1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. Kwod New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    548 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Australia
    How much GPU is required to run Skyrim2k?
     
  2. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    My 2gb 670 is always maxes out on vram in skyrim. If the only texture mod I had was Skyrimhd 2k I could probably stay close to 60fps tho. I have a lot of texture mods so I'm usually around 40fps most places. Sometimes spikes to 60 and drops as low as 20 or less in big city overlooks
     
    Kwod says thanks.
  3. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,512 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    Keep in mind I'm running a ton of mods(textures, more grass, better particle effects and lighting, upped polygonal count on almost everything, post processing, etc), but I stay at a steady 60fps most of the time and average 4.5GB of my 6GB VRAM used, at least according to GPUZ anyway. I say according to GPUZ because I was under the impression that crossfire still only uses the VRAM from the primary card. I could be wrong though.
     
    Kwod says thanks.
  4. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    Same boat as me with my mods and setup I avg 30-35fps minimum is 28 however I have maxed my vram out to the point that any cell loading causes mass stutter lol gotta wait for the next gen gpus with more vram before i go back to skyrim. Its why I told Blackpanther to buy a 670 4gb when she upgraded lol i should have followed my own advice but I cheaped out getting the 670 FTW for $350
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
  5. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,334 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    871
    From what I'd been reading, 2GB XFire 6950 is still a solid tie, or give-or-take, with a 670. Is this still the case?
     
    Champ says thanks.
    5 Million points folded for TPU
  6. Kwod New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    548 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Australia
    in XF, 2x3gig=3gig total Vram, same with SLI.
     
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  7. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,512 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    That's what I thought. Why does GPUz show 6g available in the sensor tab?
     
  8. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,677 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    Right but I think it does physically use RAM on both it's just the way it splits the rendering of frames or whatever it is makes it so it cannot be pooled as one larger capacity.
     
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  9. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Lol still can't believe haven't played dragon born yet! And probably won't any time soon with my Starcraft II HOTS arriving in the mail today.
     
  10. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I dont have any DLC still. Waiting for another deal. The last couple I've had no money lol
     
  11. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,677 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    Huh, never noticed and generally a good question even though you def don't have 6GB available to apps.

    Again, it's a limitation due to how multi-GPU rendering actually works but I'm sure that AMD and NV like that just fine as it would negatively affect high-end single card sales were it the other way around. If I can pool VRAM suddenly multi-gpu with low-end cards is much more attractive and a way better "deal".
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2013
  12. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,337 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,376
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Well since this was kind of a topic before, here's a mod that actually makes it happen.

    Tropical Skyrim

    Falkreath Before
    [​IMG]
    Falkreath After
    [​IMG]

    Marsh Before
    [​IMG]
    Marsh After
    [​IMG]

    The mod looks pretty awesome, think I'm going to dl it and start playing again.
     
    Black Panther says thanks.
  13. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    ^^ Looks like Skyrim Jungle Edition.

    My Skyrim is crashing randomly still.
    Sometimes 15min sometimes never and also has a stutter when background details popup.
     
    Black Panther says thanks.
  14. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    if pushing alot of mods its 9/10 vram limitation or HDD holding things up, moving from HDD to SSD removed some of my stutter but not all, I hit my vram wall so hard i take to 1fps for a solid second every time cells load lol.

    These days im waiting for Bethesda to finish their DLC and patch the game up after which I will go back to setting up my mods and getting things running properly.
     
  15. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I've been contemplating moving Skyrim to my SSD.
    It's just strange that the stutter and crash to desktop has only started recently.
    It happened before 1.9 beta.
    More near the end of me using the 1.8 official patch.

    Only thing is how would I move skyrim to the SSD while the rest of my steam files are in my games HDD.
     
  16. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    go to your steam folder, copy the entire skyrim folder to a different location
    then uninstall skyrim delete the original steam folder

    load up steam choose to download and install skyrim, to the SSD (steam offers the option to install to new locations now)

    after download is finished drag drop your old skyrim folder and overwrite the new one. bam all mods etc are back and working fine. Its what i did.
     
    Widjaja says thanks.
  17. Kwod New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    548 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Australia
    How do I tell if Skyrim 2k was successfully installed?
    I extracted it to the data folder....
     
  18. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Look at stuff in 1st person and compare to his screenshots on the mod page and see if its as sharp. Like maybe the rugs in dragonsreach
     
    Kwod says thanks.
  19. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,678 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    696
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Does anyone know if Bethesda is done patching Skyrim? I'd like to get my mods and SKSE etc in good working order. I thought Dragonborn was final DLC.....If it is then patches should be finished? I seem to recall no more patches in Oblivion after the last DLC.
     
  20. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    For now they have.
    I personally expect to see at least another official patch released this year.
    With the latest patch a couple of immersion bugs appeared.

    More prominent lipsync issues and npcs using a bench/chair sitting animation while sitting on or I should say now in a bar stool.
     
  21. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,512 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    Just use Skyrim Unplugged if you're worried about your mods not working due to an upcoming patch.
     
  22. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,678 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    696
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Has it been updated? I tried a couple weeks ago, and discovered that it is broken, and author is still working on it. Something in the current patch structure fundamentally changed something in the engine.
     
  23. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,512 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    I've been using it for a while now(about two months) and Skyrim hasn't updated since, so yeah, AFAIK, it's working.

    EDIT: I suppose it's worth mentioning I don't have any DLC(aside from the official HD Texture pack). That may change things a bit.
     
  24. ChevyOwner

    ChevyOwner

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    67 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    @1Kurgan1...you are making me wish i was not having PSU issues so I can get back to playing Skyrim W/surrond. It looks awesome at 5760x1080(6030x1080 bezel corrected).
    also wishing my new PSU would get here 5 mins after i ordered it. :laugh:
     
  25. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well I finally bought the game. Any Tips on what I should do? I am a big Fallout guy and this is my first time stepping into the Oblivion world.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page