=10277414&postcount=1
  25. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    735 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i facked up my p5q-ws mobo with my q9550 i hope my cpu survived, my system is barly stable anymore, i can't put.other new psu in my system and wil crash aftter 2sec furmark xd, need to upgrade, i7 860, evga p55 sli, 4gb 1600mhz mem

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page