1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    840 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Location:
    Latvia
    Texture/model mods definitely wont break, unless Bethesda changed textures/models.
     
  2. Andrei23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    243 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    All my 20 something mods seem to work just fine with this new beta patch. I also get 30% more minimum fps as opposed to pre-patch + skyboost. All in all awesome patch, I recommend to everyone out there to get this installed asap.
     
  3. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,678 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah there are some pretty insane comparison numbers floating around out there...
     
  4. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    I wonder if they fixed the custom keybinding bugs?
     
  5. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,338 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,376
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Yeah I been pretty impressed with the numbers I have seen. It's nice, but I still know the ability for the game to cripple is still there as long as those shadows are still CPU bound, and we are stuck with 2 core use.
     
  6. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    well if i had my GPUs still Kurgan, i could give you actually performance hit numbers based on various settings sadly a 6670 wont allow that. so gonna have to take everyones word for it for the time being.
     
  7. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Still, if Skyrim can be patched to use 2 cores at 100% instead of what, 40% that it currently uses, it will be leaps and bounds better. People are OC'ing like crazy because the game refuses to use cores completely. That really shouldn't be necessary.
     
  8. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,396 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    its useful for my dual core i3 2100 tho lol, i guess ill have to try and beta patch it later. Also somehow i didn't really mind how the NPCs look, prolly ill just add some high res NPC wardrobe to em.
     
  9. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    From what I have read some water enhancement mod broke with this BETA patch.

    Possibly, Bethesda optimized the water in some way which is why places like Whiterun and Markarth had fps drops from specific areas.
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,220 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,390
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I have the Realistic Water Texture mod and didnt notice it break at all.
     
  11. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,396 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    Just tried the Beta 1.4 patch in steam

    wtf

    it made a huge difference in framerate.

    markarth, palace entrance overlooking the city (one of the most intense parts of the game)
    unpatched, no SKyboost/TESVAL ~17-20FPS
    unpatched with SKyboost/TESVAL ~22-25FPS
    patched to 1.4 beta ~ 34-40FPS o_0
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  12. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I'm having a bit of a problem. Its CTD'ing almost everytime I fast travel or go into a building.
     
  13. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    What is the save file size of your game which is having the issue?

    If you have not treid the BETA patch, you may want to give it a go as it has resolved some peoples CTD problems.

    But since yuor game is CTD every time you fast travel to every location the chances are the game is far to corrupted to resolve.
     
  14. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,678 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    My present follower Jordis bugged out and just leaves my service suddenly and won't rejoin despite telling her to but I don't think it was the patch. Thank god I didn't have her loaded up with hundreds of pounds of loot at the time. She had better show up back at Proudspire Manor too, yo! :)
     
  15. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I've got about 33 hours into the game and just noticed that none of the achievments are unlocked on Steam. Am I missing something?
     
  16. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Are you playing through Steam or NMM? I'm not for sure if the fixed it, but last I checked if you don't start from the Skyrim Launcher achievements don't work.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    EDIT: also I'm on 1.4 Beta and gained about 10 avg FPS! So I upped my shadows.
     
  17. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,678 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    I thought there was also something about (certain?) .ini tweaks breaking achievements though I can't say I ran into this myself.
     
  18. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I start it from the desktop shortcut that Steam put on my system (it launches Steam if it is not running).
    Steam shows the hours played and the last date played, just no achievements.
    I did get an error awhile back that Steam could not sync with the cloud. Would that have anything to do with it?
    (I am running vanilla Skyrim. No tweaks or mods)
     
  19. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,678 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    Not sure though furthermore that likely was just a one-time sync issue unless you checked "don't show me this again" or whatever which iirc is an option.
     
  20. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    My saves are 9.8 mb.

    I haven't tried the 1.4 patch.

    I have a backup of my data folder, maybe I'll just delete it and reinstall all my mods. or maybe a mod is causing the problem.
     
  21. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,678 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    I didn't do anything except remove skyboost and all seems generally fine, for the record.
     
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,220 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,390
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    anyone else having issues downloading from skyrimnexus? One mod im trying to get wont download and this big window of like programming stuff comes up like theres errors in the website code.
     
  23. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Things were looking like this. I can see through walls and most of the ground. And a lot of NPCs are bright purple. So I deleted my entire data folder and replaced it with the backup I made. Running vanilla, all the glitches are gone. I think I'm not going to bother patching it.



    [​IMG]
     
  24. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,678 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah...same here. On a Mac at work too.

    I don't usuallly repost stuff form the subreddit but this is a hilariously awesome idea:

    Two Players, One Save: The Leapfrog Adventure

    (http://leapfrogadventure.tumblr.com/)
     
  25. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,681 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,040
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    The achievements are kind of screwy.

    I've completed the Stormcloaks missions, and gotten the end game one related to that, but I don't have the joining sides one.

    Honestly, I think it's Bethesda dropping the ball hard when it comes to integration with Steam. I know there are other achievements that I should not have, or at least should not have had at the time, that I was awarded.


    Got to love the "stable" games that are released.


    By the by, it's good to hear from you again. Hopefully you're feeling much better, and enjoying the world of Skyrim.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page