1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,583 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    Lol here he is for a glimpse:

    [​IMG]

    Him getting caught in the door is one of the glitches I love. I don't know how I could have defeated him otherwise...
     
  2. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,953 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,215
    I am yet to encounter another Dragon Priest besides the one you would eventually encounter if you do the main questline.
     
  3. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    You know what, this game has actually helped me decide that I'm not upgrading my rig in the new year straight away. I think I'll get a decent 1080p monitor instead first.

    Performance is very smooth with Ultra everything apart from shadows(High), 16xAF 2xAA. If I go to 1080p I figure I can negate the hit by turning off AA right? I'm using the 11.11c drivers and very minimal stutter if any. This game is going to keep me engrossed for hours and hours.

    Any decent 1080p monitor recommendations would be much appreciated :)
     
  4. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    You might change your mind if you do some ini tweaks and get some texture packs, more power in general and more vram will help a lot. If you don't ever plan on modding, you should be set, but if texture packs and increase shadow distance sounds good to you, I would suggest a beefier card.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  5. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Well to me, at the minute, it looks and plays great so I want to have a few run throughs first with different characters....Then, when I do upgrade to a beast, I can hopefully mod the sheet out of it.:D :rockout:

    So...looks like I'm going to start a monitor recommendation thread :)
     
  6. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    I have found three and they are pretty fun to kill :) though I hated the one for the Staff from the Winterhold series.
     
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,807 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Am I the only one who thinks the mouse is terribly slow, even when maxed out?
     
  8. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,043 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    HAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!! BEST FUCKING SKYRIM VIDEO YET.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  9. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,386 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,618
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Yeah he was hard but not the worst. I've got all the dragon priest masks. Played 70+ hours because I'm a bit of a sad SOB. :)

    The pics below show the assemblage of masks where they belong at
    labyrinthian, well, just off in the place where you find the wooden mask
    and the final mask on my head.

    Me with wooden mask, final mask visible in the background.

    [​IMG]

    And me wearing it.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 3, 2011
  10. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    I use to play skyrim a lot














    Then i took an arrow to the knee.
     
  11. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,972 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Ohio
    No, I have to turn up the DPI on my mouse when I play. Then I have to turn it down when I pick locks :laugh:

    edit: I haven't touched the mouse settings in-game though.
     
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Thanks so much for sharing, I don't think I've ever grinned so much watching something on youtube, it was building up and then as soon as the shout happened I was in silent hysterics lol
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    KieranD says thanks.
  13. Ray_Rogers2109

    Ray_Rogers2109 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    392 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California
    I've been using my XBOX 360 for computer controller since my mouse is a shitty Acer wired but optical one. Was given to me. If I ever did buy another mouse, which I will eventually, it'll still be wired and with the infra-red optical thingy. After I get a better GPU, Sapphire Radeon HD 6950 2GB unlockable to 6970 without DiRT 3, instead of using the IGP 4290, better monitor which for now is a CRT connected via VGA (can't even use the DVI-to-VGA adaptor) and the one I'm wanting to buy is already listed. Keyboard and mouse are the last two. But for them I'd need to go to Fry's Electronics, especially for the keyboard, for a hands-on decision.
    I'm thinking my monitor with DVI-to-VGA adaptor on the Sapphire Radeon HD 6950 2GB unlocked to 6970 will be able to use 1600x1200. I think but I'm not entirely certain. No idea if nVidia will take my fried 8400GS, the fan is screwed due to the Compaq being Micro ATX, so I can have another GPU solely for PhysX.
    Sucks being poor and a part by part upgrader. But hey, at least I can run SKYRIM in 800x600 with 2x on both AA and AS thingy at good framerates on nearly completed Atomik Monkey. My desk isn't even large enough for EyeFinity but I could use one in Portrait so I could use CDisplay on it. 8GB RAM for now and eventually 16GB just because my 890GX has the slots for it and it's irritating me they don't have RAM chips/cards there.
     
  14. yami2ki

    yami2ki

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    lol!!

    Must-tard-jar!!! O:<
     
    Ahhzz, pantherx12 and KieranD say thanks.
  15. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,807 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    They have not made the change I kinda hope they would have: Make it an RPG. Instead it's an open world adventure with light roleplaying elements. I think I'll give up on RPG's, nobody makes them anymore.

    And the interface is god awful.
     
  16. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    yeah its ok, just got it from google.. funny because there was no result if you search for skyrim, so I used oblivion's instead.. still worked from the looks of it..

    set timescale to <number>

    sets the in game time speed. 30 is the default. Setting to 1.0 will make it go realtime
     
    Ahhzz says thanks.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,395 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,696
    its annoying as fuck, i go invisible riding a horse, and in third person (enchanting, smithing etc) its a toss up between invisible/headless/HUGE ARTIFACTY STRETCH LINE FOR A FACE


    edit: whats with those masks? i have some, but didnt realise you could collect them. do you get some uber mask with all their powers combined or something if you pokemon them all?
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2011
  18. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Anyone else like filling small rooms with loads of things?

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    This is what can happen to a travel companion if they glitch out.
    [​IMG]
    Couldn't find her for a while, then I enter a building to find her following me around fixed in this position.

    I don't know if it was due to taking an arrow almost to the knee.
    Had to Shout at her to snap out of it.

    Found after 1.2 patch I had to increase the mouse speed in game.
    Annoying that I can not turn as fast when I'm sprinting but it's something I encountered in various other games so I assume it was done like that for a reason.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2011
  20. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,043 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  21. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    UGH! I have been playing Steam in offline mode because I don't want to patch up. My steam restarts and goes online it randomly installs the patch even though It's set to never do that. Now I have deleted Skyrim and reinstalled from my disk.

    The worst part is you can not install from disk with no internet I tried unplugging it so it wouldn't update. turns out the second you start installing it from disk with internet this comes up so now once it gets done you can not play the game until you resume pause because it knows there is a update!

    [​IMG]
     
  22. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    That's strange.....
    I wonder why you have less to install.
    Maybe I do not remember how much data on disk was installed the first time round.

    I made a steam backup and found when I reinstalled, it was 5700mb I think.

    But still reinstalling from backup, I had to install the latest patch as well as be online.
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,395 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,696
    i took this for you guys, knowing how much you'd love it:

    [​IMG]
     
    Easo, theJesus, Wrigleyvillain and 7 others say thanks.
  24. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    He's my favourite character :laugh:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  25. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    983 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Canada
    What do the follower Skills apply to????

    It says in the guide that Aela, for instance, is skilled in archery, sneak, speech and one handed weapons...

    How do you benefit from her "speech" or "sneak" skills... ???
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page