1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The I Wish I Had A Better GPU Thread.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by erocker, Dec 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,590 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    The answer is Scooby Snacks, what else? :laugh:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    One of these things is not like the other... :p

    And I actually did lose my dog recently but hardly a pup.
     
  3. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,872 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Your pussy was 28 years old?! :eek: Yeah, they normally live 10-15 years, so is that a record? :respect:

    We lost our psycho ginger tom (20 claws and teeth was real common ;)) in '89 and I still miss the little bugger. :cry:
     
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,185 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,708
    I had to spend my life savings on getting my "twig and berries" out of a cannon. I now relate more to Chaz Bono then Sean Connery. I have no money left to afford a new GPU.

    [​IMG]

    I swear Ill donate my 5850 too!
     
  5. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I can't bring myself to feel sorry for you. Just because it has a hole doesn't mean you should hump it.
     
  6. JustaTinkerer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    272 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Scotland
    I need a card, I had a 3870x2, but it died just last week, my brother kindly gave me his 3870 that was artifacting, a stint under the heatgun paired with my old 3850 gave me crossfire....

    Last night seen the end of that....artifact city came a visiting, not aloud to spend anymore cash till well in to February now :( the bright side is I can turn down my res and play mw3 @ 1280x800 so its not all doom and gloom.

    Roll on February, most likely get a 4870x2 used, great used prices on those rude boys.
    Will obviously have a peek around the for sale section here first right enough
     
  7. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    You should consider yourself lucky that it wanted you from the front.
     
  8. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,428 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,182
    I need another gpu because of all you Intel freaks pissn on me about bandwidth and such! Soo an add on to my 6990 will be a test to an i7 right? Should be better? :(
     
  9. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    It sounds like it. It's good to have you back by the way.
     
  10. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Yes, sorry for derailing your thread erocker. Thanks for doing this, you are going to make somebody extremely happy. This truly is the absolute best community on the web.
     
    Darkleoco says thanks.
  11. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,872 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I told a lie

    Forget what it says in my specs and my "Sandy build" in my siggy. This are really my specs:

    Socket 462 Athlon 1GHz
    Asus mobo with crappy VIA chipset and AGP slot (can't even remember the model number, it's so old)
    512MB DDR
    FX 5200 graphics card. This thing is dire...
    40GB IDE HD
    Crappy beige case

    :cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:

    I swear man, gimme that graphics card and I'll build a decent system around it. :pimp:
     
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Ill just have the cake and juice, you can keep the graphics card.
     
  13. JustaTinkerer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    272 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Scotland

    He telling the truth, the only parts hes lying about is

    Socket 462 Athlon 1GHz
    Asus mobo with crappy VIA chipset and AGP slot (can't even remember the model number, it's so old)
    512MB DDR
    FX 5200 graphics card. This thing is dire...
    40GB IDE HD
    Crappy beige case

    if you take that out of the equation hes spot on :laugh:
     
    qubit says thanks.
  14. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    Ok, so I have a HD 6950 2GB.

    The problem is that it's lonely. It told me it needs a friend, a comrade, a partner in crime.

    So you see it's not me that needs a better GPU. I just don't want it to be a sad Christmas for my GPU. :( :ohwell:
     
  15. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    This has been one of the funnest (and funniest) threads I've had the pleasure to read in a long time.
    I'm won't post here anymore because I don't need a new GC, but before I go I would just like to wish you all a very Merry Christmas and Holiday season.

    I hope that you all get a chance to spend time with you family and all loved ones and treasure every moment.
    I hope that you look around you and have compassion on others who are in need, or not as well off as you, and help them out in any way you can.
    I hope and pray that for everyone who is having a tough time that things improve and your life becomes brighter and less stressful in the upcoming year.
    Grace, Peace and God bless you all.

    Kreij out.
     
  16. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,872 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Exactly - see, I totally qualify for this card. :rockout:

    Oh, wait a minute! :eek:
     
    JustaTinkerer says thanks.
  17. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    This thread is a trap

    [​IMG]
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,739 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    Some of you have posted way too much in this thread. Please allow others to post on topic posts.
     
  20. Ray_Rogers2109

    Ray_Rogers2109 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    392 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California
    I do wish I had a better GPU but if it's in the pipeline I'll be ordering the Sapphire Radeon HD 6950 2GB 100312-3L soon from Amazon.com.
    BUT I'm heavily considering a low-end but PhysX capable nVidia card for the games which support it. Thing is I have no clue as to which card I should buy for dedicated PhysX while keeping the Sapphire 6950 2GB, unlocked to 6970, as the main GPU. I'm currently using the integrated 4290 at the moment and still attempting to sell the EVGA 8400GS which has the S-Video port and not the HDMI one.
     
  21. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,485 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,546
    I need a new GPU because my 6870 is tired of playing with itself inside that dark box :p If it had a partner, it could get some action and abandon the GPU masturbation :O
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Enmity New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    454 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I need a new gpu, not just a gpu but motherboard, ram, powersupply and gfx card. My old system shat itself a couole of nights ago. I dont even know what happened but my psu smelt like smoke and ive tested the 5850s in my mates pc and sure enough, theyre both dead :( so right now the best gpu i have is in my htc sensation! Woooo! Gotta love angry birds haha.

    Fortunately theres a competition running right now with a computer store here in nz where you can post your xmas list and you go into the draw to win it. The limit is $800 nzd so my wishlist consists of a 2500k, p8z68 pro, 8gb ram and a prolimatech cpu cooler. If i am succesfull in winning the comp, all ill need is psu and gfx card :) wish me luck people!

    Edit: just looked it up. My phone has the adreno 220 gpu. Ftw! And on that note, whats a free android game with awesome graphics? I need my fix haha.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  23. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,611 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    360M no longer cuts it I need a 7990M!
     
  24. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    ERocker should rename this the Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! thread.
     
    Ray_Rogers2109 and AlienIsGOD say thanks.
  25. xaira

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    209 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    after reading a few posts i think i realize what's going on... i read my psu specifications wrong...it is actually a 1200 watt PSU with 4x6+2pin connectors so it can power pretty much anything...also, you wont have to ship international, get it to miami and ill do the rest...

    i dont have any sob stories, except for the fact that i have been playing BF3 on a 22" monitor at 848x480
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page