1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The official CoD: Ghosts thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by qubit, Nov 5, 2013.

  1. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,214 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,551
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    oh well first hour of play (after going thru BF4 solo some time before) first impression : i like the Scenario.

    ok ok i know nothing original ... but hey ... "if this isn't the end of the world as we know it, then its pretty damn close" allways work.

    im testing it in high didnt bothered to turn up the settings to the max, tho BF4 runs pretty well in ultra.

    so far so good : special mention and award to the K9 mode ... i love that :D i can't remember a game where you actually use a dog like that :eek: tho i remember shooting countless German Sheppherd in Wolfenstein 3D ... uh woowee nostalgia strike!
     
  2. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,722 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,282
    just completed ghosts in 5 hours on hardened mode, full uber gfx.... I liked the campaign, was pretty diverse with space, tanks and all that!


    multiplayer I cant stand! feels like black ops but slower.

    not bad, could been a lot better tho
     
    qubit says thanks.
  3. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    No no, you're not supposed to like a CoD game! :laugh:

    I can't wait to play that K9 dog mode GreiverBlade mentioned. :D
     
  4. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,546 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    855
    5 hours on hard...

    Do devs not aim for double figures anymore?
     
  5. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,214 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,551
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    hey i like it aswell, oh wait ... im just at the start i might hate it later ... ok ok no thanks i understand ;)

    eh the K9 mode is right after the intro when you "go home" (or Hell ... go figure ...)
     
    qubit says thanks.
  6. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,722 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,282
    I was a bit shocked it finsished so fast, I give it 6/10

    some different stuff, even hardened was easy, gfx was average, multi is shit, the K9 killing dog was funny!

    overall MEHHHH! but I enjoyed the campaign story, kinda!
     
  7. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,568 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    And for once the dog fights for vs against us in CoD too. Sometimes I got sick of those damn Quick Time Event dog attacks in earlier installments. It wasn't a mere button mash either, you had to time it just right to snap their necks.
     
  8. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,214 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,551
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i never played any CoD before Ghost ;) and it doesn't look like a QTE you direct the dog choose to stay stealth or attack, and last but not least, in that part you dont break neck but more RIPE THROAT... uhhuhh short but good

    oh wait ... i re read but i still understand half of what you write :D "for" "vs" "against" its not the sentence a would have used you mean "for against against" right? ahah, since vs stand for versus meaning against...

    hu ... the only thing i understand is "a dog attack you and you have a QTE with a button mashing (if not precise enough to do it with only 1 button hit) to snap the dogs neck" right?

    i hate QTE too dont worry :D
     
  9. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,568 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    "for vs against" means he fights for you as opposed to against you.

    You're only seeing the versus definition of "vs". It can also mean as compared to or as one of two choices; in contrast with.

    http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/versus

    Sorry, sometimes I forget the language barrier here. English is tricky and often times hard to understand.
     
  10. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,214 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,551
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    oohh i see, well English isn't tricky, and its pretty much straightforward, unless you use double signification Latin words (Vs, Versus isn't English so its Latin who is tricky) indeed i wouldn't had used that word but more "for you, instead of against you", but that's only me. I am a native Swiss French speaker (and you say English is tricky? :D), alright alright i know my limit ... i only have self learned English.

    back on the topic well on high settings it sure eats a lot of vram but the fps is pretty stable, on the opposite BF4 wasn't taking 90~% vram in high settings but the fps were a bit more unstable, in ultra it was taking near 89-91%(bf4) i wonder what make CoD:Ghost take so much vram since BF4 looks more complex. 3d engine? code optimization? surely.

    and side-note ... come on ... you want to get ride of some ghost and you blast a dam, flood the whole town and drown your own men... yup that's pretty much what must be done
     
  11. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,568 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    It's well known that English is one of the toughest languages to learn, what with it's synonyms, homonyms/homographs, double entendres, etc. It may not be quite as hard to pick up as Chinese or Russian, but it def ranks in the top 5. The proof is in people that think they know it fairly well, only to still struggle with all the dualities I mentioned above. What's odd is some of them actually think they can suggest a better way of saying something, when they don't even in fact know of these complexities.

    And btw, there are MANY words spoken in many languages that originate from other languages, but when used in that language can vary in meaning. If you don't know that, you don't know English. In other words knowing all the nuances of how a language is spoken, is just as important as knowing the core language itself. So in a sense, the way we use versus is a bastardized dialect of that word/language, and it helps to know such things.

    Bottom line, you can only be so textbook with languages if you really want to learn them. Merely picking apart root words and their origin can sometimes only make things harder to understand.

    As far as memory, the system RAM was the controversial one, and has proven to be FAR less used than their 6GB claim (TM showed about 1.7GB for me), but after checking, you're right, VRAM use is extremely high. GPU-Z showed 2867MB and 99% GPU use for me. When I see things like that I'm SO glad I got a 7970 when Nvidia was only offering 2GB of VRAM on their models.

    As far as the dam scene, it was clearly pointed out that the squad took it upon themselves to go deep into enemy territory, as said by Major Greenland implying it a suicide mission, and she and her troops flew in by heli after it was blown. The most fantastical part was the demo squad itself surviving the blast and the fall.

    Seems AAA titles are filled with over the top cinematic action movie-like scenes, but IMO BF4's campaign is far worse in that regard. Mainly because there are more scripted scenes where you're a mere spectator. Many of the scenes in this game are more interactive. Albeit some of that interaction is quite hokey, but at least you have SOME control.
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  12. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,214 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,551
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    toughest language ... i don't think so, for me its the easiest to learn (french is way more complicated) i'm quite gifted for learning language and i know the rooting of latin language (IE Italian french Spanish and other derivative) i dont see English as being in the top 5 hardest language to learn (its way too easy) i don't struggle with double entendre or other, i usually pick up real quick but this time, afaik VS/versus in french is also used but only to mean "against", my bad it was a quick pick and it was wrong :) still i widely prefer English over French (i prefer a foreign language over my own mother-language? shame on me ...)

    thanks for the additions, it helps me a lot to continue to learn about the subtleties of that language.

    i am now to the forest part, after the crash, and wow ... using a hum it look like a Tu-95 Bear that way ... i didn't see it coming ahah ... the stealth part to regroup with the team is pretty interesting, well indeed i like that.

    BF4 i like the setup of the action but not the way it is orchestrated

    and i am quite happy with my 770 2gb it use 97% mem 99% gpu but its quite smooth :D i had one glitch : glittery water :roll: quite blinding
     
  13. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I finally decided to install the game today, and maxed all the graphic settings, after the intro you're laying on the ground in a forest, and as soon as the game started I noticed the internal engine was running at a much lower resolution (720p perhaps?) and upscaling everything to my monitors.

    I tried switching to a single monitor to see if it would make a difference at 1080p, but the game still looks like dog shit, if I remember correctly, COD:MW3 had the exact same issue and all you needed to do was change one of the graphics settings to "Native" but I can't find that same setting on this game, even though it appears to use the same engine.

    Does anyone else have this same problem? I'm pretty sure the game is upscaling everything from a much lower resolution, I can tell by looking at the trees and the alias on pretty much every detail, is there a particular setting I need to change?

    Please let me know if anyone is having this same problem.
     
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    The rendering resolution looks ok for me.

    I'll check my settings when I get home and post a screenshot so that you can compare.

    Dumb question here, but do you have the latest graphics driver installed?
     
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  15. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I found the solution, the game cannot be played at 5760x1080 at all, and when I use a single monitor I have to manually set the aspect ratio to 16:9 instead of using "auto", that way the game renders at my monitor's native resolution...

    Thanks for the driver suggestion, I thought of that too but I'm using ver. 331.65, I think this is the latest driver release ATM :)
     
    qubit says thanks.
  16. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    So the game is simply buggy, even after the patch. Who knew? :laugh:

    At least you got to the bottom of it.
     
  17. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,214 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,551
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    finished it, well indeed the story of the campaign keep'd me up, i like that setup, except the glittery water i didn't got a major bug or glitch, the end is a bit ... hum i don't find any word to describe it
     
  18. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,568 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    It's beginning to feel pretty mediocre my 3rd play through, this time on Hardcore. Maybe Veteran mode will spark new life into it.
     
  19. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Got round to playing a bit of Ghosts tonight and saw that parts of my rifle were see-through and flickery. This includes the scope, the front part of the barrel and something at the back, so this looks like another bug.

    Game played ok other than that and was enjoyable.
     
  20. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,568 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Just played a bit of BF4 last night to compare notes with Ghosts again. BF4 is a ridiculous bullet sponge affair even on Hard. You can take WAY too many hits. It's a shame too because I really like some of the maps. All those realistic graphics wasted on an extremely arcade damage model.
     
  21. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,372 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Been reading reviews, and complaints about this game... apparently weird flickering is caused by sli fermi cards, not an issue with keplers. Both this game and BF4, except BF4 is much worse. Running it in single gpu mode, or upgrading to keplers fixes the issue. Guess the industry wants us to upgrade.......
     
  22. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,398 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    476
    Not tech problems with this or with BF4.... (single gtx670)

    And just now I realise, where is my Skyfall bonus map?
     
  23. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    It was a driver problem.

    Just started Steam and it automatically did a 217MB update for Ghosts. Let it finish and ran Ghosts and saw the transparent/flickering problem. Turned SLI off and it disappeared. Back on it returned, so it's definitely an SLI issue.

    Updated the driver to the latest 331.82 which fixed it. :)

    I'm running 2x GTX 580 (Fermi).
     
  24. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,372 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    From what I've heard, it does not fix it at all... not spending 50 bucks for flickering. Also can't afford 400 for 2 680s yet either...
     
  25. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    What you heard was wrong, as my previous post shows.

    Don't waste your money buying new graphics cards for some glitch like this which is fixed anyway.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page