1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Force Unleashed, No PC?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Duffman, Sep 11, 2008.

  1. Duffman

    Duffman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,011 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Mt. Pocono, PA
    Anyone else dissapointed that this is only being released on consoles?
     
  2. mithrandir

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    149 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    UK
    Yup. Don't know what they're playing at. Multiformat less the PC :(
     
  3. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,129 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    kinda but controls are easier on a pad but easily solved by adding an xbox 360 controller to your pc

    it would have looked better on pc, i think the ps3 version is a port of the 360 version nor vice versa so it mustve been easier to do them on consoles
     
  4. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    last star wars game i played was the one that came out right after dark forces... ha its been a while...it was that one where you could gain powers from either side of the force.
     
  5. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    ya im kinda disappointed, that was one game i was looking forward to
     
  6. qamulek

    qamulek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    186 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    PC game==buy console game==I'll save my money

    I was looking forward to it, but I'm not dissapointed about it in much the same way I wasn't dissapointed about GTA4 not being announced for the pc. I refused to buy a console for GTA4, so I am certainly not going to buy a console for a game that I feel will be a lesser game then GTA4[I like GTA a lot...].
     
  7. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    i thought gta4 was coming to pc in november
     
  8. Duffman

    Duffman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,011 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Mt. Pocono, PA
    Sounds like Knights Of The Old Republic.

    I'm in the same boat as far as consoles goes. I do have a PS2 and may get it for that.
     
  9. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    GTA is coming to the PC

    Anyway, yeah, I'm disappointed. I have most of the Jedi Knight series for the PC, but none of them work 100% with Vista so I was looking for something new, but Force Unleashed has asshole developers who think that the PC isn't worth it (read: it'd be too difficult to program for so many different hardware types, it wouldn't look as good as it could - they're putting it on the DS instead....)

    Still, I have it pre-ordered for the Wii.
     
  10. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    The demo was dissapointing, and the reviews so far is also saying the game is dissapointing.
     
  11. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,307 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,715
    My word no, he's talking about the Original Jedi Knight (1997), one of the most awesomest game ever. It still ROCKS. I actually played the expansion (Mysteries of the Sith) not too long ago, and it's still very good, 10 years later. :)

    @jbunch07: You should REALLY look up the sequels: Jedi Outcast and Jedi Academy. Both of them are SO good. Also, Knights of the Old Republic. Awesome. :D
     
  12. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Shame none of them work properly on Vista, and I'm not dual-booting just to play them :(
     
  13. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    no Vista no play. :(
     
  14. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,307 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,715
    They don't? Aww, that's too bad. A virtual machine, maybe? :)
     
  15. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Jedi Academy just about works, but it's VERY unstable, crashes like crazy.

    Never used a VM before. Might try it though.
     
  16. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,364 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Huh, what do you mean they don't work on Vista? Oh, I am gonna have to test this one out.
     
  17. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    Jedi Outcast and Jedi Academy were AMAZING. I loved those games, hence why I am excited for this game.

    I played the demo for PS3, and was mainly disappointed about the brutality of the lightsaber attacks. In Jedi Outcast/Academy, you could slice peoples arms and legs off, and it was Awsome. Now in this game you have all of this crazy for power and I can't cut some guys arm off? Come ON!

    I loved the X-Wing vs Tie Fighter games and would love a new sweet space combat game ( im pissed about Freespace 3 not happening:nutkick:). I would love to wreak havok on a Star Destroyer....

    I might have to try Academy on vista too.. not having that would annoy me... sweet sweet lightsaber customization....:respect:

    Im getting the game no matter what.
     
  18. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,364 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Well hell, if I can't get it to work, then I will toss my Jedi Academy on Ebay and get $60 for it. Fixing to test it, installing now. I could have sworn that I played through it on Vista though.
     
  19. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    I'll have to wait to try mine until I get home... I wish they would let me work remotely... :(
     
  20. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Well on mine it will play, but it crashes if I go near fire, and randomly crashes for the hell of it.
     
  21. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,364 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Works perfectly in my Vista X64, just like the last time I played it. I run it in Xp compatibility mode and it does fine.
     
  22. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Play it until you get to the mission where you infiltrate the mining colony taken over by stormtroopers. There's a corridor that you have to pass through that's on fire. It will crash.

    I too run it in XP compatibility mode. I had to run the installer in compatibility mode to get it to work (installed, just wouldn't boot, tried 3 times before trying compatiblity mode and it worked).
     
  23. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,364 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Hmm, thats very odd indeed. I remember playing through this game not too long ago and I beat it while using Vista. I know that I was using Vista because I also tried running it in Linux, and the only time I tried that was a few months ago.
     
  24. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Probably just my ridiculous bad luck with PCs...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page