1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,599 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,937
    Y U no use Nexus Mod Manager?

    With it you can completely uninstall all the mods, and have the vanilla game, without having to download the whole game again and re-install it..
     
  2. Ray_Rogers2109

    Ray_Rogers2109 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    392 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California
    I found a face mod for Olivia Wilde. Used CHS-thing and used the weight slider to greatest.
    I'll do some screenshots soon but they'll be 1400x1050.
     
  3. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    I do have it but I wanted to try the steamworks dealio. Lesson learned.
     
  4. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    Can someone answer this question for me? If you go the the skyrim folder in my docs:

    \My Documents\My Games\Skyrim

    What do you see in it? The saves folder for sure but what else is in it besides the save folder?
     
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Mine has the saves folder, Renderinfo.txt, Skyrim.INI and SkyrimPrefs.ini
     
  6. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    I need to find a way to improve the Spec map, currently its still to bright not sure why its not working like its suppose to

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    If you were as bright as your mod you wouldn't have to post that ... :laugh: (j/k Crazy)

    Since I can't help Crazy with his problem, I would like to say that the Bethesda Creation Kit Subforum is very active. I just was there and the first 7 pages (30 per page) all have responses from today.
    It's more CK and scripting related than content creation, but there is some good stuff.
     
  8. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    well see turns out the games not using spec maps...


    in Fallout 3 / New Vegas the Spec map was a seperate texture.... this time around the spec map is included in the Alpha layer of the normal map........aka Bethesda has SERIOUSLY gone out of there way to fuck up textures this time around...
     
  9. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    Thanks. Cloud keeps reinstalling the LAA files into the folder for some reason. I'm gonna have to fix that tonight.
     
  10. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Better opportunity for texture compression with all in-game assets? I know they were working really hard on better compression so they could cram everything they needed to on a single DVD. (shrug)
     
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    shouldnt be using LAA anyway since the games already LAA by default now.....

    possibly, but i still have to call BS in terms of textures used etc, there was more content in Oblivion / fallout 3 / new vegas texture wise, and they used the same size then without the compression they are using now, there new compression algorithm actually causes more issues then it solves, I can understand it for console.. but 5gb on a 9gb disc still leaves 4gb left, better compression is one thing, but bundling the texture data in another file wont save that much in terms of space, because its still another layer of data thats their regardless.
     
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    It's either advantageous in the game, or they are avoiding some kind of IP licensing agreement.
    That's my guess anyway. :)
     
  13. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    I'm always above 30FPS usually around 60fps with my rig and I have lots of mods everything is up but shadows at medium.
     
  14. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    my guess is they cut corners, its already estabilished there DLC is crap, they fucked up the DLC textures on alot of stuff, screwing up alpha layers saving normal maps as diffuse *aka color map* forgetting to apply textures to proper items, then theres the mess thats the construction set, which they edited and changed the way nif files and importing works, this has caused no end of trouble for users trying to import brand new content, your forced again to piggy back on bethesda's current files or else it wont work, something that wasnt necessary in all there previous titles, Im glad they support modding and everything but they changed nothing in the game engine and changed the tools so they are a step backwards compared to previous versions.

    Considering ive spent around 30+ hours just trying to get the above weapon working properly compared to 10 mins it takes for previous games kinda shows how fucked the tools are lol
     
  15. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,678 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    Anyone found a non-ugly Dragon Armor retext?
     
  16. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,843 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
  17. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,678 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah, that is better...but I guess it's the Dragon Bone Armor design itself that I just plain hate. It's those shoulder guards (pads!) mainly I think. They look ridiculous.

    Definitely love all white armor in general though and need to find some more. Like the Kingsguard in ASOIAF.
     
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,218 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,388
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    hey so i jsut figured out how to transfer and trade stuff with my followers and so i want to get this armor set

    http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/downloads/file.php?id=2574

    and give it to lydia. do I justh ave to download it and then give it to her or do i have to craft it?
     
  19. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I like to have my followeres wearing ebony armor. So I never get them confused with anybody else and go shouting them off a cliff, but I suppose skimpy would be even more unique, lol
     
  20. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,218 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,388
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I dont have followers. I just want her to wear something while inside my Dovahkiin retreat house to be a bit more feminine
     
    Irony says thanks.
  21. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,396 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    still using my assassin character, followers will mostly just be a nuisance..
    ...
    ...
    [​IMG]

    oh wait, does Lydia count? she is stuck in my house tho...lazing around, i just leave her there ...

    [​IMG]
     
    Irony and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  22. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,678 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yes and no...this is a mod for Dragon Scale so yeah you'd craft a set of that and trade it into her inventory and if it's better than her present gear she will automatically equip it. Problem is Lydia only likes Heavy Armor as far as I could determine (higher Heavy Armor skill I guess) and Dragon Scale is Light. Sounds like you will need to keep looking for some Heavy you like then craft and give her a set of that to get whatever mod you choose enabled. If you find one for regular Steel that's what she's already wearing so mod should just work offhand...
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2012
  23. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,218 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,388
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    So she won't be able to wear this light amor?

    Im reading on skyrim wiki that she does wear light armor, just has to be higher level armor, and dragonscale is higher level
     
  24. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,976 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Ohio
    Just open it up in the CK and make it heavy armor.
     
  25. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,218 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,388
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    you can do that?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page