1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Kernel mode does not seem to be running ...(I've tried everything !)

Discussion in 'ATITool' started by elmancho, Nov 26, 2006.

  1. elmancho New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The name of the post pretty much says it all .
    I have had atitool working on my computer for 1week, fine and then sudently I get this error message : The kernel mode does not seem to be running.




    _I use vista RC1
    _ATITOOL ver 0.25b16pre8
    _No anti vir
    _No firewall
    _tried unistalling/reisntalling
    _Looked at all the solutions in the forum
    _I use a x800gt saphire
    _I will worship the one who finds a solution
    _:banghead: HELPP !!!!!
    :banghead:







    .
  2. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,119 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,126
    It is possibly being blocked by Vista as it is asking for kernel mode access. Have you recieved any updates from MS?
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,382
    if you use windows vista x64 say goodbye to ANY hardware related applications .. there is no way to install kernel drivers on xp64 unless they are digitally signed by microsoft
  4. elmancho New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Re

    _Nope, no updates.
    _Nope, using a 32bit edition
    Thing is it has worked well like this for a week !!
    Anny other suggestions ?











    .
  5. DudeDnB New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona USA
    I am im the same boat (won't load Kernel driver), although I've not gotten ATITool to work at all, as opposed to you getting it to work for a week. What drivers are you using for your card in Vista? Here's what I'm using:

    Card: X1900XTX
    Driver: Catalyst Beta Software Suite (64 bit) 45.6MB Ver-8.31.100 Nov. 2, 2006
    Proc: AMD Opteron 170 (OC'd to 2.5GHz/core)
    Mobo: A8N-SLI Premium
    Ram: 2GB OCZ DDR400
    OS: Vista RC1
    HD: 2x WD74 Raptor (RAID 0) SiI3114 Vista drivers
    ATITool Version: 0.24, 0.25beta, and 0.26 all didn't work for me

    I've tried booting up while hitting F8, selecting "Disable Driver Signature Enforcement" when I installed ATITool and after-install, but to no avail.

    Any help getting ATITool to work would be much appreciate! I'm really trying to get it to work because the stock Temp/Fan settings are too high, hence allowing my card to overheat after extended use. Any other dynamic Temp/Fan control software suggestions also welcome :D
  6. elmancho New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I use teh 32bit version I have the latest drivers from ati and the latest beta atitool ....
    There you go...
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,382
    for 64-bit drivers you need a digital signature which is 400 usd a year from m$
  8. Sabrehawk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    is that true? Than thats something courts should look into because its most surely
    contradicting the laws of free trade.
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,382
    you could go and sue ms :)
  10. DudeDnB New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona USA
    so there is no hope of getting 64bit Vista support in the future? or is this a temporary problem?

    Do you know of any other programs that will work with 64bit Vista? My vid card overheats on the stock settings and its making things unplayable.
  11. ARTOSOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    369 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Singapore
    What card do you have? If you think you want to underclock your card to make it less hot, you better think something else like providing cool air to your card.

    Regards,
    Arto.
  12. DudeDnB New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona USA
    I dont want to underclock it, I just want to turn the fan up a little bit. Currently, the temperature settings that govern the fan speed are not spinning the fan fast enough. I used to be able to use my own dynamic settings with the help of ATITool when I had WinXP, but now that I have Vista64 it won't work because of the signed driver problem.
  13. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    So are you going to pat the 400USD to M$?

    Raffle ticket Idea!!!
  14. ARTOSOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    369 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Singapore
    Maybe you can use RaBiT to edit and update your card's bios to run fan speed at higher speed.

    Regards,
    Arto.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page