1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The far cry 2 thread!

Discussion in 'Games' started by Mussels, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    The Hotfix doesn't seem so, um, hot? :( :D

    The performance is what I'd say good when it's good, but it's pretty inconsisant. Crossfire doesn't seem to make any difference for me on it either.

    Something odd is happening anyway, since I get a performance increase going from 0aa to 2aa.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    i cant wait for it!
     
  3. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    reread the whole post, first run crappy, 2nd run bit crappy but better, 3rd run whole lot better, 4th run basically smooth as butter and this is with the benchmark run 3-4 times all at stock and the game runs fine first time and averages 50fps so its not an issue on my end, the benchmark seems to get better fps after about the 3rd loop everytime.

    how does aa not apply through driver? i forced it on in ccc so in my mind its working, and i can tell the diff between no AA and 8AA

    and btw you min/max and avg are pretty much the same as mine at ultra settings, at 1920 sounds like your just trying to crap on me cause im getting the same fps as you with a 4850 crossfire setup compared to your 4870x2, but ive no reason to lie about my results :rolleyes: i wasnt comparing to anyone just simply stating the facts of my experiences with fc2
     
  4. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,215 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    There's nothing to reread.

    You've given some hair-brained suggestion that you have to run the demo in several loops(more than what's considered normal) in order to get 'better' performance, all the while you give commentary on each run itself, in which you detail glitches, bugs, anomalies and performance degredation or improvement.

    And it's NOT an issue on your end? As I said, I'm curious how your results would be with a single card.

    Nice logic about AA there, you 'forced' it by clicking a button (and why did you try it that way anyways?) and therefore it MUST be working? Do you want screenshots? Besides, the fact that you'd be getting 'free' 8xaa is suspicious don't you think?

    I mentioned my results under the context of a 'first' run, implying that doing multiple runs does not result in a vast performance improvement, like the one you have suggested; and that if I'm getting similar scores to you, AT 1920, then either your cards are NOT scaling well, or you DON'T have AntiAliasing on.

    And you're right, you don't have a reason to lie about any results, I don't think you lied, you're just wrong.

    See?
     
  5. Sc1mitar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    134 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Edmonton
    wow ppl get moar angry why dont u. and what do you mean AA doesnt apply threw the driver? are you only talking about the benchie? or the game itself, cause i think edge-detect would work...wouldnt it?? i want my free 12xAA ;p

    dont think ima get it tho...

    anyway..

    downloading right now off D2Drive, fckin getting only 120-200 kbps tho, on my 25mbit cable >.<

    stupid fratbros downloadin torrents...slowin down my game dl...

    anyway, ive been waiting for this since like early 2007...soon it will be mine.... =D

    i only hope that there is a way to mod it, so that we can make a Promod and play it in CAL or somethin...if the multiplayer sux its gonna be epic phail :(

    -sc1m
     
  6. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Everything Maxed out 4xaa

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    YES. they burn nicely.

    You dont start with it, but its available real quick.
     
  8. Sc1mitar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    134 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Edmonton
    omg only 6 F*CKING HOURS LEFT ON MAH DOWNLOAD >.<

    -Cartman voice-

    but i wanna playyyy.....
     
  9. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,983 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,774
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Got off work, got the game up and running...all I have to say is wow.

    This is the game I needed...CoD4 is a great game...but I've played it sooo much (mostly MP) that I needed something fresh...this my friends is it. The graphics are great, the game runs silky smooth, the map editor kicks ass, the sounds are awesome, so far I'm very content with the purchase! As lame as it is, I was the first person in my city earlier today to purchase a copy of the game...thanks to a buddy who's a manager at BB...didn't do me any good considering I had a full days' worth of work to do...but none-the-less I didn't have to deal with fighting traffic to get there after work! Woot!

    Plus, just tossing this out there...the 180.24's (or 42's...whatever the newest ones are)...gave me no image in the game and a windowed game...I went back to 178.24's and it's just speeding right along...I will eventually get a bench up, but for now it's time to play.

    :toast:
     
  10. olithereal

    olithereal New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,262 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Bought it like 2 hours ago off steam, I'm now @ 61% :D:D Can't wait.

    Gonna get back to Brothers In Arms: Hell's Highway to kill some time.
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    Cant be stuffed with screenies, but here they are.

    Default settings (Cause they look sweet and run good) - its everything on very high except 'ambient' and no AA (dont need it)

    Min FPS: 46.74
    Avg FPS: 56.41
    Max FPS: 78.63
     
  12. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Runs quite well on my 4870 512, however on my 9600GT box with 180.42's it loads in windowed mode and just sits on a black screen doing nothing indefinitely...

    any thoughts TPU ?
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    its the 180's. they seem to be screwing up for a lot of people, who arent on GT200 cards.
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,895 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    Well, I'm having problems now with my 4870. Any settings, I'm getting a stuttering. At first I uninstalled the Gamer Profile and it fixed it. Now it doesn't and anything I've tried I can't get rid of it. I'm also using the "Hotfix" drivers.:ohwell:
     
  15. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Try running it with aa of and see how it performs. That is if you were using it to begin with.

    Anyone know how to add weapon in the Map Editor? I can only add turrets as far as I can tell. Also is it possible to make SP maps and not just MP ones?
     
  16. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    I am also seeing a fair amount of stutter, especially near the screen edges, also hotfix drivers.....

    and TY mussles, ima try the good ole' 178's
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    the editor is MP only.

    I beleive the MP is like CSS, where you choose weapons as you spawn so only ammo crates are addable.
     
    AphexDreamer says thanks.
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,895 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    Like I said, any settings including with and without AA. 4870 is a default settings where it should be. It's either a driver issue, a game issue or a mixture of both. Get this, I ran fraps to try to capture a video of the stuttering and when I activate the recording, I lose some FPS but the stuttering goes away! :confused:
     
  19. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Then it sounds like something with V-sync or Refresh rate...
     
  20. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Does anyone know why this doods face is red and green?

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    because he's sponsored by nvidia AND ati? :toast:
     
  22. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    OMG Man nice.:laugh:
     
  23. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I installed the hot fix and that solved that issue. I've only play about 30 minutes worth... fricking awesome game. Makes Crysis seem so crappy. This is how Crysis should have ran. Far Cry 2 runs so much nicer than Crysis does. Its night and day.

    Awesome game.

    Heres more screenies:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  24. Sc1mitar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    134 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Edmonton
    looks tightttt
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    the graphics are just damned sweet arent they :D

    according to my save, i'm about 25% of the way in. slightly repetitive at this stage, although unlocking more and more awesome guns helps. Grenade launchers, sniper rifles, RPG's.... mmmmm.

    Also: setting zebras on fire. fire is good.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page