1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Torchlight II thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by theubersmurf, Dec 16, 2011.

?

Are you planning on buying TII and/or DIII?

  1. TII

    24 vote(s)
    29.3%
  2. DIII

    12 vote(s)
    14.6%
  3. Both

    33 vote(s)
    40.2%
  4. Neither

    13 vote(s)
    15.9%
  1. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
    If you have that then I must have something else. Mine must be a hardware issue.
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Here's what I get ...
    [​IMG]
  3. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Five hours in and on level 12. Taking my time and making sure I don't miss anything.
    Question, how does this online thing work? Currently I am playing Single Player and loving it.
  4. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
  5. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    I had a similar issue, but I think it was more to do with Steam, but at that time Skyrim and L4D2 was messed up with error messages. What I did to fix this was completely remove Steam by un-installing, which in turn wiped out all my games, then re-installed Steam along with the games I play and so far after about 2 months after that removal, everything is running great.
    Though you shouldn't have to wipe Steam out, there must be a resolvable issue. I'll start digging for more info on your issues.
  6. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
    You're not modding it are you?

    Looks like some files have been renamed (or are named) the same some how. So have to find the files and change the names. That's what this guy had to do.
  7. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    No, not modding at all. This is the initial install from Steam.
    It appears that it finds the files but for some reason doesn't like them (file type).
    The files are there, but empty, as I've never done anything to configure settings since I can't get that far, which baffles me on why it's telling me they need to be unicode.
  8. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
    Seen folks link it to Steam Cloud, the most recent update to windows7, and of course graphical drivers too. Though to be honest your problem sounds like you have had a bad installation.

    I'm going to assume you've deleted all the files and redownloaded/installed it all again.
  9. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Yes, I did delete, defrag and redownload. Quite curious actually.
  10. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
    It is. Perhaps move all of your game files out, delete steam, and then move only torchlight back in. I don't know, i'm grasping at straws.


    In other news, I swapped in my new graphics card (one that I thought was messed up) and so far no problems. Perhaps I just needed to reseat it.
  11. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    8 hours in and I am at Level 18. The bosses get harder and harder. I realize it all has to do with strategy to take them down. So far its the best $20 I've spent for a game in a long time :D
  12. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    501 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    did you play it on veteran mode? i played it on veteran mode yesterday and my outlander char has reached at level 44 so far, and at this point, all monster being more insane (have insane damage and health though it is a small monster :wtf: ) and for the bosses, i think they want to troll you a lot.. :roll: (veteran mode)
  13. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Yes playing on Veteran Mode. Wow, level 44, I don't have the time to play that much :D
  14. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,171 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Played the demo.. wasn't impressed (both graphically and through gameplay). Not sure why.. maybe because I got burned out by Diablo 3, that playing another arpg feels like a start all over again. Going to wait for it to go $5. Maybe by then, my arpg urges will kick start once more.
  15. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    501 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    i usually play my games hard on weekend :laugh:, the same for me, i don't have much time while on working day.

    [​IMG]
  16. lange007 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I just wanna say that I'm getting the same error. It happened the same way. After installation, i got a blue screen after launching the game for the first time. (using vista btw)..

    Now I'm getting the same error as this Kreij guy.
  17. lange007 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ok I fixed the problem, I just deleted the whole torchlight 2 folder in that directory (where you get the error from).

    then a launched the game without a problem.
    Kreij says thanks.
  18. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Thanks, lange007.

    I deleted the TL2 directory (renamed it actually) and the game started, however, I could see the cursor but both the keyboard and mouse were non-responsive and I had to reboot.

    Maybe it doesn't like crossfire on my rig.
  19. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    Diablo 3 has better graphics but this game has a interesting fun factor that I think is more than the Diablo 3. I only have the demo of TLII and just going by reviews of Diablo 3. For $19.99, that is what games should cost :)
  20. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    With this game focusing more on the artstyle, I can say that it can rival Diii
  21. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    How is D3 a rival to TL2? TL2 supports 6 person multiplayer, offline play, and LAN.
    Super XP and Ahhzz say thanks.
  22. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    869 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    Kreij, what was the complete file name from the error you received?
  23. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Level 21 and about 10hrs in. This game is fun. Figured out strategy that takes out bosses real quick. Not dying as much anymore. The last game I played that is similar to this one was DIABLO 2 back in 2000 or so. Obviously this game blows it out other water. Love the choice for multi-player and single player.

    Question, can I use my single player character for online mode?
  24. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,877 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Yup Yup.
  25. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Confirmed YES! Anyone lvl 40 trying to group up? :toast:

    My Torchlight ID is Slumbering. Add mehhh

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page