1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Linux screenshots thread

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by Tokio, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  2. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Looks great :)

    I don't see why I can't get the cube deformations working :(
    Oh well :(
    Solaris17 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. T3RM1N4L D0GM4

    T3RM1N4L D0GM4

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    186 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Simply awesome, Solaris...
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    try these settings.
    [​IMG]

    thanks man :) ill tune it up a bit more. trying to figure out the touchpad currently. cosmetics will come second.
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    That's how it was....already have the cube working fine, 9 sides :)

    How do you get the cube to 'stay' 3D like in your 2nd pic vs just going instantly the the next side?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    press CTRL-ALT left mouse click and drag. just keep the left mouse button clicked and it will stay 3D at this time you can also let go of CTRL and ALT as long as you hold left mouse down.
    Tokio and [Ion] say thanks.
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    X90000 Thanks!


    Pic coming in a sec :D

    EDIT: Here we go:
    [​IMG]
    :rockout::rockout::rockout: :respect::respect::respect:
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    nice dude!
    [Ion] says thanks.
  9. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Thanks :)

    I'm going to see if I can get the top image to cover the entire top, but first I need to finish my HW. This looks so awesome!

    Something new to impress people at school with :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    finally settled on suse 11.3 touchpad works and i got my wifi up so suse it is for my laptop.

    [​IMG]
  11. T3RM1N4L D0GM4

    T3RM1N4L D0GM4

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    186 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Few tweaks for my new gui *without* kwin desktop effect (hd3200 igp is too weak :cry: ):

    [​IMG]
  12. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Solaris17 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. T3RM1N4L D0GM4

    T3RM1N4L D0GM4

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    186 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    may be my cpu is a single core amd sempron? :D
    Kwin effect is not so responsive compared to compiz effect.
    I'm using catalyst driver, but gui with kwin effect enabled (expose, grid, cube) seems not so fast with opensource driver... May be I fail with some setting?
  14. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Can you not use Compiz? Even a single core should be enough for Compiz effects ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. T3RM1N4L D0GM4

    T3RM1N4L D0GM4

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    186 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    I'm using native kwin effect
  16. Tokio

    Tokio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    64 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Bucharest, Moscow, London
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    thanks man :)
  18. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    OK so I have a really good looking theme I've been working on and I'd like to show off the menus and whatnot, but I can't come up with a program that can display all the buttons and menus and stuff.... So.... Any ideas? (I already know how to take screenshots, thanks)
  19. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,406 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    just open up a bunch of windows.
  20. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    OK, here's the desktop (and what the Firefox icon looks like when it's selected :p):
    [​IMG]

    Here's the menus (and a tooltip!):
    [​IMG]
    (I probably could have made that smaller, whoops)

    And here's some text and a bunch of progress bars:
    [​IMG]

    I love how the watermark exactly covers the volume and time.
  21. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    That looks nice, I'm digin' the red theme! :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    I'd upload it to you, but I'm not exactly sure where Mint stores the things....
  23. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,406 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    it has been 1 YEAR since the last post. let's see some new fancy screenshots to make our window's cousins jealous!!
  24. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,175 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,356
    I shall make some Linux Mint 11 (Katya) screens, maybe. However the looks are still stock atm because it is a pretty fresh install (less than a week old). I like it so far.

    Edit: Here it is. It is still stock, except the panel ("task bar") at the bottom, which I adapted a bit so that it is a bit higher (increasing the icon size a bit in the process).

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. ramintjoo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry about smashing the rules a little but I decided to show the way i access the characteristics I want in linux without needing to reboot. I'd run linux as my primary OS whether it were not for games and certain applications.

    I personally use cygwin probably the most and that's why I've party integrated with my command prompt in order to launch it simply like I'd every other spend in linux. (I blanked out my computer/username within the prompt within the lower left hands corner.)

    After I need X support I personally use VMware's Oneness feature quite helpful for running GUI applications over SSH in Home windows.

    Anyway, sorry if I am not preserving the spirit of the thread.
    ___________________________________
    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page