1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Sandy Bridge-E Overclocking thread

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by qubit, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,819 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,897
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I'm hoping MSI will be sending me a board soon. I really liked the Z68-GD65.
  2. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,157 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    They have yet to release their X79 heavy weapon afaik, the GD80. now that - is what i expect to see
    Im also waiting for the X79 UD9 from GB and some EVGA goodness
  3. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Wouldnt the Big Bang be their heavy weapon? And that is being seeded to reviewers in limited numbers from what I was told.
  4. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Im hoping the F4 bios solves some bclk issues (which people at hwbot says it does).

    UD7 review is posted at OCF. Extreme4-M about to go up, Evga FTW in the hole, and Extreme4 behind it...
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,819 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,897
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    You're getting far more boards than I am. :( Expect me to hit you up in the coming weeks for info, we'll see what we can come up with.

    Sad thing si thta i hate to see this 3960X not get used. Too much power consumption for me, for daily use, so it's reviews, or it collects dust, like my 1100T and FX-4100. Kinda sad I think of those three CPUs in the same light. :laugh:
  6. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,157 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    No doubt the 2500K is cream-de-la-P/W,$/P,OC
    IMO anyway...
  7. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    We can trade your X for my K... I PROMISE you it will get used like it is supposed to. :)

    Hit me up, my PM box is always open... and you have my email I think (if not hit me up, Its attached to my phone so I will get it quick like, just in case)
    cadaveca says thanks.
  8. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    For gaming you are completely right, can't think of a better chip than the 2500K actually... part of the fault is the lack of multi threading on games :|
  9. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,157 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Im enjoying both worlds, an LGA2011 system ready for IVB-E and an LGA1155 ready for IVB

    Viva la OC :toast:
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,819 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,897
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Me too. I think Earthdog has it covered too, unless he's sold off his boards or given them away.


    Ha, how lnog did it take you to figure out 2011 clocking? not much skill needed, fortunately. OC is dead, IMHO, but I wish it wasn't.
  11. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,157 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    took me about 5 seconds and ill describe
    1st second - ooh what's this? 3D bios? (my ass 3D but thats another topic) well well
    2nd second - huh... kinda familiar
    3rd second - dejavu?
    ...
    5th second - alright lets boot up and see if its stable at 4200Mhz
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2011
  12. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Still have a Sniper2 and 2600k for a daily driver (IB ready of course).

    As for me.. this was easy as well. The first link in this thread regarding need a spread sheet is horse crap. Just use the damn multi or do the the math... :p

    +1. Except I started out at 4.5ghz. :toast:
  13. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    I bought some new M4 x 35mm socket cap screws, unmounted the block and checked the spread on the Noctua paste. Did not look like I had enough on it, as there was about 1/4" to 3/8" on each edge of the IHS that did not get paste. Cleaned up the CPU, applied a more liberal amount of some Artic Cooling MX-4 compound I picked up at MicroCenter yesterday, then bolted the waterblock down with the new screws. I also decided to add a spare 120mm fan to blow air across the block, ram and VRM heatsinks. Temps dropped as much as 10C, so I fired up Asus AutoTune:

    [​IMG]

    Not too bad for a quick shot at it. Idle temps are now in the mid to uppper 30's C.
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2011
    cadaveca says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    Just ran a quick IBT test (5 passes). CPU cores 0 & 1 were 72/73C degrees (respectively), while core 5 was only 59C. Is my pressure not even? Which corner of the CPU are cores 0 & 1 on?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,894 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    :laugh: Nope its normal for a core to be lower than the others look here i posted this awhile ago i have the same thing going on.
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=156595
    t_ski says thanks.
  16. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,241 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I am so happy i read that. I decided to reseat my cpu block for aesthetics following some advice from '(FIH) The Don' and it was bugging me that my 'core 0' temp was about 5-10 degrees higher than the others.

    I initially used the rice grain central blob method for thermal paste (silver based compound) and found a small corner of the HS not covered.

    I reseated with the credit card method using a plastic spreader and got a perfectly thin even layer on the full HS. CPU block is also now reoriented 90 degrees. Plugged all back in and ran IBT for 10 passes.

    [​IMG]

    Still the same. Plus the annoying offset Asus use means the core temp is far lower than what 'Core Temp' (and Real Temp) measured.

    Is there a better way to adapt the fans in BIOS (such as lower duty fan max temp to 60 from 70)?

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  17. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,894 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Your temps are better than mine the54thvoid better cpu cooler, i reset my CPU as well because i though it was odd 1 temp was lower, i reset using the pea method the 2nd time around and got better temps than the credit card method, Use FanXpet in AI Suite II to set up your fan speeds thats what im using.
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  18. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,241 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Yeah I'm ising FanXpert in AI Suite and i've had no probs withit. It's just a concern that it's reporting lower temps. I figure if i set the BIOS Max Duty temp at 60 degrees for max fan speed of 80% that'll give me 10 degrees of safety room.

    Though as you can see, running at 4.2GHZ with my settings only has one core in the 60's so I'm not sweating it.

    Cheers mate. :toast:
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,819 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,897
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Interesting info guys, keep it coming.


    :rockout:
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Anyone try 2nd wave of cpu's, first release was C1? And now it's C2, so anyone try C2 CPU's ?
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
    cadaveca says thanks.
  21. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    I thought first would be C0, then D0, but I could be wrong.

    Not me. I just got my chip a few weeks back, and I do not have any need for the virtualization support. I am by no means one to overclock something to the brink. I know my chip is good for at least 4.8GHz, and that's good enough for me (at the moment at least).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,894 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    C1 was release and C2 in January?
    Hayder_Master says thanks.
  23. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    Will be probably released close to SB-EP Xeons release, should be the same stepping.
  24. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    First run. 4.5GHz with Turbo enabled. Used similar settings for Digi+ as the Asus video linked on this thread.

    So H100 at the lowest setting is hitting mid 70's and mid setting is just under 70C. Do I just start lowering VCore till i find lowest stable? If you got any numbers/advice I'm happy to try them. This chip clearly uses more volts than the regular SB i'm used to

    [​IMG]
  25. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,894 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    4.5Ghz you normally need a Vcore in between 1.34-1.38v depending on the quality of your CPU.
    KieX says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page