1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The GTX 400 owners club!

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by johnspack, Sep 30, 2012.

  1. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    728 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    My 480 runs about as good as a 580 at almost 900MHz. So while the 680 is a beast of a card the 480 definitely holds its own. I think if I put the WQHD monitor on the 480 it would start to struggle and that's where the 680 shines right now.
     
  2. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    This is a list of the voltage "notches":
    0.925 (some 480's can run stock clocks at this voltage)
    0.938
    0.950
    0.963 (GTX 480 idle voltage)
    0.975
    0.987 (load voltage of most reference 480's)
    1.000 (load voltage of some reference 480's)
    1.013 (as above)
    1.025 (as above)
    1.038 (as above)
    1.050 (as above)
    1.063 (as above, this is the highest I've seen, EVGA)
    1.075 (some factory overclocked cards have this voltage, eg: Gigabyte SOC)
    1.088 (as above)
    1.100
    1.113
    1.125
    1.138 (max voltage available by default in Afterburner, you can go higher though)

    This list also applies to the GTX 470; however I don't know the idle/load voltage that most reference 470's ship with.
    :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2012
  3. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    I'm really not...
     
  4. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Back in the club, my son wanted his GTX 480 back because his room was too cold using a GTX 460 Hawk.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2012
  5. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    lol
     
  6. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Wow, claylomax, that's a cherry chip you got there. I'm stuck at 860 no matter how much voltage I pump into it. Luck of the draw I guess!
    Edit: heh, updated member list....
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2012
  7. TB13

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Got my block today and threw it into my crappy loop. Idles around 40c and saw a max of 74c in Skyrim at 99% gpu usage. I know, these temps aren't that impressive but it is in a very small loop with 1/4in ID tubing and a H40 rad. I have a 240mm and 120mm rad on the way to create a loop with my CPU and my GTX 480. Here it is in all of its sexyness... Oh, and it weight around 5lbs with the backplate, the HeatKiller block is a beast.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    Beautiful! ;)
     
  9. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Now deciding whether to order a 2nd 480 next week. I really want one, but even at stock clocks I'll be pushing my psu. And they won't put the things back on sale, so I have to pay 270can.. after 135 for cable that leaves 75 bucks to live on for a month! Time to sell some cards....
     
  10. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    Your PSU will hold unless you overvolt your cards; if you want to run benchmarks on two GTX 480's you're going to need a bigger PSU. I've seen my system pulling 1100w off the wall with both cards overvolted, but at that time I had Phenom II cpu's.
     
  11. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Ouch, 1100 watts! Well, my silverstone is supposed to be able to peak at 900, so hard to say. Have to put off the 2nd one for now anyways, need to sell off my 285s first. Kind of wanted to keep them, but I'd rather have a 480!
     
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    1100W at the wall with 80% efficiency is 880 watt at the powersupply should be fine on any HIGH END 850W unit.
     
  13. TB13

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Like said above, a quality 850 watt will be more than enough for 2 GTX 480's
     
  14. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    728 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Should be good, but a little headroom is always nice. 1.168v on my GF100 in system #1 is about 600 watts so im almost at the limit of my 12v rail.

    But this thing also runs the pump and a ton of fans and such so overall is pretty stretched
     
  15. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Sounds good, my EVGA does stock at 1.025v, so if I get a second one and stay at stock, I'll more than likely be okay.
     
  16. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Anyone, what's a fair asking price for 2 well taken care of EVGA GTX285s? 250can?
     
  17. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Well, still stuck with a single 480, and can't be happier with it! I didn't know about things like 32x csaa before. Still really want a 2nd one, but guess I'll bide my time and wait to snatch one up cheap used..... or just wait for a 670....
     
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    My second rig is close to benchmarking...single GTX 470 on water will likely keep clocks lower on this one for power consumption.
     
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]

    Got the HTPC up and running I think this is were I am going to keep it. Should be a good balance between the CPU and GPU for speed in games etc.
     
  20. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    Our psu's (johnspack's and mine) are 88% efficient, not 80%. ;)
     
    cdawall says thanks.
  21. TB13

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Little update on my watercooling and OC. I added a few more fans today on my rad and got to overclocking, here is what I have so far

    [​IMG]

    Overall I am pretty happy with it, I am thinking about going a little further, but I don't want to stress my little 550w PSU too much :D
     
  22. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Not sure what results others are getting, but I do notice a performance increase with the 310.33 betas, but for some reason I had to back off 10mhz on my gpu clock. Was running Warhead at 860 like I usually do, and within a minute or 2 driver crash. Backed off to 850 and played for over an hour stable. Noticed something strange too... have Warhead at all enthusiast and 4xaa and I noticed 1460mbs of vid memory used, since when did it use that much?
     
  23. TB13

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    My OC is still stable with 310.33. In Heaven the Min FPS is quite a bit better, but the max and average are about the same, check it out:

    306.97
    [​IMG]

    310.33
    [​IMG]
     
  24. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    310.33 crashes when SLi is enabled on mine. :shadedshu

    Good news however is I have 3 GTX 470's and 3 DD-GTX470's waiting on a tri SLi board to get testing. Been looking between the sabertooth 990FX and 990FX-UD5/7.

    Good news is my TPQ-850 should be able to at least handle them stock

    [​IMG]

    This guy was running an overclocked i7 965 watercooling cold cathodes etc. I am planning on running a dual PSU setup on this for a bit using my SFX-450w to run the fans, water cooling and one card.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2012
  25. TB13

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    That sucks... I like the look of the UD7, very minimalistic and sexy. I couldn't tell you which would be better though, it has been a while since I have had an AMD setup.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page