1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Sheesh I started the install about a half hour ago and it's still doing stuff with Steam.
    Hasn't even looked at the DVD yet. :/
     
  2. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,669 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah Shib it's designed so you can do whatever whenever and Skyrim even has some new ways of keeping things fresh and unpredictable quest-wise that the others didn't so...

    And as a general tip it's never a bad idea to do random things that may not seem to have a point-such as picking every lock you can regardless of what's inside the locked item (if anything) because each successful pick ups your lockpick skill.
     
  3. Ray_Rogers2109

    Ray_Rogers2109 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    392 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California
    I have in my head the Monty Python and the Holy Grail bit, "Run away! Run away!"
    Anyone elses sound volume for SKYRIM kinda low?
     
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Morrowind have a goofy way of handling the NPC that were part of the main quest. You could kill them and then a little popup would appear that told you the main quest had been severed and that the continue would doom the world (or something like that), and then allow you to go back to your last save so you didn't ruin the main quest. lol
     
  5. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,669 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah I am seeing lots of comments about low sound.
     
  6. Ray_Rogers2109

    Ray_Rogers2109 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    392 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California
    I remember this too.
     
  7. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Anyone have any idea how much data this game pulls from Steam before it accesses the DVD?
    It's been an hour now.
     
  8. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,043 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I had to change my audio settings to 24bit 44100hz, otherwise at the main menu it always crashed to desktop; haven't had a crash since. Ive had textures going transparent and even disappearing but that could be my system although ive yet to see it in another game.

    Not always is it the users fault, for example in BF3 the texture clipping is not a user problem.

    Kreij my disk didnt take that long to install, weird.

    Havnt had any performance issues the game runs fine for me, no slowdown.
     
  9. blacktruckryder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    326 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Morrow, Oh
    Just got home with Skyrim!!! Installing now.
     
  10. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,669 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Crossfire appears to be working for me tho only test so far is Afterburner OSD. 65-79% on both usually at the same value.
     
  11. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,102 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    RAGEEEEEEEE just had my video card lock up, forgot to turn up the fan.. damn manual fan controller.. wahh wonder where my autosave is
     
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Well it appears to have loaded the DVD contents (I was off eating dinner) but now it's doing an update from Steam. Sigh. This will no doubt take all night with my crap connection.
     
  13. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    steam unlocked it in our region way too late lol, we get the game cheap here anyway (35 USD) and has some random free mug when doing preorder lol
    Game runs decent on my entry level PC customized ultra (and i only use FXAA and at 1280 x 1024 native)
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,764 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Best Buy sent out my copy yesterday to arrive in the mail, but today was a holiday, and they also don't mail deliver on the weekend. So I am stuck until next week Monday :(
    I hope the controls are better than Oblivion was. Oblivion was not bad, but not great.

    Hope they release a patch of some sort to resolve the sound issue.
     
  15. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,102 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    I believe the DVD contents r the preload, so u should have half a gb plus a 20mb patch to go.
     
  16. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,972 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Ohio
    How did you begin installation? I first tried putting the disc in, ignoring the autoplay, and then entering the key into Steam. That made it try to download from the server, so I stopped it and deleted all local content. Then I clicked install on the autoplay and it worked properly that time. Took about 15 minutes.
    No, the DVD should be the full game; I only had to download the small patch.
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,395 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,696
    it still took me over 2 hours to get that small patch, thanks to steam not being all that fast.
     
  18. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,972 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Ohio
    Took me 2 seconds :p
     
  19. yami2ki

    yami2ki

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Meh it took a while to install for me too. 20 mins to install from the disk and then I had to download a like 150mb patch which took another 15 min because Steam seems to be laggy today...

    Also, glad to see I'm not the only one having a heard time hearing this game... I turned my speakers up max and it's still pretty low... :banghead:


    Other than that, REALLY enjoying it so far. Bethesda really made a great improvement since Oblivion, I'm impressed.
     
  20. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    in my case install from the disc normally, then after a while it updates a 200mb patch like thing. Patch took a while in my region since it was hammered a lot during the initial launch

    BTW, some steam stats lol
    http://store.steampowered.com/stats/
     
  21. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,972 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Ohio
  22. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,669 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Somehow missed this earlier; I didn't think the Mipmap setting was used anymore. I don't have it in my 11.10s and haven't seen it for awhile though what is seen in CCC or not is controlled by registry settings. Need to look into this further.
     
    tigger says thanks.
  23. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,102 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    I keep getting bored in town and killing people then being abused by the guards.. This game has more courier missions then wow ><
     
  24. Divide Overflow

    Divide Overflow

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    197 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Is there an in-game FPS meter and if so, how do you activate it?

    I've been playing it for about six hours straight now. No crashes and everything seems to be running fairly smoothly on Ultra but I do seem to get a bit of a slowdown now and then.
     
  25. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,669 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Crossfire is working here. I didn't have to do anything special. Tested both with Afterburner OSD and GPU-Z. 11.10 P3 + CAP4

    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page