1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,555 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    If you think enhanced shaders sucks then you'll really hate ENB by itself. It's this horrible combination of dim and overly saturated. You need some sort of godly eyes to not get eye fatigue after a minute of that. I settled on enhanced shaders cause some how he tamed ENB a bit. Based on his config I'm slowly tweaking it to be even less eye murdering. I don't want to give it up becase it fixes crashes and save loading issues.
     
  2. julfen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    problem with skyrim

    hey everyone like you i also want to play this awesome game so i bought it and recently bought me a new computer but even when i play the game on medium setting it lags LIKE HELL!! my vendor told me i could play it with highest settings someone know what my problem is? below is my speq


    OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
    Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
    Other OS Description Not Available
    OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
    System Name SLAVE-ULFIS
    System Manufacturer MSI
    System Model MS-7586
    System Type x64-based PC
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 650 @ 3.20GHz, 3201 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
    BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. V1.9, 2010-09-02
    SMBIOS Version 2.6
    Windows Directory C:\Windows
    System Directory C:\Windows\system32
    Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
    Locale Sverige
    Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.1.7601.17514"
    User Name SLAVE-ulfis\SLAVE
    Time Zone W. Europe Standard Time
    Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4,00 GB
    Total Physical Memory 3,93 GB
    Available Physical Memory 2,39 GB
    Total Virtual Memory 7,86 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 6,22 GB
    Page File Space 3,93 GB
    Page File C:\pagefile.sys


    And i have this graphic card

    Name ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
    PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_68B8&SUBSYS_29911682&REV_00\4&21BAFCA2&0&0008
    Adapter Type ATI display adapter (0x68B8), Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. compatible
    Adapter Description ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
    Adapter RAM 1,00 GB (1*073*741*824 bytes)
    Installed Drivers aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,aticfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
    Driver Version 8.920.0.0
    INF File oem15.inf (ati2mtag_Evergreen section)
    Color Planes Not Available
    Color Table Entries 4294967296
    Resolution 1920 x 1080 x 60 hertz
    Bits/Pixel 32
    Memory Address 0xD0000000-0xDFFFFFFF
    Memory Address 0xFBDE0000-0xFBDFFFFF
    I/O Port 0x0000C000-0x0000CFFF
    IRQ Channel IRQ 4294967293
    I/O Port 0x000003B0-0x000003BB
    I/O Port 0x000003C0-0x000003DF
    Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF
    Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\atikmpag.sys (8.14.1.6243, 318,00 KB (325*632 bytes), 2011-11-10 03:12)

    does someone know whats going on? all help wouild be appreciated

    julfen
     
  3. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    774
    I finally updated to the 1.31, and used the Razr patch to eliminate Steam. Using the Skyboost, not sure if it was 2 or 3. Frames inside dungeon jumped to over 150, outside not much change, but I noticed my quicksave takes a second or so longer, and my load times are slowly increasing. Course, I have over 1000 saves... may need to clean them again :)
     
  4. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    774
    Right off, didn't see a 32bit or 64bit OS, might make a diff. The 5700 1Gb is a bit on the low side, but shouldn't be "lagging badly" .System Ram should be sufficient if you're fully patched to allow for LAA. Not familiar at all with the ATI numbering on drivers, but if I'm reading right, and the 5700 can use the newer drivers, you're a bit behind (someone correct me on this, please ;) ).

    Just first glance. One of the others running similar specs might have some insight.
     
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,808 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,070
    im playing on a 6770 at 1280*1024 maxed out, min 40, avg >60 fps.
     
  6. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    ok guys, i need to ask is the STEP eorth bothering with? Seems it would take 1/2 a day to do properly... cheers
     
  7. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,582 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    It's probably your Anti Aliasing (AA setting)

    My pc sets it to 8xAA and I can barely play (especially with my mods). I can't see any difference between 8xAA or no AA because my monitor has small pixels, it's 27" 2560x1440. Try setting your AA to zero and report back.
     
  8. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Resolutions popular in 2002 tend to allow weaker cards to run great frames. Not saying the 5770 (6770) is a bad card, but just that its no surprise you are getting that fps at that resolution.
     
    de.das.dude and theJesus say thanks.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,379 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683

    got any of those .dll crossfire 'fixes' ? delete them
     
  10. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    @julfen

    There numerous things which could cause your system to run a game poorly or at optimal performance.

    First update your drivers.
    Download the latest AMD drivers for your card, uninstall your old drivers and install the latest after reboot.

    Other things, like applications loading on startup made to run in the background & malware cold cause problems for the performance of your system.
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,379 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    or as was covered, he said he thought he could run the game maxed out, which his card cant.
     
  12. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Even though his rig can not play the game at highest settings as stated by the vendor, I read his above post which also said 'but even when I play the game on medium settings it still lags like hell' so there is still a problem with him playing the game.

    So I added in some advice which could hopefully let him play the game at medium without lagging.
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  13. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    Adjust the settings, I switch of bloom completely and switch off the brightening affect.

    The darkness how ever ( in enhanced shaders anyway, not other mods) is good for me though, having explored a few abandoned buildings in my time I can safely say things do actually get that dark :laugh:

    Just changes the way I play, instead of just bowling around dungeons like they're nothing I have to constantly cast a light spell or risk getting snuck up on XD

    Makes the game more real/threatening for me which is great because mostly the game is to easy.
     
  14. Kwod New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    548 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Australia
    Do the caves/dungeons respawn if you go in without a quest and don't retrieve the quest item?....I think this happened to me.
    GiantBomb awarded Skyrim GOTY btw.
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,379 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    if you get sent there again, new enemies spawn, yes.
     
    Kwod says thanks.
  16. allshine New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Considering a 5870 performs almost if not the same as a 6950, I am running mine on high settings with 4xAA and getting a solid 60 cap with minor dips. I've found a few tweaks online that may help you.
     
  17. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Has anyone tried if you have an Nvidia card turning off AF and AA in the In-Game settings, and then forcing it though the Nvidia Control Panel. I heard that that way AF and AA are done through the game settings is a bit old, and that if you do it through the control panel you'll get better FPS and it'll look better. I noticed that with turning AF on through the control panel that things looks better in the distance compared to AF done in the game settings.
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,379 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    same goes for ATI, CCC AF looks better than in game AF, and a few mod makers have commented on this.
     
  19. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,970 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    861
    Location:
    Ohio
    I think nvidia actually recommends doing it like that
     
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,379 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    it goes bad sometimes, because if the game devs actually optimise their AA code, they can tell it to ignore certain objects/shader effects, whereas forced control panel AA works on everything.

    can look better, but often performs much worse.
     
  21. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,970 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    861
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's what I noticed when I forced some settings in the CP, my game slowed to a crawl. It didn't really look any better to me anyways, but maybe I'm not as picky as others
     
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    this game is really starting to piss me off. I have come to my 2nd dragon and i cannot kill him no matter what i try. Ive tried fire and sword and hack away at him but he kills me with either fire or frost. Ive tried bow and arrow, but that barely does anything. Im tempted to go back to whiterun to get my companion(the girl you get) and having her help me
     
  23. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,970 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    861
    Location:
    Ohio
    having a companion to take all the hits for me helps a lot
     
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah, can the companions die??

    Im a level 9 redguard too

    Can shields deflect frost and fire?
     
  25. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Potions will help out a lot, if you have any.


    Yes they can :( You have to be careful at higher levels not to kill them by mistake

    I never use shields, but i know the ward spells work well against frost and fire
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page