1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Hyper 212 EVO

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by martthefart, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    hi all plz forgive if this is a noob question , but i have been on goole to find an easy way to install the The Hyper 212 EVO in my am3 rig first time to doing this but im learning b gentle lol any good tips , btw the board has to come out the cut out covers 2 screw holes thnks for any replys and happy new yr to all
     
  2. anoobarak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    102 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Euroland
    Well the installation is as easy as it can get. First mount the backplate for the cooler. Make sure the screws are tight, because if they're loose you may loose cooling capacity.Then remove the fan from the heatsink, apply some thermal grease on the cpu (make sure it's not too much and not too little), put the heatsink on the cpu, mount the retention bracket [​IMG] , tighten the screws, mount the fan back on, plug it in and enjoy!
     
    martthefart says thanks.
  3. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    487 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    read the instructions they are pretty straight forward takes 2 mins to install

    remove fan from heatsink
    put back plate on mobo one side is for amd mounting other is for intel
    screw down on other side
    put thermal paste/grease/compound on and sit on cpu
    mount the lil cross through the heatsink
    screw down diagnoly a lil a time each side
    mount fan plug in and done
     
    martthefart says thanks.
  4. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    do i take off the back plate on my motherboard that come with stock cooler?and the plastic around the cpu? any good viedo links? will b doing tomorrow board must come out exciting and nervous lol
     
  5. anoobarak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    102 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Euroland
    Yes you have to remove the stock backplate in order to install this cooler. Really, just read the instructions for AMD mounting, it's really informative and simple.
     
  6. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    hi all update bottle went so took to a local pc shop to install but what a diffrence the 212 evo makes over stock what u all think and hows the best to stress the cpu for temps?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. anoobarak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    102 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Euroland
    Temps depend whether you keep your cpu at stock speeds and voltages, or you OC it. Some buy aftermarket HSF's to shut up their pc's, others buy to OC. Either way, with this cooler, you can worry no more about the CPU overheating, as other components would give up faster than the cpu would overheat.
     
    martthefart says thanks.
  8. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    all on stock with turbo enabled runing prime 95 and temps stay at 39deg and so quiet yes would recommend the 212 evo to any 1
     
  9. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    right i had to tighten down to screws wsa not tight enough plz take a look @ my temps did 1 run on intel burn on maxium what u all think is the temps ok???? abit worried that i had to retighten to screws abit will i have to reapply the paste again?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. anoobarak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    102 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Euroland
    Don't really know much about PII's temps especially thuban cores, but there is nothing to worry about here with this cooler installed.
     
    martthefart says thanks.
  11. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    any experts here with amd cpus ?temps ok?
    best software to mointer temps on a ams 1090t?
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2012
  12. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    any experts here with amd cpus???????? plzzzzzzz
     
  13. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,683 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Hi martthefart,
    When we ran the 212 Evo it ran great on our 1.2V (stock) torture tests. (See link)

    You should not have any temp issues as long as it is mounted correctly, the EVO is made to handle everything you are throwing at it.

    Your 46c should be fine. Word on the street (The forums) is Thuban chips are fine maxing out around 55c, some a little under. Just start the burn in (IntelBurnTest is fine, P95 works as well) and watch the temps.

    I use realtemp to monitor temperatures CPUID is a close second.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2012
    martthefart says thanks.
  14. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,180
    Location:
    Oregon
    Use the Open hardware monitor from here: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/SysInfo/

    Stress with Prime95

    I just installed the Hyper 212 EVO....Love it easy Install. With Intel do not remove the back plate

    This is a whole new system so not pushing it yet. i5 2500K @ 4Ghz 62C / 28C
     
    martthefart says thanks.
  15. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,683 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I bet it runs great on the 1155 platform, we bench in 1366 because of its higher voltage. 1.3/1.4V was a little to much for the Evo on our tests.
     
    martthefart and Jetster say thanks.
  16. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    hi all tyvm much for u replies , do the temps look ok and is the cpu volts ok? all on auto and the turbo turned off tyvm martyn is the core temp right?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    the cpu volts look high? 1.47 max load on auto?
     

    Attached Files:

  18. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,683 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    No way, if your max temp is 46.5 your Volts should be (and are within the rated Volts).
    My comment to Jetster was strictly saying 1.4V was to much for our 1366 tests.

    I do suggest you watch to make sure you don't have any thermal throttling.
     
    martthefart says thanks.
  19. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    thermal throttling is my temps to high?
     
  20. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,683 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Your temps are not to high right now. But that's what thermal throttling does, it lowers your processor speed on the fly and keeps your temps nice. Its pretty easy to check, open CPU-Z while running Intel Burn Test and watch the processor mhz. Make sure it does not drop lower under heavy load. :toast:
     
    martthefart says thanks.
  21. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ok i will try it now
     
  22. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    no the processer was 100% load hm mointer says the air flow temp is 20 degress is this right, r the temp sensors right?
     

    Attached Files:

  23. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,683 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Yes you can trust the sensors.
    Was your actual Mhz rating where it was supposed to be though?

    Take my intel 920 for instance, it should be running at (200x21) or 4.2Ghz.
    If it throttles, it will still register as 100% cpu usage, because it is still using 100% of the processor, but it has lowered the multiplier to say 20 or 19. (4.0Ghz, or 3.8Ghz)

    As long as it says the speed it is supposed to in Mhz you have nothing to worry about.
     
  24. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    the mhz did drop a little towards the end of test????then went back up?
     
  25. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    and im all stock
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page