1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The OverClockers BSOD code list

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by jlewis02, Feb 11, 2011.

  1. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    BSOD Codes for i7 x58 chipset
    0x101 = increase vcore
    0x124 = increase/decrease QPI/VTT first, if not increase/decrease vcore...have to test to see which one it is
    on i7 45nm, usually means too little VVT/QPI for the speed of Uncore
    on i7 32nm SB, usually means too little vCore
    0x0A = unstable RAM/IMC, increase QPI first, if that doesn't work increase vcore
    0x1E = increase vcore
    0x3B = increase vcore
    0x3D = increase vcore
    0xD1 = QPI/VTT, increase/decrease as necessary, can also be unstable Ram, raise Ram voltage
    0x9C = QPI/VTT most likely, but increasing vcore has helped in some instances
    0x50 = RAM timings/Frequency or uncore multi unstable, increase RAM voltage or adjust QPI/VTT, or lower uncore if you're higher than 2x
    0x109 = Not enough or too Much memory voltage
    0x116 = Low IOH (NB) voltage, GPU issue (most common when running multi-GPU/overclocking GPU)
    0x7E = Corrupted OS file, possibly from overclocking. Run sfc /scannow and chkdsk /r

    BSOD Codes for SandyBridge
    0x124 = add/remove vcore or QPI/VTT voltage (usually Vcore, once it was QPI/VTT)
    0x101 = add more vcore
    0x50 = RAM timings/Frequency add DDR3 voltage or add QPI/VTT
    0x1E = add more vcore
    0x3B = add more vcore
    0xD1 = add QPI/VTT voltage
    “0x9C = QPI/VTT most likely, but increasing vcore has helped in some instances”
    0X109 = add DDR3 voltage
    0x0A = add QPI/VTT voltage


    Please feel free to comment, advise, correct, and add to this list. I am not the original author and will not take credit for it. I simply thought that it should be posted by itself. I am only repeating the info that I got here and at XtremeSystems.I would like for everyone to help me set it up for other systems as well.

    I found this and thought I would post it here to help you guys out.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2011
  2. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,176 (5.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Ohio
    I never knew specific BSOD codes could tell you what you need to do with your settings. I've always isolated components and overclocked them one at a time. First dropping the memory and increasing cpu speed and getting that stable first, then playing with the memory freq...
     
    BababooeyHTJ says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,965 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    /sub
     
  4. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Updated with more info
     
  5. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,684 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,780
    Location:
    Chicago
    Can you link the thread at XS? Thanks
     
  6. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
  7. BababooeyHTJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Yeah, thats been my experience as well.

    Let me just say this I've seen OCN and I don't have much faith with the majority of the posters there. I would need more evidence than this hearsay.
     
  8. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,267 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    965
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    What about AMD?
     
  9. St.Alia-Of-The-Knife New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    195 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    i got 0x27 once with overclocking and i suspect NB or RAM voltage
     
  10. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,569 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    958
    Seems identical to my list minus the 32/45nm specifics. That and I didn't separate them. The rules seem about the same for SB and 1366 minus the occasional uncore mention. Now if only I knew what no code meant. Seems when I'm on the edge of stability I never get a code.
     
  11. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,296 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,743
    we definetly need more info pertaining to amd overclocking
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  12. St.Alia-Of-The-Knife New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    195 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    well i usually get 0x101 with a low vcore and i dont think there is a much of a difference between intel and amd BSODs in terms of overclocking
     
  13. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,752 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    i have a customer that has 0xc9c and 0x7e codes. what is the issue? from what i can tell it is a memory dump write failure or bad sectors but I may be wrong too.
     
  14. RJARRRPCGP

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Springfield, Vermont
    For me, 0x1E (0x0000001E) aka "KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED" means that my Barton 3000+ AQZFA temp got too high and I was just playing Gran Turismo 2 with PlayStation emulation LOL.
    My Barton 3000+ AQZFA is on an Asus A7N8X-X. (Ran Windows 2000 Pro.)

    And 0x0A (0x0000000A) aka "IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL" means unstable core, appears to be typical when IBT fails from lack of Vcore.

    And back in 2002, with my T-Bird 900 @1050 Mhz, XP usually gave me that error when running Need For Speed III and I couldn't get it stable with my Soyo SY-K7VTA-B motherboard, no matter what!
    This made me give up overclocking and thus, never overclocked in 2003.

    And I once assumed it was stable, because it never crashed with Gens, LOL.

    And increasing the Vcore to much more than 1.85V on the Soyo SY-K7VTA-B actually caused the BIOS to go into boot block mode! :eek: I was able to get back in after clearing the CMOS. May have been the stupid Deer DR-250ATX. :mad:
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2011
  15. RJARRRPCGP

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Springfield, Vermont
    (In 2004)

    Motherboard: Asus A7V8X-X (Via KT400) (purchased in fall, 2003)

    STOP: 0x0000009C MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION was an unstable core, with my
    T'bred 2000+ AIUCB, it starts doing that at 2055 Mhz.
    I would get that BSOD when playing Goldeneye and when there was a lot of explosions (Nintendo 64 emulation) with probably both PJ64 and 1964.
    I heard that the AIUCB stepping sucks.

    And when I ran Prime95, Prime95 usually gave an error within roughly 45 minutes.

    Prime95 sometimes reported "ILLEGAL SUMOUT" 100 times.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2011
  16. RJARRRPCGP

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Springfield, Vermont
    According to Microsoft, Vista and later usually displays this BSOD instead:

    STOP: 0x00000124 WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff557321(v=VS.85).aspx

    According to Microsoft, the Vista and later equivalent of STOP: 0x0000009C MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION is:

    STOP: 0x00000124 WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR

    -> This BSOD code don't exist in Windows XP, Windows 2000 and Windows NT 4.0 <-
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2011
  17. dtunner

    dtunner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    very nice! thanks!
     
  18. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Awesome List, Subscribed.
     
  19. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,489 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    613
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    I CAN SAY THESE ARE THE SAME CODES YOUD SEE IN THE SAME SCENARIO ON A PHENOM II :shadedshudamn caps
     
    More than 25k PPD
  20. vladmire New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    118 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    here i am, nosebleed :(

    i still prefer OC'ng lga775^^ much easier compared to SB. that's how i see it.
     
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,958 (9.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,438
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    LOL WUT?^^^^

    SB has been the EASIEST to OC is a long while. 4.3ghz with NO VOLTAGE increases! did LGA775 do that?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. vladmire New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    118 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    if i remember it correctly, yeah. i oc'ed e2140 without touching the vcore.
    [​IMG]

    but then again, i may be wrong, it's been awhile i havent done any oc.
     
  23. think_alien New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    this is completely awesome :D so do any of these codes apply to amd cpu's aswell or are they completely intel/chipset specific?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page