1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's OK, BP, I'm past 100 hours, level 35 and have hardly touched any of the major questlines. Only skill I have at 100 is smithing, just because I grinded the hell out of it.
  2. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Smithing, alteration, enchanting, and sneak are all very easy to get up to level 100.

    WARNING SPOILER IS A SPOILER

    Smithing - smith iron daggers, cheapest way and since smithing an iron dagger gives the same experience as smithing a deadric one.. may as well go for the cheapest.

    Enchanting - disenchant EVERYTHING you come across. Buy EVERY soul gem you find, and go hunting. Enchant a bunch of daggers that you just made. Fill the empty ones with souls from a soul trapped enchanted bow (also raises your archery as you go out hunting and killing every animal you come across)

    Alteration - Get some mad Magic regeneration gear (by enchanting a full armour set plus ring and necklace) then find the busiest place you can. Cast Detect Life over and over again.

    Sneak - Find some bandits in a cave, then hit "c" and sneak into a wall nearby. Make sure it's working then go tidy your room or something, just hit F5 every now and then to make sure you can go back in case something goes wrong

    Speech - There is a guy in Riften, an elf in a bar, he is very easy to persuade and every time you persuade succesfully your speech goes up. Repeat

    Armour - Doesn't matter which one, but go find some wolves and let them gnaw at you. Sure it takes forever (higher beasts will level up higher but will deal more damage), but you can also level up your restoration level pretty high
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
  3. Doomedspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    45 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    And Speech.

    there a little glitch in riften, that helps you get to 100, easy!
  4. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    see my edit lol
  5. Andrei23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    243 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I used double negatives to illustrate how awkward such constructions are for the reader. English is my second language as well. But I agree, spoilers are no fun.
  6. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,497 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    930
    Well I guess I'm done. Reached the limit. Save can barely load and even when it does load it freezes pretty soon after. ENB and the load a start save first are no longer effective. Maybe once a mod comes out to delete the junk in the save files I can play again.
  7. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,474 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    That sucks man, hope you get to enjoy the game more sometime. :)
  8. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Anyone know this one?

    Whats with that headless horsemen? I looked it up and it says to follow him. But when I came across him. He wasn't riding his horse but seemed like he was chasing it or they were both just goin the same way. Is he supposed to be on it? or is it a bug? Where does he pop up at so I can do that one? I came across him while doing the quest where you have to follow a guy all over the place and kill him in a city and plant a note on him.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    he holds no meaning at all.
    popswala says thanks.
  10. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    How big is your save file? You sure it's because of the junk in the saves? :(
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    i'm 75 hours in and my saves are only 12.2MB
  12. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I found this problem too.
    It's to do with the amount of save files.
    I can not remember how many save files it took before it started to freeze up.

    Right now, Load/Save does this for me again on occasion after starting a new game.
    My current save file folder size is 599mb.

    In my previous game my save files were over 140.
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    858MB. maybe i should delete some...
  14. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Just took a look at my old Skyrim save game folder.....

    I see why I was getting momentary freezes when loading/saving.
    It's 3.19Gb and at least 285 save files.
  15. repsol23

    repsol23

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    152 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I haven't had any strange issues like that. I have about 525+ saves in my folder and when I backed it up for a reinstall of windows the folder was like 3.5 gigs.

  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    i deleted a bunch of saves and had no real changes to load times or anything. also just realised that my save folder isnt on my SSD, which may be a good way to speed things up.
  17. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I wonder what's actually causing this then.
    I wonder if it's the ENB AntiFREEZE patch I'm using.

    As during those times the load/save freezes momentarily the hard drive appears to be releasing data?

    Like when you close a game which caches data to the HDD while you play, the HDD becomes very active and windows desktop may take a little time to appear properly.
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    thats when you ran out of ram, so windows is loading back stuff it dumped to the HDD.
  19. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    didnt have these issues as well, except for the save files sometimes lagging half a second for the picture of the savefile and info to appear. Closing the game is also instantaneous.
  20. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I shouldn't be running out of ram as I have 4GB albeit not using the full amount at the moment.
    Closing the game for me is fine, just loading and saving exhibits this kind of behavior on occasion.
  21. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    single channel 4GB? maybe windows superfetch is enabled/disabled? HDD not in AHCI mode/(NCQ enabled?) '__'
  22. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Who knows, this has happened since my older rig which is more or less half of what this one is.
    It's highly likely to be OS related in some way as the HDDs are fine and GPU is fine.

    Lol possibility running in single channel but I'm not.
    I'd make sure I'm not doing that.

    I might drop the save file size down to 20 as I know for sure it was loading and saving smoothly all the time then.
  23. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,497 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    930
    I was able to get a reprieve by coc'ing to qasmoke and then to riverwood. Still crashes trying to load a save sometimes.
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,567 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,024
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    well i found the mine thats north of Winterrun and ive been mining iron ore and making it into iron ignot and making stuff to increase my smithing. And then i got the spell book to change iron to silver then silver to godl to make golden jewelry to sell. Im saving up to buy a house so i can store all my dragon stuff
  25. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    hmm need to increase my smithing, so i can get to smith enchanted stuff.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page