1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Filthy, Rotten, Nasty, Helpdesk-Nightmare picture clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by t_ski, May 6, 2011.

  1. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    878 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Dawn
  2. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,736 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,292
    Someone just sent this to me.

    [​IMG]
     
    Peter1986C, Mussels and brandonwh64 say thanks.
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,229 (8.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,681
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,916 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,064
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    878 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Dawn
    I like the bottom of the case, which looks to have a few mm of dust on it.
     
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,736 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,292
    Here is another.




    [​IMG]
     
    Peter1986C and Mussels say thanks.
  7. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    878 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Dawn
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,842 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,404
    If it were K6, aren't they single channel anyways?
     
  9. Luke

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    216 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Just some photos of a system i had to deal with today from a vet clinic
    No wonder it stopped working since temperatures around here are reaching 47c
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Jetster, Peter1986C and natr0n say thanks.
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,274 (10.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,436
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    uggh, reminds me of the old dells i had to clean out at work :/
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,826 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,952
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Yeah k6 is single channel and wouldn't need 3 sticks of memory anyway LOL. I think depemding on the mobo they start flaking out over 128 mb of ram. Atleast the ones I had did. Ran fine with 128 but above that and they ran like a turd.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,635 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Luke

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    216 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    They had so i just tossed it in the bin and installed a new computer
     
  14. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,635 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    Hmmm, didn't see any in the pics...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,770
    Location:
    Oregon
  16. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,730 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,537
    Yeah, K6 is single channel, but there were quite a few boards that had 3 RAM slots.
     
  17. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    I remember having a socket 754 K8 Newcastle processor, and that processor was single channel but the boards supported three memory slots. And you could use three dual-sided DIMMS, just at a significantly reduced memory speed.

    Anyway, the picture in the original post is a Gigabyte X58 motherboard. I used to own one very similar to it. It has 4 memory slots due to space constraints since they couldn't fit 6. Three DIMMS provide optimal bandwidth across all addresses.
     
  18. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
  19. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21,730 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,574
    Location:
    Houston
    Newcastle, sledgehammer and a couple others supported a 3 dimm single channel configuration. All of which were obviously s754. They supported 3 dimms at pc2700 speeds vs 2 dimms at pc3200. Wasnt exactly a major speed drop.
     
  20. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
  21. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,770
    Location:
    Oregon
    Get a hairless cat :rolleyes:
     
  22. Xenturion

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Better yet, if you're going to have a pet, make it a Roomba.
     
  23. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,159 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    596
    You just need to bare in mind that that PC came out of an vets they must have thousands of animals go through a year your average joe cat or dog living at home will never be that bad unless your just a lazy biarch and don't bother to vacuum ya house and dust your machine out once in a while....... I own two cats one short hair and one fluffy non stop malter my PC never look as bad as in those pics ever
     
  24. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Yes, you need to occasionally clean out the PC no matter what, but you don't get hair in the case unless you have pet. It's also hard to argue that a home with a pet would be cleaner than one without given the same cleaning routine; if you have a pet, you need to clean more often to maintain the same level of cleanliness. And I don't think the number of pets served by a veterinary clinic is a fair argument for the amount of junk in that case. Unless the PC is in the waiting room of the clinic, the maximum number of pets that would be in the room with it is probably one or two at a time, which is no different than having pets in a home. I'm sure veterinary clinics are also cleaned more frequently than an average home, not only to prevent the spread of disease but to maintain a good appearance for clients. That PC is dirty due to a combination of pet hair and neglect.
     
  25. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,837 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,650
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I have 4 cats and 2 dogs in my home and I never get pet hair in any of my machines and I only vacuum once a week
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)