1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Ok ummm I have a problem. Don't know why I do, but I do.

    Haven't played Skyrim in a few days due to holidays, work, other games....etc

    So I go to play and click "Continue" or "Load save" and the game just keeps loading and loading.

    Stuck on the loading screen with it telling me a new random fact about the game. Waited a good amount of time to see if it would finally load and still nothing.

    Haven't any errors/problems/issues with my pc, no crashes or anything. Just out of the blue the game decided to continue an endless loop of loading.

    Tried looking online for solutions from folks with similar issue, but can't find anything concrete.

    Any ideas guys? Much appreciated.
  2. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Possibly a corrupted save file.

    Try loading from older save files.
  3. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    any news on the Creation Kit? >8]
  4. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Not as of yet.
    Took a look about a couple of hours ago.

    Been doing some subtle texture editing of my own to whats already created to cater to my tastes.

    Nothing of major effort but I have plans for doing so more difficult things than just texture editing once this creation kit comes out.
  5. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    That really isn't all that much.
  6. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,892 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,182
    Just started reading this today, since I already had a lot of playing hours now.
  7. julfen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    oh sorry im a little bit noob when it comes to computers :eek:

    it is a HD 5770 and i looked around but it seems 8.9 is the newest version?
    anyhow i downloaded the newest driver

    (http://support.amd.com/us/psearch/P...Windows 7 - 64-Bit Edition&keywords=&items=20)

    it still says 8.9 but like i said im a little noob on the area

    greets julfen

    edit: the version of Catalyst Control Center Version is 11.12 2011.1109.2212.39826 maybe you mixed them up?
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359

    11.12 is the latest official, but most of us are running 12.1 preview.

    [​IMG]
  9. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don't know about y'all, but when I go into something like Device Manager, it doesn't report the version of the driver package, just the actual driver version. For example, I see 8.17.12.9036 instead of 290.36
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    yeah device manager is showing 12.1 preview as 8.93, which sounds like what he's looked at. go by the installer version, not device managers versions.
  11. julfen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    ok so youre saying that here below at my Driver Version it should say 11.12 (because thats what i installed i think) not 8.9?



    Name ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
    PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_68B8&SUBSYS_29911682&REV_00\4&21BAFCA2&0&0008
    Adapter Type ATI display adapter (0x68B8), Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. compatible
    Adapter Description ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
    Adapter RAM 1,00 GB (1*073*741*824 bytes)
    Installed Drivers aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,aticfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
    Driver Version 8.920.0.0
    INF File oem15.inf (ati2mtag_Evergreen section)
    Color Planes Not Available
    Color Table Entries 4294967296
    Resolution 1920 x 1080 x 60 hertz
    Bits/Pixel 32
    Memory Address 0xD0000000-0xDFFFFFFF
    Memory Address 0xFBDE0000-0xFBDFFFFF
    I/O Port 0x0000C000-0x0000CFFF
    IRQ Channel IRQ 4294967293
    I/O Port 0x000003B0-0x000003BB
    I/O Port 0x000003C0-0x000003DF
    Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF
    Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\atikmpag.sys (8.14.1.6243, 318,00 KB (325*632 bytes), 2011-11-10 03:12)
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359


    no, i'm saying you're reading the number from the wrong place. check catalyst control center (or it might be called AMD vision engine, your system depending)
  13. julfen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0


    aahh yes sorry i saw it now my bad.. downloading catalyst 12.1 now btw
    hopefully that will make my skyrim not lag so much but i think the main reason to why lags is because i have just below 2 g RAM when i want to play it:)
  14. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    kicked aluidin's ass.
    now tsun and Oldaviin is my bitch!
  15. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    849 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    WHY THE HECK DON'T U GUYS TRY NOT TO PUT SPOILERS IN THIS THREAD !%!%???

    Ur supposed to put em in a "spoiler" tag................................................................................
    ViperXTR, de.das.dude and theJesus say thanks.
  16. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Just finished the game. I had a VERY strong build level 54 nord single blade guy. I will wait a while I think before I have another run through. There was a lot there that I didn't want to do (theives guild for one) but I just got bored and couldn't be bothered so just sprinted through the main quest from "meet delphine in riverwood" to the final battle.


    On the whole game is fantastic, but I will never EVER be able to finish it. This is a game that will require way too much of my time to finish completely.


    Though when I do have another run through I will play an archer build, I enjoyed the bow and arrow!
  17. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    Just came across this, quite a weird funny glitch, not a spoiler:

    I finally started playing Skyrim on a friend's xbox 360. Right at the beginning, the dragon attacks, I escape into the tower, climb up the stairs and the dragon knocks over the wall. I panic, jump at the dragon like a spaz, and fall onto the ground. Disoriented, I try to figure out which way I'm supposed to head, but instead I fast-travel to Helgen, the city I was just in.
    Fast-travel puts me outside the town, and now I'm just wandering around, lost, looking for any town that will put up with me. Scary-dragon music won't stop playing wherever I go, and I don't know which way to another town.
    On the upside, this could be a very interesting self-imposed challenge.
    EDIT: Crap. With my hands bound I can't get back into Helgen to complete the first quest. Fuck me. EDIT2: I can't talk to wandering travellers. BECAUSE MY HANDS ARE BOUND. Also, when I get to the city of Falkreath my character just starts wobbling like he has to use the bathroom and refuses to move. At all. So unless I want to spend the entire game outside of cities, not talking to anybody, I guess I have to restart.
    I'm keeping the save though. I kind of like the idea of a feral Dragonborn, isolated from any support structures that could help him. Not from an empathetic perspective, but from a storytelling one.

    EDIT3: Hah! I just figured out how to get back into Helgen. Maybe now I'll play more of the game as a feral Dragonborn. For anybody interested, once you fast-travel to the entrance, circle around to the left. Climb over two snow-covered paths on the right side of the road, then hop over the rock ledge to the right of the second patch and slide down the other side towards the town. There will be a large white patch followed by a rock ledge jutting out. Climb on the rock ledge on the right. Drop from there onto a second ledge, then once you land on that ledge, JUMP into the collapsed shed forward and to the right of you. From there, (still oriented forward) exit to the right. Any other path (left rock ledge instead of right, for example) will trap you behind invisible walls, and if the game things you're falling, you won't be able to fast-travel to get out of it.

    If anybody's having trouble duplicating the results, you have to wait until the blonde guy says "can the legends be true?" before climbing up the stairs. I don't know why this would make a difference but it does. If I rush in too early, it will say "can't fast travel while enemies are around."

    Edit4: Huh. I had no problems entering Falkreath this time. Maybe because I slowly sauntered in instead of running in full-tilt? I have no idea.
    Not like it matters, I still can't touch anything.

    http://www.reddit.com/r/skyrim/comments/n3k03/escaped_the_first_town_on_my_own_hands_still/
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
    theJesus says thanks.
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    i am a two handed guy, i enchant my weapons for MOAR damage!
  19. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,892 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,182
    In its TVTropes page that's a Self-Imposed Challenge and there's a link to reddit there which links to the one you've just posted.
    Black Panther says thanks.
  20. Doomedspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    45 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Played this for 81 hours now. Level 54. 100 one-handed, 100 smithing; currently training Destruction (68) and Two-handed (71).

    Completed: Main Story, Companions, Dark Brotherhood, College of Winterhold and Civil war.

    Still in love with the game!
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    it only took you 81 hours to do all of that?
  22. Doomedspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    45 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    I hope thats sarcasm. :laugh:
  23. Andrei23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    243 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    why don't you try not to use double negatives in a sentence?
  24. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    849 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    English is my 2nd language...

    But I still think my intention was pretty obvious: Stop putting Spoilers in this thread, out of respect for those who haven't completed the game yet?

    Does that sound fair to you?

    And btw, you just used double negatives in the same sentence too... ridiculous
  25. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    I was going to post the same as nvidiaintelftw but definitely not sarcastically! :eek:

    I played 166 hours, am level 40, I don't have 100 in any skill - my highest is sneak and it's in the 80's, I did the Companions, Dark Brotherhood, College of Winterhold and Civil war, and am approximately one third through with the Main Questline!:laugh:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page