1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    So if you play Skyrim on two computers, and have a character on each with the same name who are different, what happens ? I can see people complaining already ... :rolleyes:
  2. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    There is surely another differentiating factor besides char name but does anyone with multiples actually give them all the same name? Sounds confusing to say nothing of unimaginative. :D
  3. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    "Supposedly"... the latest 50MB of saves will be uploaded..
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    The character can be completely different, but the save game filenames will be the same, no?

    Yes, it is unimaginative, but I'll bet 90% of the people who play Skyrim do not play really imagintively. For instance, how many people role play a character who has faults? (Won't do something because that is their personality, even though the game allows it).
  5. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I don't think any Steam Cloud game yet is mandatory. So if thats a fear anyone has, they most likely will still be able to do the old local method.

    Thats me :p I like my characters a certain way. I like my Warriors like Warriors, I don't use mamby pamby bows or magic, I come at you with a BFS. My Mages are Mages, I refuse to wear Plate Armor (without modding wearing Charmin is freaking difficult), I like my Mages to be Robed and use spells to protect themselves. My Rogue type is the only mix it up for me, possibly Ranged possibly Melee, maybe a mix.

    The Warrior aspect was fine in Skyrim, I played one with ease, somethings were a bit annoying like shouting to get dragons out of the sky. The Mage though was just aweful, I wanted to use Lightning only, but I guess Fire is what you are suppose to use on living things, but I refused to, I wanted to play a Raiden type character. But it was just horribly difficult. I had to resort to cheating and console command resurrecting Uthgerd numerous times for each dungeon I went in. But I still enjoyed the character, he was just so hard to play. I put the game down for a few months and when I return I hope to find magic tweaks that make cloth armor and lightning viable.
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,857 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,417
    Well I got Skyrim and I'm not into it yet after about 2 hours. How long until you feel involved?
  7. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Hmm idk do more of the main quest I guess?

    Yeah just explore more. Get a bow and do some hunting (also for leather to start making armor and leveling up smithing).
  8. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    You're not playing it right TMM. It's not a game to play, it's a world to explore and experience.
    Easo, Black Panther and Solaris17 say thanks.
  9. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    A lot more than that, once you are at Whiterun and then you start venturing out, you can start to get that feeling. If you just stick to the storyline and go point A to point B, you probably won't ever get that feeling. But if you see a sweet cave in the hills and decide to check those out along the way, you will find it literally might take you numerous real life days to even make it to your intended location for your quest.
  10. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah...I have tried to only discover-not enter-random places unless I know there's not a quest related that I haven't gotten yet (not that it breaks them or anything; plenty of other stuff to do and just how I choose to play).
  11. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I only explore random caves when Lydia says, "Hey it's a cave, I wonder what's inside?"
    :laugh:
    theJesus says thanks.
  12. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Sometimes it seems she says that all the time! Even sometimes when we just left a cave! :laugh:
  13. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Yeah, Lydia's not the sharpest knife in the drawer. :D

    I read somewhere that some of the dungeons have a "set level" based on when you first entered the dungeon (say you were level 5). If you get a quest later in that dungeon (say at level 15) the dungeon will not scale to your new level and will populate (or already did populate) based on your initial level.
    This could make doing some quests less than interesting as they could be far to easy.

    So ... in typical Old Uncle Kreij fashion I've gotten pretty proficient with modding and scripting and now have no idea what to mod. :(

    I deleted my player house mod because they are just too common.
    I thought about a giant mudcrab follower, but that's kind of useless (although it would be hysterical).
    I thought about a summon dragon(s) ring so you don't have to wait for a dragon to appear if you need a soul for a waiting shout. (also thought this might be cool if I set the spell cost really low so you could summon a bunch at a time and watch the chaos. lol )

    Any ideas?
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012
  14. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    You should import something similar from the game so you could estimate the size based on the already existing mesh :)
  15. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    well Kreij if you want you can help me build a giant fing castle, with my entire squad of soldiers, make it into a quest that happens after you beat the main quest, lulz.

    Its one of things i wanted to do was build up my own city, setup scripts to make it happen it happen over time, just like the Hlaalu compound in Morrowind.
  16. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Okay ... but since the interior of the BFC is most likely going to require a worldspace, you have to generate the heightmaps in PS or something.
    The navemeshes are going to be a bit screwed until they fix that in the CK.
    Other than that, I'm good. :laugh:
  17. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    nah no world map, shit, well just do it like they do in Open worlds, find a location clear it of enemy spawns, build a nice sexy castle, use small houses all cramped together, add a barracks with customized Guards etc.

    Black = Castle Walls
    Red = Castle Towers
    Green = Keep
    Yellow = Guards Tranning area
    light Purple = Shops (triangle near keep = blacksmith, 2 near main road = weapon and armor, two others are misc
    Light Blue = Tavern
    Grey = Roads
    Blue = Gate
    Dark Purple = Barracks
    Dark Green = Stables
    Orange = Houses
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    Darkleoco says thanks.
  18. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    By god I think I just had a Skygasm :eek:
  19. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    We can't do it in the "open" world. The interior of the castle (as a city) needs to be a worldspace or the rendering boundaries for cells are going to give us both anuerysms.

    What makes this castle (city) different than the plethora of other locations?
  20. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    868 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    234
    [​IMG]

    If anyone is interested I have found a REMARKABLE miracle cure for Micro Stutter in Skyrim.

    I have been suffering BADLY with frame glitching & hitching & just generally difficult to explain, grainy movement and frame rates.

    It was not So bad out doors, where i mostly average the Vsync limit of 60FPS, but whenever I went INSIDE a cave or anything it got so bad it would actually make me feel physically sick after a couple of minutes.

    My eyes aren't exactly 100% and the persistent random jitter causes so much strain it was actually physically painful.

    I tried all sorts of remedies , and not Vsync'ing but then all the motion tears like crazy and looks terrible for a different reason.

    I even tried limiting my gfx to lesser frame rates like 40fps, to see if it could ease the load on the card and although it did help a little it now didn't gel with the monitors refresh rate and caused a different kind of unpleasantness.

    Then I got to thinking, why so much worse INSIDE a cave or castle or whatever... surely there's LESS work to do in there and the GFX should be handling even better?

    So I got to doing some improvised analysis and I realized that that's EXACTLY what the problem is.

    The GFX are running TOO fast and if you monitor the ABSOLUTE frame rate and not a per second average - it was actually pushing through almost 64 frames per second even though the 60 fps limit "seemed" to be running.

    The jitter and stutter was NOT my card struggling to keep up - it was uncontrolled OVER performance.The card is running so fast extra frames are breaking through the limiter.

    So I did something that seemed stupid - I used BandiCam to limit my frame rate to 60 FPS even though that's exactly what the Vsync should be doing anyway, and that's exactly what frame rate was showing in the first place.

    BAM! instantly my GFX ran liquid smooth, and have continued to run perfectly ever since - now the only stagger I get is if I enter a high detail scene scene that drops my rate down a bit but that's perfectly acceptable and hardly ever happens!

    SO there it is ppl - If you have Micro stutter that you just cant address - try using BandiCam to limit your FPS to 60 - it works fantastically well for me.

    (IF you know of anyone who has had this trouble - do them a favor and suggest this? I know somebody was talking about this a hundred pages, or so, ago - but I cant find the post - this thread has gotten huge)

    EDIT : In further testing my GFX card also runs quieter, and Colder with BandiCam limiting to 60. It's insane - even tho the average frame rate has apparently remained the same, now that i have the external frame limit it is not only running better but also no longer sounds like a hair-dryer lives in my computer.
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    it would be the player characters if we can script quests to build it up over time, it would make sense,

    basically... as the Dragonborn we help every tom dick and larry in the world we save the world kill dragons, we restore a nearly destroyed faction, we become Thane in all courts but at the end of the day, we are still nobodies in game, no power no prestige, i would think after reuniting skyrim / forcing a Peace, stopping the dragon rampage and 50 thousand other things, that i would be a Jarl at some point lulz, own castle + own troops = awesome

    this mod will probably proce most useful

    http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/downloads/file.php?id=8058
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012
  22. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Going to give this one a try and see what happens. What are your system specs btw?

    Edit: This fixed the same issue for me and something random I just noticed is that I am hitting 60 fps with my cards at stock clocks lol.
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012
  23. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Thats exactly what the game lacks. You're the freaking Dovahkiin for crying out loud, and you get a small house, with one follower. You should be able to become an emporor or something, maybe usurp the throne or something.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    No ... you're a pawn in the big picture. It should be HARDER post story, not easier.
  25. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I know thats how it is, but I think it would be cool if you could take over a town. Even if you couldn't become king or emporor, it would be cool if there was provision to capture a town and become Jarl.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page