1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Crappy Overclockers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    Yea, I wouldn't ever have considered one until now. I like it.

    I'm concluding that either my CPU is just a cripple, or somehow the memory is holding me (cpu and cpu-nb) back, which I can test the latter by chuckin the Nanya 1066 back in. I'd leave it at 1066 too, I wouldn't OC it back to 1780 :laugh:
     
  2. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    im in, i have problem mixing the right parts always have. hell my i5-655k will only do 5ghz for suicide shots normal guys get 5ghz on these stable! my parts always look perfect on paper mix them together and I get epic fails!
     
  3. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    The only crappy overclocker

    Is one that dosnt know about overclocking

    or cant overclock 1Mhz over there original speed to get a improvement


    thats the only crappy overclocker.
     
  4. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,342 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    well this current system also fails to boot windows if i push the OC any further
     
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,475 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Florida

    I thanked this post for the sole reason of you saying "chap" in it. made my day happy halloween.
     
  6. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    Well it seems like the Reaper w/ D9s @ 1333 6-6-6-15 1T (and all other timings default motherboard for 1066) with 1.772v is stable. Just played some old as Dirt Track Racing, then some far more system intensive TrackMania United-Forever with Crossfire (to be fair DTR was using CF as well haha). No problems...

    CPU-NB and HT @ 2200 helped bandwidth pick up some slack. CPU-NB @ 2200 brought it up in MaxxMEM (which calcs it oddly) from around 6.8GB/s to aroun 7.6GB/s, and then the HT @ 2200 brought it up further I think to around 8.9GB/s (or mid 8s). My best 1600 6-6-6 1Tscore was only in the lower 9-9.2GB/s area. It's the write score that 1333 was hampering the most, and primarily what the NB and HT brought up some.

    I did everything I could to get 2.8GHz CPU-NB to even POST, but no dice. Dropped the memory to DDR3-800, drop the HT down, dropped the CPU speed down below 2GHz, set stuff to idle... Same thing with DDR3-1800, just won't do it :\ Not just the OCZ either, the NANYA as well... I didn't test inbetween 1780 and 1800 on the Nanya, but 1780 ran w/o a single hiccup and then 1800 just pukes all over >_>

    I hate this CPU lol I see AMD snuck out the X3 740 BE @ 3GHz, but didn't even mention it on their Product site o_0 Tray it's only $88 at newegg! Don't know what stepping it is though.
    C A C Y C A C :confused:

    I thought C A C A C A C was "C3"? (or something)

    In 11mins, at midnight... This laptop will get crippled to all hell, and running Vantage to try and beat that 11 score =} I have faith, giving I let it run some of the first demo and after 1min 7s, it had rendered a total of 6 frames lol
     
  7. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    I have my i5 clocked well but I can't get my RAM even a bit past about 1650MHz. Help? :(
     
  8. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    Raise the timings, give it more voltage, give the memory controller more voltage? I don't know how Intel works so I can't help ya :\ Sorry!
     
    blu3flannel says thanks.
  9. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    I'll try and see what happens, thanks. :toast:
     
  10. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    heh No problem. I know there's like another thing to try, but I can't remember it's name. QDI voltage, or QPI... *shrug* I remember it has a Q in it haha

    ---


    So Vantage took 6hrs to finish on the laptop... It did so bad that it didn't get a score! :laugh: WINNARRRR!! :rockout:

    http://service.futuremark.com/home.action?resultId=2666707&resultType=19
     
  11. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,153 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,699
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Damn, I can get my trusty E8500 to 9.9GHz 24/7 without too much trouble, but 10Ghz just won't work. :banghead:

    What should I do?
     
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,345 (7.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,832
    You're why I am pro-choice.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  13. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,153 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,699
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    :confused::confused:
     
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,831 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,355
    I assume it was his sarcasm to your troll above his reply. Also Pro Choice refers to abortion;)
     
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,345 (7.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,832
    You're why I support abortion.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  16. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    You need an Absolute-Zero Phase-Change cooling setup. I thought that was common knowledge to get C2Duos to 10ghz?:rolleyes:
     
    qubit says thanks.
  17. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,153 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,699
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    No sarcasm. I had no idea what he was talking about.

    Frankly, Mailman's response sounds like quite a nasty comment to my little bit of humour. :rolleyes:
     
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,831 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,355
    what you see as humor I see as trolling, and I meant TMM was being sarcastic. If you care to continue this, feel free to hit my PM box, lets let these fellas enjoy their thread.
     
    qubit and Formula350 say thanks.
  19. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,153 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,699
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Sure, no problem, no need for PM's, but thanks. I was only making a bit of humour and the last thing I want is a pointless flamewar due to some difference in sense of humour.

    That's it from me on this one. :)
     
    Formula350 says thanks.
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,345 (7.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,832
    Dude it was a joke. Sorry.
     
    Formula350 and qubit say thanks.
  21. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,153 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,699
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Hey, no problem. :toast:

    Misunderstandings can be quite easy with the written word and tends to result in people getting all indignant, flames, moderators and infractions, that's why I tend to go overboard with the smileys and the thanks button. :)
     
  22. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,342 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    thats how we roll :pimp:
     
    qubit says thanks.
  23. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    An EVGA 680i SLI SE and a Core 2 Extreme QX6700. The 680i SE (TR version) was specifically designed for Core 2 Duo overclocking and didn't advocate using quad on it, it was even printed on the box that it can't overclock quads for shit. At the time it was the cheapest version of the 680i boards you could get so i ran with it and didn't realize what was so crap about it that warranted the price. In the end it didn't phase me much though, at least it supported the chip even with limited overclocking. On that board i ran the QX6700 (stock 2.66GHz) at around 3.2GHz thanks to the unlocked multiplier, so at least i got somewhere with it.

    And uhhh, i have an AMD Athlon 3200+ and some random MSI m-ATX board that have zero overclocking features. I didn't care when i built the system, but when i eventually wanted to i found out there was no way to bump the core speed up.:( I still have that system sitting around though.
     
  24. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,684 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,779
    Location:
    Chicago
    Im not a crappy or even unlucky overclocker per se...just pretty impatient. If a bench fails like twice I get sick of messing with it. As such, I don't mess around with sub zero. At least on my own.
     
  25. meran

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    470 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    baghdad/iraq
    LOL all u need is good components for good oc
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page