1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Great Intel Debate

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Atnevon, Sep 6, 2007.

  1. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Hello Agian.

    I was pondering around doing research and came to a debate, and just need a bit of clarification and pro opinions.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115017
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor
    $279.99

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115029
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 Conroe 2.66GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor
    $199.99

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115003
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor
    $229.99

    Now. I have heard the quad core is pretty sweet. However, what are ya'lls opinions on the Quad core. But Why would there be a huge price difference in the 2.4 and this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115027

    and it be no more than 300mhz faster.

    I would like to go with the processor preferance in that order, so I am wondering some of the experiances of you all with these.

    Thank you agian for your help
    -Andrew
     
  2. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    if you can get a g0 stepping q6600 than DO it! see what have been selling by reviews.. or send newegg a pm.. if not get the e6750 if your looking to OC.. the e6600 does not overclock to well ( I think thier g0 stepping does, but e6750 is newer better and cheaper).

    q6600 g0 stepping cant be beat... you can easily get 3.4-3.6ghz with a good air cooler.


    will you be overclocking? will you be multitasking or mainly gaming?
     
  3. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    The big difference between the Q6600 and the Q6700 is not just the cpu freq but the multiplyer.
    the Q6600 is at 9 and the Q6700 is at 10. So the Q6700 will give you higher overclocks.

    You will enjoy either Quad core.:toast:
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2007
  4. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Don't a get a B3 q6600 like I did...
     
  5. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I would get the E6550, 1333 FSB, 4MB cache and will OC well. Wait for quads to mature more.
     
  6. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...2E16819115017,N82E16819115003,N82E16819115029

    I Hope this link works to make it easier on further posters.

    So it sounds like the 6750 is a better go over the 6600. That I can tell for sure, but what would I truely notice in Gaming, Photoshopping, After Effects (say a 1 min movie doing a RAM Preview on a EVGA 8800GTX) in both Vista and XP. I dont have Vista yet, and dont plan on getting it really till I hear about SP1 or alot of good reviews. (That or I'm stubburn and/or misinformed, but save that argument for a different post)

    Mainly, I game, and am a Graphic Design student in college.

    Thank agian for the replies guys
    -Andrew
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2007
  7. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    I dont "think" any apps really use quad.. you should do fine with a duel core. will you be overclocking?


    Edit: oh a couple games may benifit from quad core such as supreme comander.. but not really needed as of yet.
     
  8. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    In my opinion, graphic design students should be using Mac, not Windows Vista! :pimp:
     
  9. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee

    Many apps use quad...
     
  10. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Maybe he's "smarter then a MAC"...:laugh::toast:
     
  11. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Than* :laugh::toast:
     
  12. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
    i agree but i would say get a E6850
     
  13. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Not to be rude, but I must ask the "such as".

    To answer Chewy. I will not be overclocking just yet. I don't know how, but will be doing some research soon enough.

    Also, I need to respond to your "Mac for graphic designers" with this. I need a little humor in this thread, so this would fit:

    http://mvpc.ytmnd.com/
     
  14. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
  15. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee

    Refer to this post:

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=34299&highlight=quad+core+programs

    There are actually many more, this list just hasn't been upgraded.
     
  16. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    ho(t) damm I must be old skool lol thought a few months there werent any that really used emm... meh either way I want one:p
     
  17. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Atnevon, I also noticed you mentioned you were an art student...I may be generalizing, but most media apps use quad cores (ie. photoshop, 3d studio max, ect...).
     
  18. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada

    "According to our tests and numerous overclockers’ reports online, quad-core Core 2 Quad Q6600 processors can overclock up to 3.6GHz with proper air-cooling."

    I belive they used a g0 stepping q6600 cause even that stepping sometimes wont safely reach 3.6ghz with air. as ravenas said make sure you get a g0 stepping q6600 or atleast try.. for it loooks like hes stuck at 2.8 oe 2.9ghz with his b3 stepping q6600... its all in the chip (cpu) you get but q6600 g0 stepping WILL oc good no matter what one.. some may reach 3.6 on air.. so not quite and your going to need a good cooler to do this. :)
     
  19. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I have to generalize with you, but I believe so. I think quad core have been in the G5s for a while, but I may be mistaken. Adobe CS3 has been optimized for mulitple core apllication. This I know for bloody sure. I'm getting off work now. So i'll be on here tommarow. Untill then, goodnight, and can't wait to see everyones replies tommarow.

    -Andrew
     
  20. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Any Apple computer with a quad core will be quite on the expensive side of the fence!
     
  21. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    For graphics design, quad-core, if they don't have programs that can use 4 cores now, that'll be one of the first areas they focus on.
     
  22. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
    yea for graphic design and apps i would say quad also, but for gaming i say dual
     
  23. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I must ask though, what real difference will be a night and day comparison. Sorry for such a terrible example, but with say World of Warcraft and Bioshock, what performance issues would I see?
     
  24. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    well normally the diuel core will overclock higher because it puts out less heat therefore you have a faster chip.. now if you can get a g0 q6600 thats another story.. sometimes the higher end quads dont overclock as high as it.
     
  25. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    What is this g0 I hear people talking about? I assume it has to deal with overclocking.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page