1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    http://www.skyrimnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=4387 is where the Tesval.dll is.

    _____________________

    Edit: I did this fix too but the difference was very minuscule in my case so I didn't even post my findings.

    Looking through the arch at the top of the marketplace in Whiterun I get 32 fps without Tesval, 34 fps with Tesval.

    Was kinda disappointed after reading about people going from 30 to 50 fps . . .

    Must be my processor - since this fix brings on better optimization of the CPU I guess that the modern generation of quads would fare much better when compared to my old E8400 @ 4Ghz...

    And running 2560x1440 with a lot of texture mods wouldn't help either I guess?
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  2. Andrei23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    243 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Ok I now have the tesval.dll in my data/skse/plugins and to be honest I only felt a very mild improvement, might just be placebo, I can still see the fps dropping to as little as 21 in towns which is pretty much what I had before. So yeah...
  3. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    The texture mods linked to are great. And the distant terrain. I don't have hardly any framerate drop using those three. My lowest is 41 I think. But it stays pegged at 60 virtually everywhere.

    I haven't used very many other mods, I mostly just want it to look pretty.

    Open GPU-Z and click on sensors. It shows how much dedicated memory you are using, among other things.
    Crunching for Team TPU Folding for Team TPU
  4. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    Is there some other type of application you'd suggest to measure vram usage? GPU-Z doesn't report it correctly for crossfire (I made a thread about this in the GPU-Z forum) and apparently Afterburner's vram usage works only for Nvidia and not AMD?

    _______________________


    Also, what is the best 'male faces' mod you would suggest? With good textures and which makes them more handsome and alluring?

    Seems the modding community is solely concentrated on improving only the females' looks :shadedshu
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  5. horik

    horik

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    261 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    first time i checked the CPU usage with this game and saw a 30-40% usage,is this normal?
  6. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy

    Afterburner Vram monitoring works for me on AMD, shows the sum of the Crossfired cards though


    EDIT: For the male textures you should take a look at this WARNING NSFW
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2011
  7. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    When using SKSE do I have to load it via it's own EXE every time?


    By the way, that frame rate patch is AMAZING!

    Got a 42% improvement to my frame rate as I enter into Whiterun :D

    Going to run round Marketh like a mad man now, with no slow downs.


    YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH.
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  8. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    @Andrei23: the optimizatiion tweak is only more noticeable on cities specifically the slowest parts
  9. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I didn't know about the CF thing.

    I guess you could just look at percentage and guess approximately how much is being used.

    Theres GPU meter, its a windows gadget. It doesn't work with my 6770, (6770s seem to be in a forgotten crack; I've never seen one on a compatability chart) It should work with any other card though. \/ Its a download link
    http://download.microsoft.com/downl...-42FD-A793-A84FCFA0E299/GPU_Meter_V1.1.gadget
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU Folding for Team TPU
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    2 more days till this game is going to devour me!
  11. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    You will be utterly consumed. You'll spend every moment at home Skyrimming and modding, and every moment away from it wishing you were home.

    I infected my friend with it, he's totally addicted now.
    Crunching for Team TPU Folding for Team TPU
  12. Andrei23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    243 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I was referring to my min fps in cities ofc. I get 60 fps everywhere else pretty much all the time. It's just the odd bit in a city where I get random slow down. Who knows, this thing might even be working, but the impact it is making might be so minuscule that I don't even notice it doing anything. Still a great game
  13. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,741 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    How to Cope with Skyrim Addiction
    http://www.gamerevolution.com/manifesto/how-to-cope-with-skyrim-addiction-9753
    Nothing like the power of those Bulldozer's :D :toast: :laugh:
  14. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Crunching for Team TPU Folding for Team TPU
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,685 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,618
    Location:
    US
    Got a extra 5 fps though that mod.
  16. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Mind if I deviate momentarily?

    Does anyone know if two 6770s will work without a crossfire bridge? I have a second here, and I want to know if it will hurt anything to install them without a bridge. Because the idiot thing came without a bridge.

    I got it to play skyrim, so thats how it applies;)
    Crunching for Team TPU Folding for Team TPU
  17. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    on ultra at the top of white run ... 15 fps without the patch, 15 fps with it, I've must have done something wrong, I've copied all the DLL's to the correct places but I am not sure what to do with SRC folder and such I assume that is just code that can be thrown away... anyhow on my lappy seeing little difference.
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,490 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    In general, Skyrim + CrossFire works poorly. AMD states that a bridge is required, though you might get by without it.
  19. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    What are you launching the game with?
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    its working great for me with 12.1, sure they arent maxing out the cards, but when i'm not CPU limited i'm sitting happy at 60FPS.
  21. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    Same here, though it is limited to 2 GPUs (and probably this is a good thing) got an average of 80-90 fps outdoor, it's wonderful :toast:
  22. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    There's no performance increase without a bridge on my board. I'll pick one up in a couple days. I hate neweggs shipping around holidays...

    Deviation complete.
    Crunching for Team TPU Folding for Team TPU
  23. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    849 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Quick technical question:

    Do you guys believe Skyrim performs better with "hyper threading ON or off" ???

    (meaning having HT enabled or disabled via the BIOS)...
  24. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    it makes no difference

    IPC aka the performance of a core and overall clock speed are all that matter,

    Skyrim puts out around 4 threads give or take which tend to get lumped onto 2 cores

    so 4 core 8 thread 4core 4 thread it dosent matter,

    crank the clock speed its all you can do for any kind of performance improvement, HT on or Off makes no difference altho HT off might let you get a few hundred more mhz
  25. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    849 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    ok thx... I've tried the TESVAL.dll mod, and I don't get any improvment whatsoever in any areas in the game (up to now)

    I've noticed a tiny teeny little +1 FPS in whiterun... but then again...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page