1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Chimp Challenge 2012, May 15th-25th

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, May 2, 2012.

  1. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    What an opportune time for that to happen. ;)

    It just turns out that Fry's has an anniversary sale going on. Click the image. :)

    [​IMG]

    I didn't see any D-Link gear but there was an air conditioner I could use. :D
  2. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    exactly what I said....
    You live in OK without any AC, how in the heck is that possible?????

    Got it fixed speeds are better now. should be around 40Mbps, good enough for now

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 19, 2012
  3. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    It should have been...
    Anyway the one I have is a piece of crap! :shadedshu

    I just noticed this...
    Milestones Today
    ChimpPowerUp passes 50,000 :ohwell:

    One of our old nemesis has returned.
    Notice the difference...
    ChimPowerUp
  4. zodac

    zodac New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    You could always use the last few days of the CC to try out Ubuntu. At least the Folding would benefit. ;)
  5. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,374 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    thankfully,not me this time :)


    ????????

    is their anything more annoying then wakeing to find your router crashed last night and ya folders are doing nowt, grrrrr sorted now.
    Last edited: May 20, 2012
  6. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I woke up to all my rigs re-started and sitting idle....:shadedshu

    Could i have been hacked? i hear there's alot of it going around...:laugh:
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
  7. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    I've been getting that alot lately also.
  8. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,374 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    right ive signed me mum up,,, well forged her sigy, well i am her IT goto guy, and she no pay.:laugh: <only smp2 but everybit eh
  9. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,815 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Haven't had any problems like that, but that made me check my work rigs today and my GTX 550 Ti disappeared (it's on my ASRock 775Xfire-VSTA with a P4 630 and a GT 440 in the x4 slot) so I don't know if it popped out of the PCIe slot (it doesn't have retention locks) or what. Just rebuilt that system on Friday because the refurbished M5A99X EVO I got from Geeks ended up having bad PCIe slots. Don't think the card is dead, but we'll see.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Buck, I'm using the ver 7 client. I have mine starting on startup. That way even if it does reboot the client will restart without my input...
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  11. jasper1605

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Location:
    Ohio
    is there a way to make it not start on system startup so I don't have to delete the whole program when CC is done and I don't want an electric bill through the roof every month?
  12. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,815 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    You can go in msconfig and uncheck the FAHControl startup service.
    jasper1605 and TeXBill say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Go into preferences, under local client & uncheck the autostart box.
    jasper1605 says thanks.
  14. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    why does the link to hwc have the 2011 challenge in it? and not the 2012?
  15. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    That link is no good this year, go to the irc link or the Google docs link that BUCK provided on the Chimp tracking thread.
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  16. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Fixed. i guess i missed that one since the page was not up until a few days before the CC.:eek:
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  17. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    hey folks, just got back from a long weekend in Appalachia. I was sweating....no internet to check my clients, but they made it through! I did decide to drop the Q6600, too much power for minimal productivity. I used to get 10k-12k, but now, lucky to get 4k.
  18. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,078 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I'm also running my PS3 and my laptop, only 30k in ten days for both combined. The laptop does look odd propt up at an angle with a table fan directed at it.

    I still have fond memories of the Emachine with a GTX 275 and OCZ Mod-X 600 watt PSU stuck inside of it. I can't remember what Buck called it, but it was pretty funny.:D
  19. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I disabled all of those sorts of things and cut back my OC. it won't fold stable over 3.6GHz. 3.7 the core crashes. Ah well. 3.6 still good.

    In good news, GTX580 is rock stable at 885/2250, which is really sweet
    Chevalr1c and hertz9753 say thanks.
  20. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,078 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Do you know where Oily 17 lives?
  21. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,078 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
  22. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,356
    I was talking about stock, myself (I completely suck at OCing and I believe I have read somewhere at the F@H site that they prefer using stock speeds in order to avoid what they call "soft errors").
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. cdamax New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    What going on friend's it is desert this year we go four 10 pages of talk, in the page of tpu no mention to the challenge? Why?? before why have the mention and 45 pages of talk no mention to 4 place vs the second of the past year, sad friends.
  24. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I just want to make sure your 2500K and Sli 560's are cranked up for ChimPowerUp? If not, that would be truly sad.
    Last edited: May 22, 2012
  25. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Lets work on getting our conversion to 110, for a team our size we should be able to get that done :cool:

    As far as the reduced thread size, maybe people are too busy trying to keep their rigs cool with their spare time :laugh: It was in the low 90s the other day and it took 3 house fans to keep my temps in line :eek:
    hertz9753 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page