1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The far cry 2 thread!

Discussion in 'Games' started by Mussels, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    258
    Got the .dlls thanks to Entsyymi, though doesn't seem like much of a perf. difference, maybe more for IQ?

    What I'm curious about is why you need to replace the old D3D10, with the 10.1 version?

    Are the 10.1 dlls supposed to go in the SysWow64 folder as well?(not just for FC, I mean in general, where are they supposed to be located, permanently, in their native form "10_1" etc?)
  2. entsyymi

    entsyymi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Finland
    I have both the 10 and the 10_1 version of both .dll files in both folders (System32 & SysWow64). Lots of both :)
    So yeah, I don't see a reason to rename them.
  3. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    According to my previous sourced link the guy who tweak it that way posted a 2FPS improvement when using DX10.1.

    http://img368.imageshack.us/my.php?image=005ct7.jpg
    http://img55.imageshack.us/img55/694/006ns7.jpg

    http://img381.imageshack.us/my.php?image=001xj0.jpg
    http://img381.imageshack.us/my.php?image=002co2.jpg

    Since you are using a stripped version of Vista 64bit I'm not too surprised if you don't notice a difference. Do you actually have SP installed or just downloaded a few .dlls?
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2008
  4. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    Stripped x64 FTMFW!

    I'm not even going to try dx10, I'm forcing 9 right off the bat.
  5. TrainingDummy

    TrainingDummy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    406 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    yes, I am being picky, but I have the luxury of it right now as there are a lot of other games I'm looking forward to

    I'm not saying it's a bad game, in fact I know that's not the case. I am still thinking of getting it, it's just not at the top of my list anymore
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2008
  6. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    If you are referring to the POV issue it's been fixed. I posted a link in my other post.
    TrainingDummy says thanks.
  7. TrainingDummy

    TrainingDummy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    406 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    thanks man
    sorry I looked over your post
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    take the bus! you can skip to the side of the map in question, and theres always a car waiting for you after you do a few buddy missions (its one of the early ones)

    at 50% game completion, you go off map and into an entirely new one.



    the FOV problem caused lots of people to have motion sickness.
    on my 40" it was ok, but i can imagine on a 15-19" screen it would have caused a lot of problems. My problem with it, is that when driving i cant see the bottom 1/4 of the map... i had to stop driving, look right down, and then look up again.
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,147 (13.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,600
    No kidding?! That's awesome, I had no idea!:toast:
  10. ChromeDome

    ChromeDome New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    670 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    who the heck is at 50%? i'm still under 10% lol
  11. wolf2009 Guest

    have you guys noticed that, DX 10 avg fps are higher than DX 9 avg fps with the benchmark .
  12. jimmyme New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    LOL, has anyone taken a mission from an arms trader? the ones that unlock better weapons?
    "some guy is bringing in some arms in from the east blahblah".... well actually hes not bringing them anywhere just driving them around and around in circles at a random location on the map LOL what a joke

    anyway, found a golden AK-47, not bad...

    PS the widescreen fix is GOLD, pity about scoped weapons... now its just a scope floating in space. ;-)
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    They drive around in circles selling to people. And I am out of malasia pills, how long do I have to live?
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    oh i like those missions. unlocked everything except the mortar (because i dont like it) now i just gotta buy em all :toast:


    i'm at 60%... you guys are slow!
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    you need to do missions for the priest at the church. completing each mission there, gives you more pills.
  16. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,475 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    funny mines the other way around, 20 in 10 200 in 9 give or take a couple.

    i reran the 9 one a few time last night before posting...

    either way im giving up on the sp for now as im bored of drive here kill sombody, drive there kill sombody, drive there and kill a few on the way so you can kill sombody else. i hope the mp saves it other wise its £30 i would of been better smoking in my bong.
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea I just got done with that.. Like a couple seconds before I got them my dude started flipping out :laugh: I am 20% done.. I wanna unlock some more guns I did all I could for now :(
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,308 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,840
    hey fellas whats the deal with the mouse seeming to keep moving left when you scope in and try to fire. even after a restart it seems to keep slowly spinning left.

    Also confirmed with an ATI owner with the same issues, so it isnt driver or cards. both are continuing to do this out of the blue. Havent changed anything and it was fine this afternoon, just when I tried like 30 mins ago?

    EDIT: Seems that setting the Nvidia control pannel had something to have to do with it. I had swapped to let the app decide, and it caused this issue, going to the middle setting " use advanced 3d" it seems to have corrected it?!?!?!?!?!
  19. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    I wouldn't even bother playing this game until it's patched. It crashed multiple times while changing settings and then once while saving game. That's enough for me. Plus, the shadows are fubar. It's practically solid black anywhere there's a shadow. I don't know if this is the 180.42 driver or what, but it's BS. And the grass is blue/green, wtf.

    Well, I'm off to play dead space. Screw this crap.
  20. ChromeDome

    ChromeDome New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    670 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    yeah i'll be at 60% in the second quarter of 2009 :ohwell:
  21. jimmyme New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    got my first decent ping match last night. but overall i thought it was pretty bad.
    It kinda reminded me of goldeneye, back in the day, which was then...but this is now...
    poor Ubisoft, theyve got some nice ideas.......
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    gamepads/joystick would cause your aim issues. i've not seen it on either of my systems.



    yes it is the drivers. those betas are terrible, and screw lots of things up with the game.
  23. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,308 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,840
    Mouse and keyboard....issue seems to be comming back as well. Didnt start out that way but has just started:(
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    do you have one plugged in! any control device not your mouse or keyboard, anything secondary.
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  25. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,308 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,840
    Oh snap...that might be it exactly....thx Ill give it a whirl!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page