1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kreij, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,090 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    mods

    I have a feeling that just getting the right .exe will fix things for me.

    If not then I suppose my last course of action is just that.
  2. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,660 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,767
    Location:
    Chicago
    What's this?
  3. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,375 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    Ray_Rogers2109 and Wrigleyvillain say thanks.
  4. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683

    Garfield says Ahhzz is this.
    [​IMG]
  5. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    That pic looked like a Thalmor justicar :laugh:
    theJesus says thanks.
  6. middydj

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hmm I must be doing it wrong then when it comes to saves. I used quick saves as my main way of saving. It seems though that my saves don't amount to anymore than a total 10-11.

    Should I "ESC" out then use the save feature instead of quick save? I too don't trust auto.
  7. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    He is using manual saves from the menu aside from quicksaves. Im also using manual saves for backup purposes when something goes wrong. I also use it since im playing 2 characters hehe. Right now i have around 170 manual saves.
  8. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Yeah, guess what Brilliance I pulled off? I was trusting that quicksave would do the job, (It said saving at certain points) so the first time I died, at dragonsreach, it started respawning me with almost no health, and more and more soldiers surrounding me every time. I went to load an earlier save, and the only one that was there was the one where I'm a prisoner at the beginning. :cry::mad::mad::banghead::mad: Good thing I only had a couple hours in.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    I'm at around 190 manual saves for only a single character that doesn't even have a specific skill set :laugh:
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2011
  10. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,375 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    This is what I do; I use the quick save feature while playing and when I decide to quit for the night I use the manual save function along with a quick save. I've not had any issues to date.
    Mussels says thanks.
  11. middydj

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oh man I almost lost it with something similar. I was on the quest and it made me reload with low health and guards hitting me. I almost gave up and started over as my saves were few and It made me load at 11-11-11 !

    I finally figured out the part of it and needed to find a trap door to exit the dinner party.

    Thanks also viper. Going to start saving that way.
  12. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    I usually perform manual saves on some quest specific events, or when i feel like ive been playing for a bit, preferably on a closed cell/place where there are few to no NPCs/object or nothing much is going on. I think it was suggested long ago when i was still getting addicted to oblivion, and one of the tip for better stability of mod loading, particularly Martigen's Monster Mod where it recommends you to save and load on an empty cell.
  13. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Yeah it's important to have manual saves as stupid auto save, can save over other auto saves which you may have wanted to revert back to.
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,151 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,476
    i always manual save before doing something important, or when i'm quitting the game.

    quicksave is when you're half way through a fight that could go either way, or about to see if you can slide down a big mountain as a shortcut...
  15. Crusader

    Crusader New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    You can use the console to do a quick, manual save. You can also actually name the save instead of it just being '152 Riften' etc.

    ` > save bouttofalldownmountainlol

    Type it in once, then just press the Up key when you re-enter to bring it back up for a "quicksave".
    Ahhzz says thanks.
  16. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Japanese version DORAGONBON >8D



    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  17. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I haven't seen a single dragon. I think I've got about 10 hours in.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,914 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    you're doing it wrong ;)
    or maybe i am... i have like 700 manual saves. but there is no quicksave button when you use a 360 controller instead of kb/m, so that's my excuse :)
  19. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,917 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
    lol DORAGONBON. :laugh::laugh:
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    digibucc says thanks.
  20. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,090 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    So I ended up having to copy my 1.2.1 skyrim backup folder over my old skyrim folder and now I can play. The .exe's alone for either the 1.2 or 1.3 didn't work.

    The thing is now I don't have 1.3 and steam won't update my skyrim it just always says Download Start...

    I'm actually getting annoyed with steam cause I'd much rather just download the 1.3 patch and install it again then deal with this or possible delete the whole game.
  21. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Did you go to white run and talk to the Jarl and his wizard etc and do the quests there?

    They won't turn up until you do that.


    Also!


    FUUUUUUUUUUU didn't sleep again last night, me and a friend are taking turns playing a mage character and didn't stop playing til 10 am ( started at 11pm)

    Damn Mage college quests! Story got interesting :laugh:


    Suffice to say was more than worth it at the end of all those quests :p
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2011
  22. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683

    +1 this. I actually got two words before I killed a dragon, because they'd not spawned at their lairs yet heheheh
  23. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Welcome to gaming with Steam-ing pile of.

    :nutkick:
  24. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Why don't you just delete you exe's and whatever else you copied over, then verify your game cache. Thats if you haven't tried that yet.
  25. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Yeah, I talked to the Jarl, and he took me into the wizards room and then 2 guards spawned and killed me before I could turn around. So I tried saying different things to him, and it turned out the same each time. I managed to escape though, with about 20 guards following me all the way to riverwood, where the locals started beating on me with axes. I narrowly escaped and kept running till I got to Falkreath.

    I like falkreath. nobody is killing me. however, my favorite part on the whole map, (I've done a ton of running around) Is the area around Honningbrew.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page