1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Crysis 2 Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by HookeyStreet, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    great idea :toast: I was looking for some older posts too
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,575 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    what a fail from crytek. they are completely sold out PC users claiming that the PC version would have a seperate team. but the funny thing is is look how crappy everything looks. extremely low resolution textures and everything looks flat. look at the top of the building with the green roof. so flat and crappy looking!
  3. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    Maybe the PC version, aka DX11 version will look better. Maybe they've done the same stupid thing that was done in Unigine Heaven and nearly all the detail is given by tesselation (i.e. flat stairs and roof). At least I hope so, tbh. :banghead:
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,575 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    theres no DX11 version unless the news about it coming in a patch is true. idc what crytek says anymore Crysis is so consolized now its a joke
  5. Muhad

    Muhad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Questions:

    No servers show up at all! Do we have to open any router ports? Tried different filters. Filters leave a lot to be desired.
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2011
  6. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    I'm impressed with the console version :D
  7. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    DX11 on Crysis 2 is a fact afaik (many dx11 dll's and executables on the leaked alpha? idk myself because I have not seen it, but from what eople said in the thread). I think the rumor is that DX11 will only be available through the patch, but that hasn't even been confirmed isn't it? tbh I've not been following the news about Crysis 2 too much since last month, so maybe I'm completely lost.

    In any case I'll continue to believe* and have hope until someone or the game itself breaks my bubble. lol

    * Reasons I still have hope is:

    1- Last month Yerli said that everything they had shown so far was the Xbox version of the game or PC game but with exact same quality settings as the console versions. The PC version has not been shown yet. The MP demo could be the same, it doesn't matter what settings you can choose on the demo if it only contains the content/textures of the console version. It is highly probqable IMO that, on their lazyness (and pressure from the PC comunity asking for the demo that console gamers already had) they just compiled the console demo to run on the PC. And let's be honest, the MP demo runs much better than Crysis 1 did, but the minimum and recommended specs for the final game are A LOT higher than they were on Crysis 1.

    2- the roof and the columns look exactly like the ones on the Heaven benchmark. I hope that's because they're going to add those details with tesselation...
  8. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Has anyone else played this? im currently 1/4 through the game well im guessing im 1/4 through so far i think the AI in the game is amazing not the typical mildly retarded ai running around aimless with guns.they actually look for your shadow when your cloaked.The graphics are pretty good for console (X360).The aiming is a little different for me but im normally a keyboard and mouse kinda guy.seems really loose on the 360 some cool new features are the nanosuit is customizable and upgradable by killing aliens and taking DNA samples.nanovision is nice for dark areas. I would post screens but im sure there is NDA still. :)
  9. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    WOkay guys, very INTERESTING question.

    What settings does the XBOX 360 and PS3 render Crysis 2 at?

    I mean we have on PC under DX9 multiplayer beta:

    - Gamer(lowest)
    - Advanced(medium)
    - Hardcore(high)

    There is no AA so I am presuming Crysis 2 on consoles wont have AA at all. So does Crysis 2 on consoles run at Hardcore DX9 settings?
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    no, the consoles are not capable of hardcore settings. it was discussed earlier in the thread, but its more likely at gamer, with AA. IIRC, almost all 360 games have 4xaa applied.
  11. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,078 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    PS3 Version looks shit.

    Jagged Edges everywhere.

    I can't even play the god dam game it looks so crap. I don't even feel like I'm playing with the god dam auto aim. Console version just feels like such a step backwards for Crysis:shadedshu

    Thankfully I bought the game for PC, I just thought I'd check out what the PS3 version looks like.

    Can't wait for the DX11 Patch. Games fun but it wouldn't be Crysis if it didn't look goddly and make my system lag.
  12. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    So is SLi fixed on first release?
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    thats related to nvidias drivers, and has nothing to do with the game.
  14. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    hmm, gamer/// well atleast PC gamers are getting their Value for Money.

    I preordered the game here in India for INR 800(~ $ 17.4 )
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    ya sure its gunna be a legit copy, at that price? or are they already thinking its a failure and dropped the pricing?
  16. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4,822 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,279
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
    Crysis 2 runs at 1152x720 and uses temporal anti-aliasing on the XBOX 360.
  17. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    i dont think the game looks bad..maybe you guys that are complaining need better monitors or stop using vga and composite cables :)
  18. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Probably the EA Asia distro.. with flimsy dvd box and newspaper-ish manual.
  19. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Strange. It looks and runs very good on the 360 considering how old the consoles hardware is.

    I think I've found a slight bug, which I'm not going to moan about. Because I can now carry 3 mains weapons (instead of 2) aswell as the rocket launcher :rockout:

    LOL composhit :roll:
  20. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4,822 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,279
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
  21. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    it's EA CRYsis 2 Limited Edition, EA launches games at reasonable prices(Rs. 800 is pretty steep here) to encourage buyers.

    You see $60 turns out to be Rs. 3,600, thats like "A LOT LOT LOT multiplied"

    So EA does it's move, the pre-order price is Rs. 800, after launch Rs. 999, which makes gamers like us see value and buy the game, instead of doing the easiest thing in this country, PIRATE!! Harr Harr!!!!
  22. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Saw a screenshot from the retail version of the game showing an extreme graphics setting. The article also mentioned rumors of a setting beyond that.

    Anyway I thought the demo looked good. Not melt my system, surpass everything out there good, but still good.
  23. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    They do that for the asian region. Ive been in south korea, and games there really are cheap. Especially EA, Ubisoft and Capcom.. except for Activition.
  24. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,039 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    in india it is normal pricing of PC games..
  25. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    crap...no preload :banghead:

    edit: i have steam and it said available in 22 hours (this was like 1pm est) so I would imagine the preload will be available for steam after midnight (est) and fully playable at 10 AM (est)

    I was hoping I would just be able to preload and play like Homefront or Dead Space 2 :-\
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page