1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Filthy, Rotten, Nasty, Helpdesk-Nightmare picture clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by t_ski, May 6, 2011.

  1. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,254 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    982
    Wait a tick...
    3 sticks of RAM. Not x79, x58 or old K6. WTF?:slap:

    A hell of a lot cleaner. Only dust buildup I see is under the blades of the GPU cooler, but i would imagine removing that plastic shroud/frame that holds those two fans is a PITA.
    Other than that, the to-be-expected light dust over the heatsinks.
  2. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    869 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Someone just sent this to me.

    [​IMG]
    Chevalr1c, Mussels and brandonwh64 say thanks.
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,246 (10.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,882
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,319 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,404
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    869 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    I like the bottom of the case, which looks to have a few mm of dust on it.
  7. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Here is another.




    [​IMG]
    Chevalr1c and Mussels say thanks.
  8. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    869 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,307 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    If it were K6, aren't they single channel anyways?
  10. Luke

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    216 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Just some photos of a system i had to deal with today from a vet clinic
    No wonder it stopped working since temperatures around here are reaching 47c
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Jetster, Chevalr1c and natr0n say thanks.
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    uggh, reminds me of the old dells i had to clean out at work :/
  12. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,610 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,067
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Yeah k6 is single channel and wouldn't need 3 sticks of memory anyway LOL. I think depemding on the mobo they start flaking out over 128 mb of ram. Atleast the ones I had did. Ran fine with 128 but above that and they ran like a turd.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,601 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,937
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Luke

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    216 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    They had so i just tossed it in the bin and installed a new computer
  15. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,601 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,937
    Hmmm, didn't see any in the pics...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,334 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,633
    Location:
    Oregon
  17. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,254 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    982
    Yeah, K6 is single channel, but there were quite a few boards that had 3 RAM slots.
  18. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    I remember having a socket 754 K8 Newcastle processor, and that processor was single channel but the boards supported three memory slots. And you could use three dual-sided DIMMS, just at a significantly reduced memory speed.

    Anyway, the picture in the original post is a Gigabyte X58 motherboard. I used to own one very similar to it. It has 4 memory slots due to space constraints since they couldn't fit 6. Three DIMMS provide optimal bandwidth across all addresses.
  19. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    Newcastle, sledgehammer and a couple others supported a 3 dimm single channel configuration. All of which were obviously s754. They supported 3 dimms at pc2700 speeds vs 2 dimms at pc3200. Wasnt exactly a major speed drop.
  21. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,009 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    483
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
  22. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,334 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,633
    Location:
    Oregon
    Get a hairless cat :rolleyes:
  23. Xenturion

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Better yet, if you're going to have a pet, make it a Roomba.
  24. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,893 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    473
    You just need to bare in mind that that PC came out of an vets they must have thousands of animals go through a year your average joe cat or dog living at home will never be that bad unless your just a lazy biarch and don't bother to vacuum ya house and dust your machine out once in a while....... I own two cats one short hair and one fluffy non stop malter my PC never look as bad as in those pics ever
  25. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Yes, you need to occasionally clean out the PC no matter what, but you don't get hair in the case unless you have pet. It's also hard to argue that a home with a pet would be cleaner than one without given the same cleaning routine; if you have a pet, you need to clean more often to maintain the same level of cleanliness. And I don't think the number of pets served by a veterinary clinic is a fair argument for the amount of junk in that case. Unless the PC is in the waiting room of the clinic, the maximum number of pets that would be in the room with it is probably one or two at a time, which is no different than having pets in a home. I'm sure veterinary clinics are also cleaned more frequently than an average home, not only to prevent the spread of disease but to maintain a good appearance for clients. That PC is dirty due to a combination of pet hair and neglect.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page