1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Dedicated PhysX card FAQ - Read this before asking any questions!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by erocker, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. sliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    270 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    If it's going to run hot then I don't want it sitting next to my 6870 and venting all over it. Does a 9600GSO run cooler than an 8800GT? It seems to have enough SP's to use as a dedicated PhysX card.
  2. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Even worse if your case has bad ventelation. How 'generic' is your case? lol I would probably upgrade that first..
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,484 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    Yes, the 9600GSO runs cooler, but in both situations the cards will sit basically idle so they won't be getting very hot. Even when being used for PhysX, PhsyX requires so little power that the cards barely heat up.
    25 Million points folded for TPU
  4. mrsemi

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    655 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    I picked up win 7 & a gtx 280 to run dedicated physx and ran into a snag. Windows tries to install the drivers before I can.

    I went into task manager thinking I couldshut it down. No luck.

    So I uninstalled, ran crap cleaner. Followed the steps and rebooted and windows again overwrote the correct version installation on reboot. :banghead:

    Anyone know how to stop it?

    I thought I figured it out but after doing the following and rebooting windows again automatically reinstalled the drivers.

    Steps, right click appropriate hard drive (d in this case)
    Click properties.
    Click advance system settings
    Click device installation settings
    Changed to let me choose what to do and never install

    Still didn't work, any ideas welcome.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  5. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Its ok.. after they install reboot and run the main drivers + appropriate mod. :D
    mrsemi says thanks.
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,484 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    Yeah this.

    If that doesn't work, run Driver Sweeper with the network cable unplugged. Then install the main drivers before reconnecting the network cable.
    mrsemi says thanks.
    25 Million points folded for TPU
  7. mrsemi

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    655 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Thanks. Batman screenies didn't work but benchmark @ 1900 x 1200 were...

    43 min, 167 max & 94 average with physx on. Another one the next day score 53 min 167 max to 104 average. Works great, I'm only slightly annoyed at the temps and noise of the 280.

    Vantage.
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  8. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
  9. mrsemi

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    655 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    It's idling at 66 C which is very warm, the fan speed is only at 40%. It's too warm but one of my 5850's likes to run hot too. Prior owner said he put a fresh coat of mx4 on it, don't know if that needs time to settle or not.

    According to reviews, the toxic/vapor-x run about 40 db where the 280 is 53 or 54. I think whether you find something to be loud is relative to what you're used to.
  10. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Before I cleaned mine, it peaked at 89-90 C running FFXIV benchmark. Now its down to 79C and will drop a little more once the AS5 kicks in..

    My default fan speed is 40% too and very quiet. Have you checked under the hood ?

    Edit
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
    mrsemi says thanks.
  11. mrsemi

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    655 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    No I haven't popped it open but it didn't go over 74c on a vantage run, talking about this got my attention on my 5850's. I'm starting to wonder how much I trust the sensors, see my thread in the ati forum. Possible faulty sensor, I'm wondering if the motherboard has any say in the readings. Like I said the prior owner stated he put a new coat of mx4 on there. I believe him.

    Ran another batman bench, it got up to 78 on the 280 but that seems fine too.
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  12. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Pretty much what the dude told me about the dud 9800GTX+ (and his 'pro' buddie that set it up), I bought 2 months back. Some pro ! hah.. There was at least 2 kinds of paste gooped everywhere.. the ram and vrms too lol.. aand he messed with the bios... grrrr ! At least he was cool and refunded my cash. :cool:

    Do the bios versions and stats match with the original ?
  13. mrsemi

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    655 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Yeah bone stock specs. I played batman a while and I'm more concerned with the 5850 than the physx card now, it hit 91 on one card and the other max is 61.
  14. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Sounds like its not getting any airflow..
  15. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,134 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    What the heck is that link for?
  17. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    Just tried it at work and the firewall blocks site www.portraitprofessional.com as "entertainment" so it sounds a little iffy.

    Entering www.pprof.com gives the above error.
  18. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,453 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    Little power ?. Sure i did not see my 9800GT max out but it did add around 70w extra power usage while idle.

    However the guide was spot on :toast:
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,484 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    In the graphics card industry, 70w is nothing.
    25 Million points folded for TPU
  20. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,453 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    Indeed but it's a lot when the cards not being used at all.
  21. bud951

    bud951 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I think I have my setup working but I would like to know for sure.

    If Fluidmark 1.1.1 says "Hardware Physx" on and I get avg 170fps then hybrid (hardware) physx is working yes? I am running AMD Radeon 6970 + 8800GT with 260.99 drivers and Physx 9100514 and Hybrid patch 1.04ff. Are there some more physx benchmarks that I can download and run to test my setup?
  22. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,484 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    No, not really.
    25 Million points folded for TPU
  23. roast

    roast

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    592 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Ireland.
    Awesome thread. :rockout:

    I'm tempted to pick up a HD6950 soon, yet I have a bunch of nVidia cards lying around too which I could use for Physx.

    To be honest, Im not too fussed about PhysX though. After playing some of the (limited number of) supported games, it doesnt add too much to the experience.
  24. bud951

    bud951 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I am currently getting 20+ extra FPS in Mafia 2 Benchmark with Physx on max setting so I guess my Nvidia 8800GT is working.

    Question though.. Is my 8800GT as a stand alone Physx card just a little under powered for these newer Physx enabled games? Its what I had laying around and I like the fact that its a single slot card but would Physx enabled games run smoother with a newer Nvidia card like GTX 260 or something that has more CUDA cores?
  25. Blue-Tiger

    Blue-Tiger New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    42 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Houten, the Netherlands
    No, PhysX is slowly dieing. I can run PhysX in Mafia II maxed out on a dedicated 9800GTX, so that would be all you'd maximally need. I have ran it maxed out on a 8800GTX, which, as we all know, is basically thesame compared to the 9800GTX.

    Bottomline: I really like PhysX and I would love to see it grow even bigger, but I'm not expecting that to happen. So you should not invest alot of money on a PhysX card (like the GTX260), but invest that in a second hand 9800GTX (perhaps), or to improve your primairy graphics card... Just my 2 cents,

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page