1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    Oh sorry I didn't really see it, my fault then!
  2. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    Fault? lol no.. It's my fault :laugh: I tend to get 'attached' to my hardware a bit too much.

    Example... :eek:

    and here's one of my pc's with the 333Mhz CPU, 128MB RAM and a whopping 6GB of HDD :laugh:

    However, I'm not planning to upgrade now just because one game gives me fps in the mid-30's in Whiterun and Markarth and runs between 50-60 fps elsewhere while using hi-res texture mods...

    I'm really thankful for that LAA fix though. I didn't have the time to check whether I was using more than 2GB system ram or not, but since that patch the game didn't crash once.

    Previously I was forced to run the game vanilla because with texture mods it crashed immediately.
    And on vanilla it still crashed after 30-60 mins.

    And using the LAA of the modders made me lose the CF benefits of the latest AMD graphics driver.
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011
    radrok says thanks.
  3. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    Well... why throw anything if it still works, there is no reason and anyway you're not the only one who gets "sentimental" with hardware, I can't really sell my old PC parts because I wouldn't "feel good" about it.

    :toast:

    With the latest revision of user made LAA I lost too my CFX profile, couldn't get any scaling... had to run the game windowed to force CFX off.
  4. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,064 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    633
    I would expect that all that will change with the CS in Jan. Once they're able to pack things up into full blown "mods", a mod manager will be able to handle them all flawlessly, and easier to organize.
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    using latest version of the nexus manager ive had 0 issues with it applying mods im using,

    I dont have nearly as many as black panther but they all work as there suppose to.
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  6. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    I've had 0 issues with the mod manager so far as well.

    That's one reason I'm using the mod manager now.

    With the release of the CS and the much better mods, it'd be easier to just disable or delete all my current mods and install new ones then. Without the mod manager probably I'd have to re-download the entire data folder (~4GB vanilla).. and mine's currently 7GB!
  7. Kwod New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    548 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Australia
    Isn't steam going to be involved in the modding process somehow?
    Skyrim vanilla kicks FO3 vanilla's ass fwiw.
  8. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Agreed, I turned off my crossfire during 120fps areas which is in a blizzard/dungeons and my FPS went down to 80ish, so that definitely means it's working and scaling well. It's up to Bethesda to do their part in optimizing the GPU more instead of the CPU.
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,490 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    I've never gotten the mod manager to work. When I tick a mod to DL via the mod manager, I get a 404 message. Anyone halp?
  10. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Whhooooa....

    That's like literally the crap we have out in the back shed at work no doubt now infested with all sorts of spiders.
  11. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    After I downloaded the mod manager, I just click on 'Download With Manager' in the downloads sections of each mod at skyrimnexus. Then it starts downloading through the manager, not through your browser. And then you open the manager and activate the mod after its done dling.
    Crunching for Team TPU Folding for Team TPU
  12. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    More difficult and expensive to get parts on Malta too I'd imagine.
  13. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Installing skyrim on my ssd and using the mod manager to install things instead this time round :D
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    So i just got the Lush Trees mod and the Enhanced Shaders! OMG! I havent seen teh result of the Lush Trees because im in a dungeon, but wow the Enhanced Shaders with the dark dungeon and nights preset is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!! I highly recommend it to everyone. If you already have it. let me know what you think too.

    What happened the first time around? I hear mod manager doesn't work for some people, and then it does for others. I don't know, i just install the mods myself. And only the ones i really want, because the uninstall might be hell.
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2011
  15. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,497 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    930
    After trying 16384 indoors. Note the memory usage.
    [​IMG]
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,490 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    Running quite a few mods/tweaks/settings/etc. Widened the FOV a bunch for some of them.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  17. Kwod New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    548 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Australia
  18. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,497 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    930
    Not a peak, that's what it was the whole time. ishadowmap seems to be really intensive indoors.
  19. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,320 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    ishadowmap is about the only shadow setting that matters, the resolutions I can set to anything I want and they have no effect on looks or fps. But shadowmap and distance do.
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,490 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    Here's some more with the ENB shaders.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  21. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,320 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Your nights seem too bright, the Enhanced Shaders mod usually makes dark scenes even darker.
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I think its because he set the in game settings to a little brighter so we could actually see the pictures. :D
  23. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,823 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    I don;t suppose there is a list of "must get" mods around and info on system reqs? Loving the game, but the textures are really crap. It seems to run at decent fps so i'm gonna try the hi-res texture pack now. I was wondering what other mods were worth trying?
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    these are the 4 mods i have

    Realistic Water Textures
    Vurts Flora Overhaul
    Lush Trees
    Enhansed Shaders HDR version
    silkstone says thanks.
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,490 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    You're correct, I bumped up the brightness a bit so I can see.

    Here's a "fixed" pic.

    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page