1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    From my understanding, the Acceleration layer is just fixes, like you said that should have been done. But they wouldn't implement it like they did LAA since LAA isn't normally in games, if they made the changes like accel layer did, they would just say they had made some performance tweaks, rather than saying they implemented the Acceleration Layer.
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2011
  2. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,140 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    04578
    SSAO IS Ambient Occlusion

    SSAO = Screen Space Ambient Occlusion

    the reason it hits ATi harder is

    AO by itself being done on Nvidia's gpus are fast version

    SSAO is more complex looks better but do to the massive amount of things on screen and its being APPLIED TO EVERYTHING means it hits performance hard, its something that needs to be implemented into the game engine from the get go for best results
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,926 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,206
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    haha, okay thats what i thought. Game runs well for me after lowering my AA to 4x as well
  4. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    The performance hit isn't all that bad considering how much it's doing, the biggest problem comes from ENB it's self causing a 40% hit to performance even with no effects enabled at all.

    On ultra settings should be looking at 26 fps vs 30 fps in the slowest areas ( on my set up)

    But because of ENB hit + SSAO hit it goes all the way down to 15/16.

    In the process of finding out what's going on.
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,140 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    04578
    technically its better better in that youll notice it probably not, and AB im taking it means AO but its all good i got what he was saying lol

    performance hit because its unoptimized oh hell yes.

    put simply anything we have to add DLL wise and code wise to get better visuals is gonna impact performance no native support means your forcing it, add in cpu limitations from the shit base coding and you end up with a cluster fuck situation
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    It's actually only a 20% performance hit, which is pretty damn good for a 3rd party effort IMO.

    Hell it's pretty decent by any standard :laugh:

    Edit:
    Regarding ENB series
    The guy who makes it has said he's aware of the problem and working on a fix : ]
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  7. Kwod New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    548 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Australia
    Liking this game the more I play it, and whilst Crysis and others have higher res textures, this games overall GFX and environments are one of the best ever.
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,926 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,206
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    god this game runs 10x better with only running 4x AA instead of 8x. Its awesome this Enhanced Shader mod made the nights so amazing!

    set your ugridtoload=7 and uExterior Cell Buffer=64 in yoru skyrim ini file in your documents
    then go to your skyrimpref ini and set ftreeloaddistance=150000

    Then itll look EXTREMELY good!
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  9. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    You make me a sad Panther : [




    Anywhom! I wish I didn't get NMM, I can't stop downloading mods now D:
  10. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    If I want to pick one non-shadow ini tweak that made the biggest difference to me, it would be setting grass to 14k you can do that with the original ugrids and it vastly improves the look of the game. More trees are nice, but I don't notice it as much as completely barren repeating textured ground. I just wish the grass was overall more lush, the random patchyness bothers me still.
  11. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    You seen the Lush grass mod?

    When I saw it on nexus I thought " it's just bigger!"

    But it really makes the world come alive, yeah it's a bit OTT but I dunno, something cool about sprinting through knee high grass!

    Can get mods to make the blades thinner as well.


    The thinner grass is an extra on vurts flora overhaul mod.

    Pic!
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  12. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Yeah, I have Vurts mods, though I have played in a while, was waiting for LAA (now thats here), now waiting for CS (will play about a month aftr people have had time to mess with that). When I was playing he hadn't done that grass stuff yet, does that actually make the grass full, and not all patchy? Im play SWTOR, and it makes me sad to see nice full/non-patchy grass in an MMO, but not in a single player RPG.
  13. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,090 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
  14. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,565 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    Another CPU performance boost tool: SkyBoost.

    To be used instead of the TESVAL fix mentioned earlier. (I wonder what happens if I use them both... :rolleyes:)

    I'm planning to try it out since TESVAL only gave me ~2fps increase in performance.

    This one doesn't need SKSE, and if I understood well can be installed through Nexus Mod Manager.

    So far the site is 'too busy' and not working, as soon as I download this I'll report back with any improvements over vanilla and TESVAL.
  15. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    932
  16. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,090 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I like the results it brings. I can't run it though...

    http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/632986848165320526/DAD3A2942E983389F081DB85ED6522B124B51602/

    http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561198001620040/screenshot/632986848165322706?tab=public
  17. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,140 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    04578
    Skyboost works better for me 8192 shadow size works for both default primary and secondary shadows so my shadows now look pretty decent, and i maintain 30fps outside with Ugrid 9

    gpu also now runs at 100% and im using 1802mb of Vram.

    that's a full 10fps increase for me from the SKSE plugin TESVAL fix which was only 1fps better then vanilla,

    games officially playable at the settings I want to the point crossfire will probably scale properly now. sadly i pulled the other GPU out as its for sale so.. i dont feel like testing X Fire right now
  18. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    932
    Indoors or outdoors? I get 1.8 gbs outside with 16384 but inside adds about another 900 mbs.
  19. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,140 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    04578
    outside, im testing on the far side of the swamps looking toward Solitude for a good variation of lod shadows and textures,

    avg is 20fps in that region without skyboost, 21-22 with SKSE + plugin and 30-31 with Skyboost. running 8192 for all shadow settings primary secondary and overall. Havent tested inside yet. but as of right now with my settings I am FINALLY GPU LIMITED instead of CPU limited. meaning if i wasnt lazy and put the other 6950 in i would see higher frame rates. Im just to lazy.
  20. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,565 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    I was going to post the same thing. TESVAL gave me only 2fps increase, I was thinking I installed it incorrectly or something. Skyboost gave me a full 15fps increase overall.

    In fact, Skyboost ran so much better that I was even able to install the full version of Skyrim HD instead of the Lite version. Previously the full version made my fps drop in the teens. Now with the full version fps rarely goes beneath 35 even in Markarth, and I'm using the Full Version now plus a ton of other texture mods (blood, clothes, weapons, faces, landscape, water.... basically all the texture mods in nexus top list :D)

    Great mod!
    Ahhzz says thanks.
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,926 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,206
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    How do you install boost. lI extracted it and now its in a src folder with 3 things inside it. Id like to use this so i don't need SKSE
  22. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    932
    Skyboost gave me a 1-2 fps gain over tesval, but failed miserably on my indoor test. Esburn's sewer room drops to single digits if I stare into the corner with Skyboost. Maybe that's something that can be fixed.
  23. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    Anybody got any hints for me? Really wanna play again :toast:
  24. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    824 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    Have there been any information regarding a new patch? Since most severe bugs have been fixed, I assume they are going to take their time and make one big patch with bugfixes for quests, spawns, etc.
  25. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I just wish they would fix eyefinity. There are fixes and workarounds but I just wish they would officially support it already.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page