1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. sixequalszero

    sixequalszero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    108 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bathurst, NSW
    That 32-bit editions of Windows starting with Windows Vista are limited to 4GB is not because of any technical constraint on 32-bit operating systems. The 32-bit editions of Windows Vista and Windows 7 all contain code for using physical memory above 4GB. Microsoft just doesn’t license you to use that code.

    http://www.geoffchappell.com/notes/windows/license/memory.htm
  2. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,569 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Yes, I'm aware of PAE, and yes it does allow you to use RAM above the 4GB ceiling, but the problem is that the Skyrim executable is not likely to support storing pointers as anything other than 32 bit integers which will, in fact, limit data to 4 GB. In order for it to reach higher than that you would have to change the source code, which isn't a simple executable switch like LAA is.
  3. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    Well I have to say that with the LAA patch I haven't yet had one CTD (fingers crossed) and I also installed texture mods.

    What I can't understand is this:

    I tried the Skyrim HD - 2K Textures and my fps started dropping below 10 in Whiterun.
    Then I tried the Serious HD Retexture Landscape Skyrim and it didn't affect my fps at all.

    I can't see the difference between these 2 mods..

    I'm also using other texture mods, flora retexture, hi-res weapons, hi-res npc clothing, realistic water, skyrim enhanced night....
    Ahhzz says thanks.
  4. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,081 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    Or it means you escaped Steamcrap after the 0day patch, and used the tpu 4gb patch.
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,011 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    to answer my own question: the flickering in menus was caused by me leaving one of the .dll fixes for ATI crossfire in teh skyrim folder.


    running direct via steam with those fixes removed is resulting in zero graphical glitches in 5K crossfire. wooooo!
    digibucc says thanks.
  6. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,898 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
    Well, the 290.53 BETA did improve FPS. Not exactly the same as the "25%" they say indoors (only around 20%; it's 10-15% better outside).
  7. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    824 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    Excellent, the patch is here. Now I'm waiting for the DLC's :D
  8. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Well I don't know what that C++ runtime error was about after this patch as I haven't had it since and hope I don't have it again.

    It was the first time I clicked on play from the update screen.
    Maybe a coincidence.
  9. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    what 4gb tpu patch?
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,011 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    he'd be referring to fordGT90's LAA patching program which only worked on the initial launch version of skyrim.


    really not helping his 'i'm not a pirate!' argument.
  11. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,081 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    :confused:

    I purchased a full blown copy from NewEgg, thank you very much, and after the initial patch, discovered I was able to ignore Steamcrap by running the exe directly. After discovering the LAA issues, ran Ford's LAA patch. Found out steamcrap didn't like us ignoring it with the next patch, so I never went back. Didn't pirate, bought full retail, even bought the Prima Guide. :wtf:


    By the way BlackPanther, the Prima Hardback is back http://www.amazon.com/dp/0307891402/?tag=tec06d-20 :toast:
    theJesus and Black Panther say thanks.
  12. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Who cares if he is a pirate or not.

    Some games deserve to be bought and some dont.

    Games where the end user is forced to spend 4-5 hours dicking around with various fan made mods, patches and ini tweaks in order to get the game running properly on thier PC (and still not succeeding 100%) probably dont deserve to be bought....regardless of the content of the game. Also, games which force the end user onto DRM such as Steam should also never be bought. Speaking specifically of Skyrim, bethesda can G right TF if they think it is ok to pass of that bloody awful UI onto PC users and lumber us with the dozens of other restrictions of the game. And as I alread said, any game which forces me to use a DRM such as Steam reduces its chances of being bought by about 90%..... I absolutely loved Deus Ex HR and really wanted to buy it but being obliged to use STEAM was the deal breaker.

    That is my rules anyways.
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011
  13. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    In my case the game still became terribly buggy quest wise even though I bought the retail copy.
    Had enough and started a new game.

    Since the latest patch it 'appears' the city areas don't have as much of a noticeable frame drop but maybe I am just imagining it.

    I never tried out the unofficial LAA mod so I don't know if I was missing out on anything or not.
  14. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I'm having issues with CTDs after I fast travel. very annoying. But it only does it if I fast travel to nighttime.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Uhh not sure if everyone else gets his but the flickers I get seem to be related to water and seems to occur more frequently at 120FPS. It is like water fills up the whole game for a few milliseconds and I've recently just had flickers to the point that my character is actually able to swim up a few inches til the flicker disappears.

    Random NPC's and animals also seem to be stuttering up and down sometimes which causes alot of animations to break for me... this makes me think that the water in-game is doing the same thing as the NPC's and animals.
  16. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    In fact I read about quite an amount of players saying the same at Bethesda's Official forum. I assume you used Steam to activate the game the first time... if that's so then it's not fair we assume that he doesn't have a genuine game. The first patch which Steam downloaded immediately upon release was a 'real' patch. Then there followed a second small update some days later which Bethesda don't acknowledge as one of their patches because it did nothing to the game but only made it impossible to run unless you have Steam at least offline. If you don't want the game updated you can instruct Steam not to do so, but often you'd start up the pc and Steam would 'forget' and still update the game... So some people never downloaded this steam update because they preferred to update once the game was "ready" rather than risking patches which fix one thing and break others..




    Thanks for that! I ordered it again... now I will really keep an eye on my email lest "my bank refuses to pay them" again.. :rolleyes:



    Could be because of your high fps, ironically. I read about players getting your same problem if they disable vsync..

    Now I'm not sure if this will solve your problem, since you get your 120fps because your monitor is capped at 120.

    Anyway, just in case you have disabled vsync, make sure to re-enable it.

    And it wouldn't hurt to try this FPS Limiter Mod and see whether it works for you or not. Try it by capping your fps to 60. If it makes no difference, just remove the mod.
    random says thanks.
  17. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    892 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
    Completly agree with you MatCat... In my case, I always had the intention of buying the game as soon as the prices drop, because I want to encourage studios to develop games like Skyrim, but I don't want to encourage crappy game developping and Improper optimization of the game, which is a total Mockery of today's PC gamers and owners...

    Also, I still haven't gotten you guys feed-back on this:

    Weird, I've noticed something about skyrim:

    When I CTRL-ALT-DEL out of the game and press cancel instead of selecting task manager, I get a strong FPS boost in-game, until the next time I fast travel...

    then I re-do the manoeuver, and still get the extra fps...

    U guys, pls try this and let me know if it made a difference in your FPS...
  18. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Nope, mine stays right at 60. Thats my TVs refresh rate, so nothing ever goes above that. Except DiRT3.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    I am completely sorry but you can't say that this game doesn't deserve every single penny/dollar/euro/pesos/rupies or whatever currency you paid for it.
    It's the best release of 2011 hands out, developing a sandbox like this game isn't a simple task to achieve.

    The only problem is the poor multithreaded optimization of the engine but whatever, it's still playable at maximum settings with mods and such if you have a good harware backing it :)
    1Kurgan1, Darkleoco and digibucc say thanks.
  20. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,647 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    ^ Indeed. Though whatever helps you sleep at night...
    digibucc says thanks.
  21. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,086 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,513
    Location:
    Florida
    Agreed. Though in all honesty thats enough for me to stop helping. You pirated and have more problems then most. Not our problem. At least I wont spend hours helping you figure out your texture problems. Lets get back on topic though. It would suck if this got shut down because it was derailed by a few pirates.
    Darkleoco, Wrigleyvillain and digibucc say thanks.
  22. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,647 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    You mean like the internet itself? *cough* SOPA *cough*
    Ahhzz and Irony say thanks.
  23. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    Many people just don't realize that it's the same as stealing, that's enough for me too to stop helping him.

    Bah let's continue with the thread as you said...
    --------------

    Has anyone seen/tried this already? Seems good

    http://www.skyrimnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=4210

    [​IMG]
  24. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,877 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,473
    many people just don't realize stealing removes the original, and piracy doesn't. pirates suck, i pay for my games - but learn what the definition of "stealing" is, please.

    no more offtopic, i promise. and i know this is the last subject i should go offtopic for. but damnit the english language is specific. i don't care about the politics of it. you guys are trying to change the definition of words in order to increase the negative stigma associated with the action.

    damnit, i think of a pirate as bad enough. by nature they have a thieving mentality, if anything i think it'd be worse. why do you insist on using that word when it is simply by definition innacurate?
  25. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,346 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,362
    Location:
    IA, USA
    The latest update (1.3.10) makes Skyrim large address aware. No need a 4 GiB patch anymore. I confirmed this myself.

    Update notes:

    1.3.10 changes (PC only):
    •Support for 4-Gigabyte Tuning (Large Address Aware)
    •Fixed issue with accented characters not displaying properly at the end of a line

    1.3 changes:
    •General stability improvements
    •Optimize performance for Core 2 Duo CPUs (PC)
    •Fixed Radiant Story incorrectly filling certain roles
    •Fixed magic resistances not calculating properly
    •Fixed issue with placing books on bookshelves inside player purchased homes
    •Fixed dragon animation issues with saving and loading
    •Fixed Y-look input to scale correctly with framerate
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011
    1Kurgan1, Ahhzz and digibucc say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page