1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm not too upset since it was only a hobby and I only paid $200 for it, instead of the $1000 that it debuted at. :laugh: Still worth it just as a standalone mixer and the high quality pre-amps if I ever decide to buy a cheap interface with ADAT to link it to.
     
  2. Prime

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    74 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Theres literally SO much to do in this game its insane. I'm level 30 and I havent gone to the 5th 5art in the main story. I love exploring he game so for me this is easily a 3-400 hour game <3 Elder Scrolls
     
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,204 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    I had a question

    I took the way of the storm cloaks. Iv taken the elder scroll to the top of the mountain and killed alduin I then went to that crazy alt world and killed alduin for good. I then took over all the cities and tows for the storm cloaks. They have nothing else to give me. They told me to go roam the world. but now what? Am I done the main quest lines? Im just confused because iirc oblivion and morrowind had credits.
     
  4. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    lol me too, I've hardly progressed in any of the questlines and I think I just hit 28 or 29. I head out for one place and end up finding a bunch of other things on the way, then having to go back to town to unload my junk :laugh:

    I just wish I could find something like the talking mudcrab to help me get rid of stuff quicker.
     
  5. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Same here as well.
    Wondered the Skyrim expanse at first too.
    Came across some quest items which I could not get rid of unless I had found them after acquiring the quest.
    I personally do this to up skill myself so I do not struggle much in the main quest.
    But the thing is, it can also break the main quest at this present time with the bugs Skyrim has.
    I do not recall Oblivion being this bad with quest breaks but then I bought the game quite a while after release.

    Have not come across a talking mudcrab, but I have very briefly come across a
    headless horseman ghost
    But never had the chance to talk to it as I was on my way to taking over another fort.
     
  6. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Maybe the next ES will take place in Utah...
     
  7. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,931 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,209
    Well if you're the chieftain of an Orc stronghold you can have multiple wives.
     
  8. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    Barenziah to Ria Silmane: "Help, we need the aid of your unknown champion again!"
    Ria: "The emperor's been banished to Oblivion again?"
    Barenziah: "Worse! Utah!"
     
    Ray_Rogers2109 says thanks.
  9. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,575 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,924
    I'm a bit confused.

    I did all the Companions' Quests i.e. these:

    Take Up Arms: Prove you are worthy to join the Companions.
    Proving Honor: Claim a Fragment of Wuuthrad from Dustman's Cairn.
    The Silver Hand: Join the ranks of The Circle and clear Gallows Rock of werewolf hunters.
    Blood's Honor: Claim the head of a Glenmoril Witch for Kodlak Whitemane.
    Purity of Revenge: Retrieve the Fragments of Wuuthrad and wipe out the Silver Hand
    Glory of the Dead: Cure Kodlak's spirit and prove yourself as a true Companion.

    But in Steam my achievements of 'Take up Arms', 'Blood Oath' and 'Glory of the Dead' are still unlocked. :confused:

    Same for the College of Winterhold. I did all these quests:

    First Lessons: Join the College of Winterhold
    Under Saarthal: Uncover the mysteries beneath this ancient ruin.
    Hitting the Books: Find the books needed to identify the artifact found in Saarthal.
    Good Intentions: Find and consult the Augur of Dunlain.
    Revealing the Unseen: Use the Oculory of Mzulft to divine the location of Magnus' staff.
    Containment: Deal with the aftermath of the Eye's powersurge.
    The Staff of Magnus: Retrieve the Staff of Magnus to battle the Eye.
    The Eye of Magnus: Reclaim the College and contain the Eye.
    Aftershock: Put an end to the rapture caused by the Eye of Magnus

    However the only achievement I got was 'The Eye of Magnus'. Whereas 'Gatekeeper' and 'Revealing the Unseen' are still locked. :confused:

    Lol it's not possible to do 'The Eye of Magnus' without first doing the other two... :shadedshu
     
  10. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    This reminds me.
    Leaders are able to dub their champions different names.

    We should be able to dub our lackeys names too.

    I had Ria from the companions guild for a while as a travel companion.
    The most amazing thing she did was glitch out and slide around on her back yet still be able to follow me around.
     
  11. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I have the same problem with a fair few early on quests.
    I assumed that's due to me playing offline.
     
  12. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,931 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,209
    I don't really care about those "achievements" anyway. What's wrong with not having them show up? Having those achievements neither enrich the gaming experience nor deprive one of the satisfaction you can get from playing.
     
    Ray_Rogers2109 and Ahhzz say thanks.
  13. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I should have added.....

    I believe these steam 'achievements' are a ploy to make people want to be logged on to steam instead of use some crack to avoid the need to log on to steam to play a game regardless single player or multi-player.
     
  14. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,172 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    702

    Killer. Looking forward to what can be done with that with a real Mod Kit instead of the hacking everyone is doing. I'll have to snag that for my second play through...
     
  15. Prime

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    74 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    RIGHT?! I'll be walking along to a quest and ill see something on my compass and I say "Ooo, let me just go discover that so i can come back later. Hmmm, well I should probably go in there since I'm already here" 45 min later "F, need to go back to town"

    lol every time!
     
    Ahhzz says thanks.
  16. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,575 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,924
    Thing is I never played offline..:ohwell:
     
  17. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, but your game was always all jacked up from all the different EXEs and LAA fixes, etc. :p

    If you really want those achievements, I believe you could use the console to set those quests as active and then set them back to being completed and that might trigger the achievements. Take a look around UESP for the proper commands and RefIDs
     
  18. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,172 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    702
    Haven't seen the horseman yet, but did come across Barbas and Clavicus Vile again ;)
     
  19. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,575 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,924
    So you completed just the two questlines?!?

    Go and roam the world! :p
     
  20. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,204 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    no iv sunk 50 hours or more. iv done all sorts of side quests. but i needed to clear my map to many waypoints was confusing me. What im making sure of is that I didnt miss something. If I ndont know what it is now then when im done my side quests ill think im done the game savy?
     
  21. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    I there a mod / console command to slow down in game time?
     
  22. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    Have you used the game console at any point during the quests?

    From what i understand, using the game console, even just to 'tcl' yourself from being stuck to the scenery, will break steam achievement's until you reboot the game

    I think this was the same for new vegas too
     
  23. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I don't know if that's entirely true with skyrim, I've used the console to take out and add perks and I am still able to get achievements. I've also tested this extensively by giving myself 100,000gold to see if I get the "Golden Touch" achievement which worked... but now I've spoiled the achievement for myself. :cry: So no I don't believe using the console deactivates your achievements.


    BUT! The only reason I can think of without troubleshooting would be steam is not recognizing the exe while you're playing but that means your avatar on steam Friends list shouldn't be in-game so you'd be either to tell either way. Or could be playing offline or randomly disconnect w/e.
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,215 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,518
    ah shit, i use it all the time.


    i'm a lazy sod, so i use TIM so i dont die pretty much every game.
     
  25. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    This would make sense as to why I have some missing, more than being offline.
    I have used some console commands 'showracemenu' and 'tfc'.
    I would say when i used 'showracemenu' early on, it stopped me from getting certain steam achievements as the achievements I don't have were around the time I used the command.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page