1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    487 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79

    wasnt after nude mod seen them on curse

    think the ones i was looking for are skyrim enhanced shaders / fxaa post process
    thinking of using blood one to
    any recomend others for world stuff
     
  2. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,974 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm really not using too many mods. Just Glowing Ore Veins, Enhanced Night Sky, and Ultra Smooth Females (not a nude mod, just makes 'em look better)
     
  3. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
  4. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    This game runs surprisingly well on my lappy at the moment, can keep a 30 fps and spike to 60's in dungeons at medium settings but all textures high. I will miss my sandy pandy.
     
  5. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    @Random: You've got kind of a sweet lappy.
     
    Folding for Team TPU
  6. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    I'm looking forward to the built-in Mod Database. No more visiting TeSNexus (unless I want to). Wonder if it will guarantee compatability?
     
  7. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,293 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828

    I'm just looking forward to real mods, period, thank you :p I really can't wait to see what comes out of the CS from some of these guys. The "alive" mannequins that you can spawn, once they get ahold of the CS, there will be entire houses of them (or a city lol) that I can walk up to and wardrobe as I please :)
     
    5 Million points folded for TPU
  8. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I'm installing nexus mod manager, where does it need to install the files to? Just the main skyrim directory or what? Becuz that didn't look like the right place to install mods to. \/

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
    Folding for Team TPU
  9. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,974 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Ohio
    You'll still have to go to the nexus for a lot of things I bet. Built-in mod db is probably just for things actually made with the CS. Texture replacers and such don't need the CS and don't require .ESPs, but it will be nice if they can facilitate some way for people to use those with the db.
    I haven't used it, but I'm assuming that you can give it any location, because that's just where it stores things. IE: When you download a mod, that's where it will go for storage until you choose to install it.
     
  10. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Ah, I see.

    Then where do I install them to manually?
     
    Folding for Team TPU
  11. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,974 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Ohio
    You mean without using the mod manager? Most mods tell you where you should place the files and it's usually somewhere under Steam\steamapps\common\skyrim\data
     
  12. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    If you do it manually you put them in Data. Depending on how they have the mod structured, if they have it right you will put it in there. But sometimes you will get a mod that has it's own Data folder, you can just drop those right into the install directory. That or you can open up that Data folder and pull that stuff out and put it in your Data folder.
     
    Irony says thanks.
  13. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Oh, okay thanks. I'm a newbish modder.
     
    Folding for Team TPU
  14. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah esp while you are just "starting out" to be safe and provide more control it's probably best to extract elsewhere first and put the files where they need to go in the game's Data folder manually. There is either a Read Me (sometimes this is in the Description on the Nexus page) or you can figure it out easily based on the folder structure that is in the extracted mod folder. If your game already has a particular folder than you put the new items in it. If you do not yet have this folder in your game then just add that whole folder from the mod.

    Also not a bad idea to make a backup of the game's Data folder first or even the entire Skyrim folder if you have space.
     
    Irony says thanks.
  15. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,974 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Ohio
    Backing up the Data folder isn't necessary with Skyrim. It's pretty much empty by default, except for the .BSA's and .ESM's. Skyrim doesn't have any loose data files like the previous games, they're all packed into those .BSA's, that's why when you install a texture mod or something you have to check "load loose files" in the launcher.
     
  16. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well that's a good point. Though I started doing a backup incrementally as I installed a new mod so I could easily revert back to a working earlier-though not vanilla-install. More time and effort though, of course, and I no longer do it every time.
     
  17. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,974 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, I'll start considering doing something like that whenever I really add a bunch of mods. For now though I'm only using a few so it's no big deal.

    It'll be nice to have something like MTESIV (Multiple TES IV), which was made to let you manage multiple Oblivion installs and swap between which was "active" etc. That was great for testing compatibility with various mods. Just clone your current install and try out the new mod; if it doesn't work, then just delete the clone and no damage done.
     
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.
  18. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,439 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    I use the nexus mod manager. Its quite easy and hasn't caused any issues. I like that it tells me when there are updated versions of the mods I'm running.
     
  19. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
  20. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    I probably didnt realy get it, but, what the hell, loled anyway... (wonder what it says about me)
    P.S.
    No FUS RO DAH = bad.
     
  21. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,840 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    This is where I put them, those are the place that it stores the ZIP files for me my "G" drive is my backups so that way it's not on my main drive.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  22. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Sweet. Thanks guys, I've got some mods working now
     
    Folding for Team TPU
  23. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,045 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Canada
    I just bought the game today, and was wondering what's the best way to install it...

    Should I download it via steam and activate and install? or is there a better way? Is there a way to avoid being connected to steam while I play?

    Anyhow, just a little screenie to convince you guys I resented my "pirate" ways:

    [​IMG]
     
  24. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Just set Steam in Offline mode and you are good to go.
     
    jonathan1107 says thanks.
  25. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,045 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Canada
    muchos gracias ;O)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page