1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    AMD's crossfire issue perhaps? Tho I don't see many nVidia users like me having severe issues like that. (Game rarely crash and few to no graphical problems)
  2. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I find, the further I complete the game, the more crashes happen.
  3. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,191 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Should of mentioned that I tried playing with cfx disabled. Can't find any types of fixes online. It's extremely fraustrating as you can imagine because the game is jaw dropping.
  4. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,136 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,771
    Location:
    04578
    remove the 6870x2 and run just the 6870

    use the 4gb mod and set audio to 44100hz make sure any osd type apps are disabled aka MSI afterburner, fraps etc. then run the game see what happens.
  5. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Certainly not common among all AMD user's because I have never had a single game crash except when going far underground with TCL.
  6. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,191 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Ahhh need to update specs, I returned the 6870x2, too much of a headache and was getting horrible performance. But i'll try disabling fraps and see how that goes.

    Also would having High Texture mods affect this?
  7. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    I logged into steam in online mode and the game auto patched to the newest version.
    I am able to play without the LAA/4gb patch and very few crashes so far. But I have noticed slight slow down in game performance. I even saved the new .exe and tried an older version with the 4gb patch applied.
    Not using anything to measure the FPS, but there is a slightly perceptible slowdown. I'm not sure if it just has more room to breathe with the 4gb patch or if they changed something in the newest patch.

    Anyone else getting slightly worse performance?
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461

    its not a game fault, thats your system.
  9. sixequalszero

    sixequalszero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    108 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bathurst, NSW
    Me too, it was just at that moment I thought I should install fraps or something to record Skyrim.
    If only.
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    Black Panther says thanks.
  10. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,527 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    [​IMG]
    theJesus, NinkobEi and digibucc say thanks.
  11. sixequalszero

    sixequalszero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    108 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bathurst, NSW
    [​IMG]
    theJesus and digibucc say thanks.
  12. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    That question doesn't make much sense. They probably got more time in as well and have crafted or had this stuff drop. Would you rather have them vendor it?
  13. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,652 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    Location:
    Chicago
    Those Thalomar scum are after me now. A Justicar had a letter saying they want me dead. I know this, of course, as she and her two companions are dead themselves after attacking me randomly while I was exploring on the north coast. The final animation of me shoving my sword straight down through her chest was quite satisfying and awesome as were her accompanying last words of "not like this!". If only I'd had a Black Soul Gem on me.

    And, fortunately, slaying these three Justicars forty feet from some fort full of mean-looking Thalomar who had just beforehand told me gruffly to "move along" did not cause them to all attack me.
  14. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,409 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    i thought the point of the game was to level up to make killing baddies easier. why create different difficulty levels then?
  15. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,652 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    Location:
    Chicago
    I think he was saying he is finding the game not too tough even without Epic armor and such. I can't really say I'm finding that to be the case. I'm playing on the default mid-range difficulty.
  16. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I've got a girl for my second attempt at not screwing up skyrim. The jarl at whiterun gave me a job instead of killing me, so I guess I'm doing it right.

    Edit: or maybe its because I'm a hot girl now;)

    I was gonna attach a couple fraps screenshots, but they're all 2.9mb and too big to attach. How do you put a picture in your post?

    Edit again: I'm not finding it too hard. Its just difficult enough for me to love playing, without being so ridiculous that you have to save every time before you want to get in a fight.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,652 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    Location:
    Chicago
    Upload it to a host like imgur.com then the url goes in [​IMG]
    Irony says thanks.
  18. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    You could reduce the file size in paint as well by opening it and then saving it as a jpg instead of .bmp ( .bmp files are HUUUGE)

    Does anyone know if it's possible to spawn in corpses?

    I want to spawn them at the top of a mountain instead of cheeses lol
  19. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,913 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,489
    because players have different skill levels? regardless of the point of the game that's why there are difficulty levels. to give added challenge to those that want it and to make it easy enough for those with no skill to at least give it a try. how in depth would you like this explanation? ;)
    Easy Rhino says thanks.
  20. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,409 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    that works i guess. i love the game, but that never made any sense to me. im level 29 and have some pretty decent stuff. i have a very easy time getting through the missions because of my ranking and my stuff, not because i am a skilled player and have it on medium difficulty. why should i raise the difficulty level when the whole point is to level up my character so that it IS easier.
    digibucc says thanks.
  21. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Different difficulty levels are also for different class combos. Someone may want to make a complete scrub of a character relying on illusion and sneak for role playing purposes. Would be pretty tough to complete a game with just those skills on Master, let me tell ya!
  22. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,126 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    679

    In my opinion, because the "whole point" is to enjoy the game, however you get there. whether it's to play Ironman style, and play until your character dies once (the Big Death), or to play trying as many silly things as you can (how many giants can I train behind me on my horse? :) )
  23. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    theJesus and DannibusX say thanks.
  24. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Like this:
    http://i.imgur.com/VClCA.jpg

    Nope, thats just a link...It doesn't upload anything when I attach the url for it in the space provided in attachments.


    Edit: @Black Panther, LOLLL
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    That still applies if you have the difficulty set higher though.

    It's just more of a challenge. ( and thus more fun for me)

    I find it boring being able to beat up a dude in full armour with a sword and shield with my bare hands right at the start of the game.

    I don't like it when I can play a game whilst eating my dinner, unless it's a browser game :laugh:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page