1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    866 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Can't say I agree with you... (except about the prologue...)

    with my 2x 6950 setup, I've been getting a constant 60FPS in witcher 2, never dropping lower than 55FPS (with everything maxed... even .ini files)

    whereas in the same situation in skyrim, I get avg 40-60FPS... but it can drop to 30 FPS (with all settings maxed, and .ini files tweaked for max quality... ugrids = 7) And it ain't because the CPU's bad... but because the game ain't optimized as much as the witcher 2 was...

    But I did have to wait a little bit before AMD released the drivers that allowed for great scaling in the witcher 2...
  2. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Witcher 2 looks grainy as shit to me without ubersampling but such is too much of a hit at this point. So I haven't played it yet.
  3. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Witcher 2 ran like silk on my 1055t set up. ( basically the same as now cept cheaper mobo and a 1055t instead of BD)

    I could max out everything asides from uber sampling ( and I was VERY close to 30fps constant even with uber sampling on)
  4. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    I was surprised it made such a real IQ difference even though what it does damn well should I guess. Or rather I was surprised it looked so much worse without it I guess.

    So I CTD again after this latest patch. Really need LAA so good news they are working on it.
  5. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,200 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    Something apart from performance that I have noticed...

    I like this game alot for its ridiculously unbound choice platform... At first I thought that I liked Fallout much better for its environment, ambiance, gameplay, and general quirkiness.... the sparse environment in fallout, large map, and the use of guns and FPS ability (to introduce some level of skill in combat) made the game feel great.

    Skyrim is lacking in those respects. However, 120hours in... and the game has gone deeper, I undestand how to play it better... im a level 19 archer and two hander and have not died yet on expert (enough for me), and now make totally different choices and am still finding new locations and playing a different game altogether.

    The scale and immersion are impressive, and save the game from the mediocre combat and performance IMO. 120 hours in, Im finally getting that same giddy feeling I got when i first left the oblivion dungeon in the very beginning and looked up at the night sky, getting 30FPS, on medium quality, with my pencil modded 7800GT.
  6. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    120 hours and only level 19? Damn. Then again, I think a lot of us have gotten half our levels just from leveling smithing/enchanting etc.
  7. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Just checked how many hours I've done.
    181 and I had not been playing much at all after the 1.2 patch.
    Leveling up is pretty difficult now due to being at level 56.
    Using alteration and blocking seems to be leveling up quick now though.

    Back in game now since the 1.3 patch though.
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Aye, I'm level 30 something at the moment and it's because I do EVERYTHING because levelling up doesn't seem experienced based it seems you just have to level up a skill ( or skills) x amount of times ( tbh not been paying that much attention)

    So you can level up quickly if you start training something you've not really bothered with before.

    Like two handed weapons after spending 30 levels only using one handed :p

    Also I spend nearly all my cash on training :laugh:
  9. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,200 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    I already beat the game once on adept... this is my second playthrough, and my fourth character. I like to start the game with different variations of characters to see what works best :D
  10. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    oooooh :laugh:
  11. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,200 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    still... cant wait for mods to be stable and the customizations to come out... im really feeling the "ninja with a scoped crossbow" character.
  12. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    I remember MT FrameWork engine based games such as DMC4 and RE5 using DX10 mainly to improve performance, not graphical quality, which good imo (Assassin's Creed 1 had DX10/10.1 even to improve performance but was removed).

    ~70Hrs here, level 35 or 36 it seems, can't remember since i don't watch my leveling skills and just wander around (mostly in stealthy manner, i guess thats why i didnt realize im 100 in sneak already lol)

    ~11 hours on 2nd character, destruction/conjuration built, female this time, still get owned easily due to weak/no amor rating lol.

    btw, sumthin i found in the interwebz
    [​IMG][​IMG]
  13. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Even though i think the graphics are impressive in The Witcher 2, i think you should try it regardless of the graphics. Its a great game, hard at times but the newest update improved a lot.

    I had sound problems with Skyrim and yes ive set it properly in the Realtek panel. NOW since ive quit our of Skyrim neither of my 2 left speakers do jack shit. Reinstalling drivers and a restart so if that doesn't work i think my speakers died. Its Logitech x540s so not a big deal but id rather they didn't die on me.

    EDIT: No idea what the problem was but a restart seems to have fixed it. It was like the left audio was broken. I hope the position of the audio is fixed in Skyrim now; i was talking to NPCs and the position was way off, in game had to look to the side to hear voice.
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2011
  14. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    I think I'll wait for a proper crossfire profile before starting my first reroll.
    Closing in on 100 onehanded am gonna switch to two handed then, already have my new set of armor waiting(fortify archery, fortify two handed instead of fortify dest, fortify one handed).
  15. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    so is it ok to get patch 1.3 already? still on 1.1 through offline mode '__'
  16. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,080 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Looks like my Skyrim herd what I said and now won't launch.

    It is stuck on downloading updates. When I click to launch it in steam it goes to validate and when it is done validating it says Steam Servers are busy.

    Not sure what caused this.
  17. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I've downloaded it and found there are obvious graphical problems but I have also found that I can complete a quest which was previously bugged for me.
    But it could also be due to me completing the main quest.

    Improvements I have found are frame rate and controls for mouse and keyboard.

    Had one crash to desktop although it's pretty rare.

    Here's a pic of the most recent graphical glitch I've encountered since patch 1.3.
    [​IMG]
    As you can see there is a square patch of water texture missing from around the small island.
    This is located off Dawnstar.
    ViperXTR says thanks.
  18. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    ^thanks, i guess ill try when i get home, perhaps its not present on nvidia cards? >_>.

    Also, it looks like i wont have to use the frame limiter now, the only reason i use it because its causing extreme vertical movements in the mouse lol.
  19. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,080 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Can someone upload me the 1.3 exe or show me a place to download the 1.3/1.2 exe.

    I need to download both cause mine became a 0kb file. I deleted that but file verification doesn't notice it is gone.
  20. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Im still getting audio position problems, voice mainly. UUUURGH!

    Ive done the 2 main quests just going to mop up and see if i can do more of the side quests.

    The ending was just a bit meh thats it just over. Did anyone kill Paarthurnax? Is it worth it? As in do i get more Blades quests if i do? I dont really want to kill him but i will if there are more quests.
  21. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Like I said you probably won't even see the difference because of the game's linearity. My point is you can't compare them together performance wise, they're two very differently staged games despite both of them running DX9.
  22. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  23. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    US
    I am just glad i have a keyboard that i can change the bindings of the keys else i be totally pissed at them.. Just a little annoying the game saying press E but getting used to it now after 10 hours of playing it haha.

    Although i still think they did a great game but dam shame to release it with such a flaw. Even changing partly changing the keys in game is bad.

    And anyone who got the game who cannot deal with the keyboard bindings should be able to get a refund because to me the key bindings are broken...
  24. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    866 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Holy crap! 120-180 hours of gameplay in skyrim already for you guys?!

    Don't you guys, eat, sleep and work?
  25. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,871 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,468
    that's what makes it such an accomplishment ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page