1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Sandy Bridge-E Overclocking thread

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by qubit, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Thanks Live OR Die :toast:

    Doing little by little, managed to run 1.65 1.365 stable, so will keep dropping in .05's till i find the lowest. Good to have a target range though, so thanks you've cut me some time :)
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011
  2. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    No worry's :) for my chip i think i needed 1.38v on my vcore but my temps on load got into the low 80s because of my room temps in summer.
  3. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,131 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    1.65v? Was that a typo?
    KieX says thanks.
  4. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Lol yep, forgot the 3, should be 1.365v. :slap:

    Got it down to 1.345 with medium LLC last night. Pretty sweet at the moment, it crunches around 65C so it's the same temp as the 2600K's I have in the same room (albeit a lot louder :laugh:)

    280W system draw from the wall according to the killawatt, which isn't too bad. Will probably be quite different when I add a 560Ti
  5. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,208 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,430
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Tried 44 multi with some power tweaks (llc, cpu phase and over current through BIOS. Set vcore at 1.35.

    Ran IBT 10x with Very High stress level. Quite happy. Still finding my way around an Asus BIOS after having a biostar one before. :confused:

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    KieX says thanks.
  6. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,738 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,168
    Here's some randome stuff I gleened from the XS thread for Asus X79 boards:

    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    Wow, is the IMC so strong to have a maximum specs voltage of 1.85v? That's a lot.
  8. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,738 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,168
    You can take it with a grain of salt, as I have not verified those specs against Intel datasheets.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    LARGE grain of salt. For memory clocking for benchmarks, and under sub-zero only, no long-term, or no under high load, IMHO.

    Only certain IC's(hypers, PSC @ high-speed) really need that much. Most users with 4GB DIMMs will see ZERO benefit from going that high.

    I'm working on memory clocking right now, have been for a few days.
  10. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    What type of cooling are your running i hate this H100 any think over 4.25 on 1.3vcore and my temps on load go over 80C which i wont to keep under :(.
  11. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    H100 with stock fans and the middle setting for speed. But you can scratch my 1.345v.. didn't last the night :mad: Back to 1.36v with High LLC for 4.5 :ohwell:

    Temps are something that's confusing me a little. Intel Burn Test and Prime95 SmallFFT both load around 70C max. Yet when I'm running WCG it's about 73-74C :wtf:

    But yeah, H100 is quite limited with headroom. Asus' JJ may have said the H100 is good for 4.8.. but err.. doesn't look like it to me

    EDIT: Maybe i need to start downclocking for a less severe 24/7 clock/temp but kinda sucks.
  12. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Yer i cant see how this H100 can hit 4.8Ghz he must of been sitting below a aircon, But like he said for normal use you will never put the load on your cpu like Prime95 would maybe if your encoding but not for gaming its 35c in my room at the moment and my idle temps are :shadedshu
    [​IMG]
  13. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    Custom loop with 3x120/4x120 should cut it for 5 ghz @ accettable temps, a single 480 hardware labs can tame a 980x at 4,7 ghz 1,5vcore. Now that I'm running an H100 because it is less of an hassle, it can't break 4,5.
    Was keeping my wc loop for the newcomer but they seem they don't wanna get in stock here -.- might aswell wait for Ivy-E since there is not so much difference with the 980x.
    Also remember tha the stress you put up with Prime or linX is way too high and you'll never reach those temps with other tasks.
    My 980x has 15-20 degrees of difference between linX and 12 threads with Firefly or Vue or Vray (Vray is the most intensive though).
    You shouldn't have many problems Live or Die, with gaming it is hard to find a game that uses more than 4 threads.
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  14. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I'll be chiming in this thread soon, still waiting for the goodies to arrive. I'm a bit out of the loop, been really busy lately!
    Any tips for 3930k C2 steppings? Whats the max 'safe' voltage so far, 1.4-1.42v? How about max 'safe' temps, 75-80c?
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    1.4 V seems the safe limit for CPU volts. Unless using high-end water, you'll find out why quickly.


    1.25 V
    1.2 V for VTT, contrary to previous info on C1 chips.


    80c-85c is OK for moderate clocking, but I recommend trying to keep well under 80c, @ 75c or so under LinX/IBT.
    johnnyfiive says thanks.
  16. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,738 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,168
    Same reason why Intel decided not to include stock coolers with these...
    cadaveca says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    EXACTLY. :roll:


    I had to get an H100, and as Keir mentioned earlier in the thread, even that cannot handle much, although my chip has degraded a fair bit.
  18. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I'll be using a NH-D14 with some replacement 100+cfm fans soon. We'll see how it goes! Thanks for the info cadaveca.
  19. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Tonight I will finally have time to get started on my 3930k. I, can't, wait!
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    WTH, where's the screenshots?:wtf:


    :laugh:
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  21. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I'm just now getting around to the overclocking, pics to come soon! :D
  22. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Man, 3930K's get hot once you start ramping up the clock speed.
    I'll keep going until I hit 80c. NH-D14 SE2011 is no match for the hexcores at 4.6+ :p

    [​IMG]

    IBT, with Win 7 SP1. Toasty toasty.
    Ambient temp was 24.1C
    cadaveca says thanks.
  23. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    859 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    697
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    She's a hotty on air for sure, but you got it looking good.:toast:
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, that what I was refering to earlier, but it becomes so quickly obvious I figured you'd easily see for yourself.:laugh:

    Those are decent clocks, at decent voltage; Try to not overheat it too much, and limit your IBT runs. Just over 225W seems about the max these CPUs like on high-end air/AIW-Water, and going by HWMonitor, you're pretty close to that.

    You might wanna give the 125 MHz BLCK divider a try, see if ya can't get 4750 with 2000/2333 MHz ram, seems to be a nice sweetspot in performance many are hitting under 1.4 V.
    johnnyfiive says thanks.
  25. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    lies.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page