1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND


    It's just that it's a bit of a farce undoing ugrids if you want to use it on a current save so I want to be certain.

    Out and about in the wilderness I get about 45-60 fps ( depending where I look)

    I've put shadow draw distance at 5000 as I prefer the character shadows looking nice :toast:

    Sorry if it's not enough info :laugh:

    By the way is there a way to increase contrast etc in game? ( without the enhanced shader mods, they hit me to hard with my current settings)

    Everything always looks a little washed out on my screen
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    ^^ Lydia looks a little pissed at your character.

    ----

    So this recent update does not allow me to use 4GB?
    I would still have to add the 4GB mod?
     
  3. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,422 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    I need to buy a new house. I'm tired of living in that small little breeze home. What city has the biggest house to buy?
     
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,263 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Florida
    no the latest update allows 4GB disable your mod.
     
    Widjaja says thanks.
  5. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Probably the one in Windhelm even though it is not the most expensive.

    ----

    Thanks Solaris.
     
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Well the woman in Volkuns tomb kept accidentally hitting her with fireballs so Lydia kept kicking off :laugh: only way to make her stop was to make her dead and then resurrect her, must of done it 5 time or so :laugh:

    No surprise she hates me :p

    + one to this, my main character has that as a home and it's got the most stuff to fill it with as well.
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,379 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    so 12.1 and the new LAA fix play together nicely, no graphical fuckups in game that i saw except at the main menu.

    anyone ran into that before? only using the beautiful skyrim mod
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  8. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Yeah same reason why I recommend it.
    Plenty of space for the stray dogs too, if you decide to keep them as pets.

    Although I do not recommend leaving them in the kitchen.
    Food tends to end up on the floor.
     
  9. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Wait wait wait, I can have a dog!?

    How do I miss things like that :laugh:
     
  10. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Yeah, found a couple of stray dogs about Skyrim, talked to them and they followed me.
    Instead of telling them to go away, I left them in my homes and annoy the housecarls with their barking.
     
  11. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    There are a couple of stray dogs south of Helgen. I killed em though. One had gold, the other had a garnet ring. Also, some wolves have garnet rings.
     
  12. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    my dog disappeared when i went to high hrothgar '__' (did the gray beards ate him because they are tired of dried meat? oh god no!!)

    Also, how about 8GB LAA? >_>
    /sarcasm
     
  13. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    whats a good prog for capturing screenies? I'd like to keep some pics from here and add them to desktop theme.

    thanks

    whats the deal with that big glowing ball thats now in the college? I found it, its there now. I see I have the option to activate it but not sure if its gonna change something
     
  14. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    FRAPS. After its started, just hit F10 in game to capture screenshots. It saves them to C:\FRAPS\Screenshots
     
    popswala says thanks.
  15. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    steam has a built in screencap (F12)
     
    popswala says thanks.
  16. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Arghhh..

    Spoilers everywhere about here....

    I have the game running at a solid 60FPS with everything turned up to max (but FSAA x2) plus a few ini tweaks thrown in for good measure. My GPU sits at around 70% most of the time yet I still get microstutter.

    I know this is a common problem with the engine that Bethesda use.

    My question is, did any of you get this and if so, did you fix it.

    This microstutter isn't really that bad, just enough for me to notice it and the game is still totally playable but being a perfectionist/fussy ßastard, obvioulsy getting the game running as smooth as butter (as many other games do) is the desirable target....if it is at all possible.
     
  17. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Ah, yeah, forgot about that.
     
  18. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    It is part of the missions for the College. Talk to Toldor or whatever his name is. He is the old guy that was leading your lessons. He will either advance the plot or tell you who to talk to about it. At this point you are either going to be talking to the Admiri Elf no one trust or the librarian.
     
  19. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    My first C++ runtime error in this game since updating to this new patch.
    Wonder how many times this is going to pop up.
     
  20. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    I know you're being sarcastic, but 8GB LAA is impossible.
     
  21. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    BioWare: Next Dragon Age Will Draw From Skyrim

    http://www.wired.com/gamelife/2011/12/dragon-age-3/

     
  22. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    976 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Canada
    DA-2 Was rushed... let's hope DA3 will not...
     
  23. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    976 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Canada
    Weird, I've noticed something about skyrim:

    When I Ctrl-alt-del out of the game and press cancel instead of selecting task manager, I get a strong FPS boost in-game, until the next time I fast travel...

    then I re-do the manoeuver, and still get the extra fps...

    U guys, pls try this and let me know if it made a difference in your FPS...
     
  24. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Anyone else notice about a 8AVG FPS drop with the new update!? But otherwise everything is running perfect!
     
  25. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I hope DA3 will be more like DA1 .... DA 2 was pure garbage. I didn't sleep playing DA1 because it was so much fun :), they will learn a lot from Skyrim hopefully they'll take on Bethesda's 411 quests + infinite ones. :laugh:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page