1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Crysis 2 Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by HookeyStreet, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,582 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Australia
    Well that sounds about right then going by my m8s FPS, and yes could be a CPU bottleneck there at times also.

    I was getting those FPS a few weeks back until i installed CAP's and went back to 11.2 drivers that have fixed my issues.
     
  2. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Better get my crysis up and runnig to prepare for patch, this gonna be big , i suspect GPU driver teams to be responding with fixes/optimizations for crysis 2 as well as benchmakrs

    because this is like ... a chance to get back into benchmark arena.

    I didn't saw ATI using Crysis 2 yet ... or i didn't saw.
     
  3. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,070 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    Naw, it was just off the disc.

    I'm going to pray to God that my seagate will last long enough to pull data off of.
    I ended up getting http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l294/freaksavior/f8f49930.jpg last night so I may end up re-installing it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,399 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    their just the ones on here who can be assed complaining/commenting, v you 1 guy whos happy and content, argue on if ya wish:D and yes there prob is loads of happy crysis 2 customers, they've clearly not been online much or ARE the hacking tw@ts that have ruined it for all of us.

    i Effin loved 1 and built a dx11 pc mainly cos 2 was coming so dont think me an out n out crytek hater, their turning me into 1 tho.:shadedshu
     
  5. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    I don't know if this has been posted yet. but howcome the download sizes are different? They say over x GB but the max is 5xx MB`s?
     
  6. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Same question.
     
  7. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,147 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Yea, I was wondering that myself. I don't think the full files are up yet. Maybe those ones to download won't even work. Or they just have no idea how big their patches are? lol..
    1 more day! :toast:
     
  8. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,112 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    It has arrived.

    Installing.

    Gonna play and maybe post Screenshots.
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,628 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    932
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Is patch auto installing already (when you run the game)? I hate downloading patches manually...
     
  10. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,112 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Patch 1.9 installed automatically via steam.

    Then I installed the High Res and DX11 patch I got from TPU.

    My Frames are now either in the 15's Heavy Effects, 20's outside and 30s inside.

    I'd overclock somemore but CCC's overdrive is just showing up blank for me. Looking into that atm.
     
  11. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,312 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,533
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Yup, got it running too. Getting 40 ish fps, everything on ultra. :)
     
  12. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,628 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    932
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I wasn't thinking Steam, i was thinking auto updater for retail version.
     
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,984 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,231
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  14. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,372 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    467
  15. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,890 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,642
  16. Syuzeren

    Syuzeren New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    115 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    So Crysis 2 now takes the spot as best looking game at this time?
     
  17. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,372 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    467
    thanks w1Z!!!!
     
  18. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    tahnks! will be loading now and testing out!
     
  19. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Just a quick update. My son's playing now with the patch and the high-res pack applied. Sadly we are still on a DX10 GPU and we play in DX9 since we didn't applied the DX11 patch. The game looks gorgeous and works well, 45 FPS on ultra 16x10. This is what Crysis 2 should have been when it was launched but it's never too late. Time to get myself a DX11 card!
     
  20. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,372 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    467
    aha!

    well, here a GTX470 DX11 and installing all this eye-candy... Thanks to TPU for the good speeds! It looks good so far, but still the same boring aliens.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2011
  21. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Can anybody find the benchmark tool`s? I am currently working on a video and will be up on Youtube late tonight or tomorrow
     
  22. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    The game looks really awesome with the upgrade. It didn't hit me at first but then when you start looking at the little details it really becomes apparent how much work they've done. Lots of the small textures are improved, the bricks are tesselated and pom has been applied to the ground. There are reflections where there never used to be and the lighting is much better. Also the water looks much more lively.

    With tesselation on it brings my 5850 (at 900/1200) to a crawl at 15-30fps so i have to disable that to run it smoothly. Even without it it looks really nice.

    Here is a pdf which explains what they have changed.

    if you mean the dx11 benchmarking level then they said they couldn't get that released in time but it will be here soon.
     
  23. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    oh okay, thanks i didnt read that part
     
  24. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,147 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Ouch, if you run this game on ultra with the high res textures, say goodbye to about 1/3 of your fps.
    Almost seems like it's not even worth it for the looks vs performance ratio.
     
  25. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,458 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    It's no wonder they didn't release DX11 earlier it runs like crap, at least on my rig.
    Tried sp changed all the settings around a bit and there seems to be a persistent stutter to it i ran dx9 mode maxed without a hitch and it looked about the same.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page