1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The first TRUE DirectX 10 Game

Discussion in 'Games' started by TheMailMan78, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Most games as some of you know that are DirectX 10 are done so after the fact. Meaning that its DirectX 10 supported but not developed for. Well now we finally have our first true DirectX 10 game that will be Vista only and require a DirectX 10 capable GPU.

    Source

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Edit: The screens above are from the Xbox360 version of the game. The PC version may in fact look better.
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2009
    thoughtdisorder says thanks.
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Damn school. Blocks the images.. I'm pretty excited about native DX10. Why not DX10.1 tho?
  3. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Well it's about damn time. We'll finally get some glimpses of what dx10 is really capable of right before the move to dx11. :laugh:

    Probably b/c nvidia cards don't have it.
  4. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Sad but so true! Good find Mailman! :)
  5. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    the 295 has dx10.1
  6. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
  7. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    I don't think it does. I doubted it but decided to look it up. No where can I find that this card supports DX10.1.
  8. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    And looking at the screenshots, who cares if this is a true DX10 title?? It can hardly keep up graphically with DX9 games of 3 years ago. :laugh:

    And no, no Nvidia card supports DX10.1 according to Microsofts definition of what a DX10 (and above) supportive card must be. Latest Nvidia cards (since G92 really) support most of the DX10.1 features, arguably the most important ones (the ones developers close to Nvidia asked for), but they do not support all of them and in the same manner M$ specified them to be, so they can't put the sticker. If Microsoft still had the same philosophy now as they did with DX7/8/9 Nvidia would have DX10.1 support, just as both Ati and Nvidia got support for DX7/8/9 when they didn't fully support them, or used customiced optimizations for such features. At the end of the day, because the developers MUST optimice for each GPU, and half the code is directly HLSL (and the likes, sometimes even machine languaje of each GPU), they could care less if Nvidia cards wear that sticker or not. It's pure marketing.
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2009
  9. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    found that info on a magazine... but if they give me wrong info I'm gonna send a "not-so-friendly e-mail" to them...
  10. Swansen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    182 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    beautiful, wonder what system requirements will be?
  11. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Screenshots look pretty damn good for an RTS to me, it's hard to tell much from the ones given though.
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    I agree the graphics suck. But this isn't so much about the graphics as strange as that sounds. Its just a nice step forward in optimization and we can finally start taking advantage of some of our hardware the way it was intended. Lets hope it has a bench we can DL.
  13. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    K mail sent...
  14. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    Agreed on that. How far in development is it? If it still has a way to go the graphics will *hopefully* get some polishing.

    P.S. - Mailman love the new avatar! Animal Rocks!:D
    TheMailMan78 says thanks.
  15. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    I can't see those screenshots posted above because my work blocks them but I googled it and damn it actually looks pretty damn good 'graphically'. I'll buy it.
  16. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Hmm you're right about that. It's just that DX10 promised so much better graphics and where are those?

    Don't worry, I know all that was just marketing, but everytime I hear something related to DX10/10.1 it drives me nuts.
  17. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    Damn~! That game looks Badass!

    Finally games are moving onto DX10 and Vista ONLY... The Graphics doesn't look to huge of noticing if you compare it to Crysis, but now at least it will be now strictly only DX10 and Vista
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    On second thought it is an RTS and them graphics aint to bad for that if you think about it.
  19. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    Yea , at least it isnt like World Of Warcrack lol
  20. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    I think that nowadays we are past the time when it was normal for RTSs to have worse graphics because they have much more things to render. With the exception of few games (Total war...) RTSs don't really have much more models and FX on-screen than, for example, Crysis or COD4 so, IMHO, the excuse is no longer valid. The environments are just as big too and you can see all of them, like in Crysis. I see no difference nowadays. It's not like when FPSs where corridor crawling games.
  21. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    LOL,World Of Warcrack:roll::laugh:
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Not so sure about that. From what I understand AI is now being offloaded to the GPU. If this is the case then graphics will suffer. Anyway this may have Total war kinda gameplay. After all we are judging a game that isn't even beta yet.
  23. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    AI to GPU?? Don't think so. Maybe under CUDA and the like, but not yet. I haven't heard that. Where did you hear that??

    Point is that IMO Empires TW and Company of heroes already look better so... idk I just didn't liked the graphics. leave me alone. :p

    That's part of the problem to me. It should show a clear improvement, being it is advertised as DX10 and will come when much more powerful GPUs are out. They are already elevating the bar by only supporting DX10 cards after all. I know that the comment about being beta means a different thing, But they are Creative Assembly, they shouldn't show anything if they don't have something worth of showing.

    Anyway:

    Why for the love of God will they force us into Vista, if they have created a DX9 path for consoles? It's not because they need the possible performance improvements of DX10. If a downcloked Geforce 7900 and X1800 can handle the game, it sure can 90% of the DX10 capable cards out there, plus many other DX9 ones. Cheaters.
    TheMailMan78 says thanks.
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Well I need to edit the first post. The images your seeing are from the Xbox 360. Thanks for reminding me :ohwell: I forgot.

    I'm looking for the AI article about it being off loaded to the GPU. I found it odd to at the time but Ill post it as soon as I find it. Its a good read.

    Edit: The first post is edited.

    Edit, Edit: I found the article on AI. Source
    DarkMatter says thanks.
  25. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Aaah. Seen it in gamespot now. The PC version. And much better. That's a completely different thing. But I still don't understand the lack of DX9 path, because they have one.

    About the AI, which game? You do remember that, until you find the link. maybe I could find something.

    EDIT: Ok saw the link. Going into it.
    EDIT2: OK. They are talking about the future, 12-18 months. I thought you were saying games already were offloading AI tasks to GPUs. I knew that AI can be superbly done on the GPU, I think you even participated in a discusion about that, where I was praising GPGPU mentioning that as one example, but already implemented? No.
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page