1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Linux screenshots thread

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by Tokio, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. Hardi

    Hardi

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    been playing around with debian lately...

    [​IMG]
     
    Tokio, Chevalr1c and Easy Rhino say thanks.
  2. DIBL New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Dayton, Ohio area
    I think this shows Windows in its proper context (it makes a GREAT printer driver, FYI).

    [​IMG]

    :laugh:
     
    [Ion], Tokio, Chevalr1c and 1 other person say thanks.
  3. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,461 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
  4. DIBL New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Dayton, Ohio area
    If you install and configure samba on the Linux host, then the Windows VM can see the host as a server, and can copy and save files from the Linux system. This way, if you have special Windows proprietary software, or a printer that is not supported in Linux, you just jump over to Windows and copy the document and send it to the Lexmark or Canon or whatever.
     
  5. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,461 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    yup, been doing that for years. solves a lot of problems.
     
  6. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,936 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,538
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Heres Mine.
    ubuntu 11.04 in classic mode
    Epox Krai pro (via kt880 chipset)
    Athlon XPm 2500+ @ 2.4 ghz
    Visiontek Radeon x1550 xge
    1 gb Crucial pc3200

    [​IMG]

    Using Cario Dock and Screenlets
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2012
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,425
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Somewhat finished (*) Gentoo 64-bit install, using kernel 3.0.6 and KDE 4.6.5. The wallpaper shows a minor train station near my parents' place.

    [​IMG]


    (*) I will probably realise that I still need some progs later on (once I want to start them and think like, "Oh forgot to emerge that one") and I still need to adapt the ACLs of my data partition to be able to access it without Gentoo acting like a d**k.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Hardi

    Hardi

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    some little changes..

    [​IMG]
     
  9. kaser123 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  10. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,467
    I'm glad I'm the one who uses BSD

    [​IMG]
     
    Easy Rhino and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  11. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,461 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264

    nice screen. i actually learned FreeBSD before Linux about 12 years ago. That was when it took days of research to get your videocard to work so you could have KDE :laugh:

    anyway, do you use it mainly as a desktop or something else?
     
  12. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,467
    Yes it is my main desktop at work. BSD is nice, I'm content :)
     
  13. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,461 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    you should be. it is a fantastic OS! the ports system is my favorite. what are the main programs you use with it?
     
  14. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,467
    ^ I'm trying to get used to it atm. I'm gonna use it for emulation, programming and multimedia purposes :) It looks so fluid and stable.
     
  15. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,467
    Played Doom 3, Serious Sam first and second encounters, Quake 1 x64, and Quake 2. Games work great.


    Installed Wine and run Delphi 7. Programming and compiling work perfect :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Chevalr1c and DannibusX say thanks.
  16. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,467
    rofl bump

    Installed Android x86 just for fun, lol

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    hellrazor says thanks.
  17. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,425
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Let's revive this thread a little.

    A fresh install of Gentoo X86_64, using Linux 3.3.8 and KDE 4.9 with some desktop and icon themes and an adjusted colur scheme.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ------------------------------------------------------

    Interesting how well FF looks with this colour scheme. TBH I feared the worst but it came out pretty nicely.


    [​IMG]

    -------------------------------------------------

    Clementine looks nice this way. :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Tokio says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,936 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,538
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Ubuntu 12.04 LTS running Cinnamon

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Heheh, guess I need to pretty up my openSuse..
    [​IMG]
     
  20. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Same with my Debian install....
    [​IMG]
     
  21. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    507 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    [​IMG]

    linux mint kde "maya" with kernel 3.3.2 and kde 4.8.2 on my lenovo-ibm thinkpad r61
     
  22. Munki

    Munki

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    Just got Backtrack 5 R3 installed on VirtualBox.

    [​IMG]
     
  23. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Tried to install Slitaz on the netbook in sig. Had some issues (couldn't boot from HDD and WLAN didn't work), so I'm downloading Lubuntu now. Which is sad, because the live version is very likeble.

    [​IMG]
     
  24. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,425
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Did you install the GRUB or LiLo bootloader correctly to the MBR? Selecting the device path /dev/sda (without anything behind that) should work.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,461 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    i gotta make a nice desktop again!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page