1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,536 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    You know when you kill a dude and the cam goes all sloooow moooo to show you
     
  2. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    "Death animations"? Anyway don't think you can turn off without modding.
     
  3. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    If I turn shadows up to ultra it fixes that for me.

    I'm having a little bit of a problem though. If I put my computer to sleep, when it wakes up all games run at crap framerates. Like 10-15 from 60. I cant figure out whats causing it. And it just stated happening a couple days ago. Havent installed anything new except Assassins creed 2, that shouldn't cause a problem though...

    Does anyone know what the dealio is?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    some random doodle D:
    [​IMG]
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,975 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,227
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    theJesus says thanks.
  6. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    hmm, house mods, might try it sooner when my character tries to "settle down" lol

    anyway, continued the doodle:
    [​IMG]
     
    Asylum and theJesus say thanks.
  7. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    This happend to me once. I fixed it by restarting my PC. Re-booting the PC is like medicine :D
     
  8. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,172 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    702
    Riverside's not bad, looked at it earlier. Honestly, I doubt I'll move out of the Dovakhin Hideout any time soon :).
     
  9. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    905 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
    Has anyone had problems with the "FXAA post processing injector" mod since the latest skyrim patch for pc ???

    I can't start the game anymore... it says "d3dx9.dll" missing... or something like that...

    PLS help
     
  10. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I'm using RCRN which is just a FXAA with a lot more tacked on and it's working just fine.
     
  11. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    905 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
    thx for the tip, I've managed to get fxaa mod to work in the end...

    I've got another problem that showed up since last patch (v. 1.526)... My micro-stutter is back... I had gotten rid of it in the past, and now the games stutters like a lot...

    anyone else using AMD 6950 cards have the same problem since last patch ?????

    Another question: Might it have to do with the fact that I don't have "skyboost" anymore? I've read that there are no compatible versions of skyboost for the current version of skyrim (1.526)...

    I think I'm gonna roll back to version 1.3 of skyrim, I didn't have all those problems then...

    lol I just discovered the "dance" mod for skyrim... awesome!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 8, 2012
  12. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Nice. I draw a little too, no skyrim yet though

    Yeah, that fixes it but I was wondering if there was a permanent fix. Currently, if I ever put it to sleep after that until I restart games are painfully slow.

    I tried riverside too, But i'm just stuck on the hideout. It has everything I need and so convenient from any house. Actually, I currently have like 5-6 mod houses and castles, but I still like the hideout better.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    And here is the problem with modding...

    [​IMG]
     
  14. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    all i see these past few weeks are just making the ladies look more slutty '__'
     
  15. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,142 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    04578
    most of the modders that made true fantastic content quit after Oblivion,

    the tools are getting more and more restrictive and the vocal minority that want big tits and shitty textures shit on modders doing actual amazing work, so you end up with true talent that just quits and goes back to working on personal projects lol. Its been that way since Oblivion.
     
  16. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
  17. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    905 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
    *** bump *** for my last question:

    I still need to know if there's a way to revert my skyrim back to version 1.4.21... so I can use skyboost again... I see a clear difference in Frames with version 1.5.26 (w/o skyboost) vs 1.4.21 with skyboost
     
  18. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Too many dorm dudebros making "mods" these days apparently.
     
  19. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    lolz. My data folder's around 10 gigs with like 35 plugins. And only one girly mod.


    ______________________________


    I was looking through my system information on steam, and saw this:
    [​IMG]

    Thought that was funny.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    You may want to change the battery on your mobo, Irony. :D
     
  21. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Is that what it is? Lol. I think the longest I've ever left it off was two days though. Is that enough to kill a battery?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    If you have system restore points turned on, go to your .../steamapps/common/skyrim folder and right click on the TESV.ex and choose restore previous versions You should get a list of previous version stored in system restore. If it's off, I don't know exactly how to go about it as Steam is going to update to the latest even if you relead version 1.0

    Not sure. lol Is your system clock right?
    No, turning your computer off will not kill he battery. It would be useless if it did. :D
    Typical battery life is bout 3 years. Sometimes they last a lot longer.
     
  23. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah the CMOS battery (regular 3v "hearing aid battery") does not receive a charge from the PC at all and will simply die over time. It retains bios settings and date and time and such when the PC is powered off.

    Yeah the Macs at work reset to that date too sometimes...why 1969 I wonder?
     
  24. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Unix was realased on January 1st, 1970 and uses an epoch date format in which this is considered day 1. If the BIOS resets the date stamp to zero (and uses an epoch format) it will show up as Dec 31, 1969.
     
  25. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,172 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    702
    any day you can learn something is a good day ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page