1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The HD 7970 overclocking thread

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by qubit, Dec 25, 2011.

  1. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    867 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    711
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
  2. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
  3. travva

    travva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    349 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Hampton, VA USA
    is it safe to assume that if my psu can handle my sli'd gtx 580's with no issue then it will handle crossfired 7970's?
     
  4. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Yes. Although I am not sure why people need Xfire 7970, unless running extreme resolutions. I am running 2560x1600. BF3, Oblivion, STALKER Pripyat, completely maxed out, all Ultra. Great FPS in all games.

    A better buy for you would be 1 7970 and a newer SSD or 2000+Mhz DDR3.
     
    travva says thanks.
  5. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    What voltage you guys need for 1200mhz? Mine can do 1190mhz with 1.21v but it won't do 1200mhz no matter the voltage.
     
  6. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    Hello? Anybody? :rolleyes:
     
  7. Boneface

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Mine does 1200 at 1.175! But 1176 on core and 1600 mem was optimal!
     
  8. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    never tried 1200mhz, but I can do 1150mhz core at 1.149volts
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Ephremius New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    60 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I get 1200 core on my 7950 at 1.250 and 1500 mem with mem overclocked to 1650 through msi afterburner

    its a beast
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page