1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The OverClockers BSOD code list

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by jlewis02, Feb 11, 2011.

  1. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    BSOD Codes for i7 x58 chipset
    0x101 = increase vcore
    0x124 = increase/decrease QPI/VTT first, if not increase/decrease vcore...have to test to see which one it is
    on i7 45nm, usually means too little VVT/QPI for the speed of Uncore
    on i7 32nm SB, usually means too little vCore
    0x0A = unstable RAM/IMC, increase QPI first, if that doesn't work increase vcore
    0x1E = increase vcore
    0x3B = increase vcore
    0x3D = increase vcore
    0xD1 = QPI/VTT, increase/decrease as necessary, can also be unstable Ram, raise Ram voltage
    0x9C = QPI/VTT most likely, but increasing vcore has helped in some instances
    0x50 = RAM timings/Frequency or uncore multi unstable, increase RAM voltage or adjust QPI/VTT, or lower uncore if you're higher than 2x
    0x109 = Not enough or too Much memory voltage
    0x116 = Low IOH (NB) voltage, GPU issue (most common when running multi-GPU/overclocking GPU)
    0x7E = Corrupted OS file, possibly from overclocking. Run sfc /scannow and chkdsk /r

    BSOD Codes for SandyBridge
    0x124 = add/remove vcore or QPI/VTT voltage (usually Vcore, once it was QPI/VTT)
    0x101 = add more vcore
    0x50 = RAM timings/Frequency add DDR3 voltage or add QPI/VTT
    0x1E = add more vcore
    0x3B = add more vcore
    0xD1 = add QPI/VTT voltage
    “0x9C = QPI/VTT most likely, but increasing vcore has helped in some instances”
    0X109 = add DDR3 voltage
    0x0A = add QPI/VTT voltage


    Please feel free to comment, advise, correct, and add to this list. I am not the original author and will not take credit for it. I simply thought that it should be posted by itself. I am only repeating the info that I got here and at XtremeSystems.I would like for everyone to help me set it up for other systems as well.

    I found this and thought I would post it here to help you guys out.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2011
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,936 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    I never knew specific BSOD codes could tell you what you need to do with your settings. I've always isolated components and overclocked them one at a time. First dropping the memory and increasing cpu speed and getting that stable first, then playing with the memory freq...
     
    BababooeyHTJ says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    /sub
     
  4. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Updated with more info
     
  5. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Can you link the thread at XS? Thanks
     
  6. jlewis02 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
  7. BababooeyHTJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Yeah, thats been my experience as well.

    Let me just say this I've seen OCN and I don't have much faith with the majority of the posters there. I would need more evidence than this hearsay.
     
  8. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,134 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    917
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    What about AMD?
     
  9. St.Alia-Of-The-Knife New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    195 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    i got 0x27 once with overclocking and i suspect NB or RAM voltage
     
  10. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,555 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    Seems identical to my list minus the 32/45nm specifics. That and I didn't separate them. The rules seem about the same for SB and 1366 minus the occasional uncore mention. Now if only I knew what no code meant. Seems when I'm on the edge of stability I never get a code.
     
  11. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,668
    we definetly need more info pertaining to amd overclocking
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  12. St.Alia-Of-The-Knife New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    195 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    well i usually get 0x101 with a low vcore and i dont think there is a much of a difference between intel and amd BSODs in terms of overclocking
     
  13. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,709 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    i have a customer that has 0xc9c and 0x7e codes. what is the issue? from what i can tell it is a memory dump write failure or bad sectors but I may be wrong too.
     
  14. RJARRRPCGP

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Springfield, Vermont
    For me, 0x1E (0x0000001E) aka "KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED" means that my Barton 3000+ AQZFA temp got too high and I was just playing Gran Turismo 2 with PlayStation emulation LOL.
    My Barton 3000+ AQZFA is on an Asus A7N8X-X. (Ran Windows 2000 Pro.)

    And 0x0A (0x0000000A) aka "IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL" means unstable core, appears to be typical when IBT fails from lack of Vcore.

    And back in 2002, with my T-Bird 900 @1050 Mhz, XP usually gave me that error when running Need For Speed III and I couldn't get it stable with my Soyo SY-K7VTA-B motherboard, no matter what!
    This made me give up overclocking and thus, never overclocked in 2003.

    And I once assumed it was stable, because it never crashed with Gens, LOL.

    And increasing the Vcore to much more than 1.85V on the Soyo SY-K7VTA-B actually caused the BIOS to go into boot block mode! :eek: I was able to get back in after clearing the CMOS. May have been the stupid Deer DR-250ATX. :mad:
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2011
  15. RJARRRPCGP

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Springfield, Vermont
    (In 2004)

    Motherboard: Asus A7V8X-X (Via KT400) (purchased in fall, 2003)

    STOP: 0x0000009C MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION was an unstable core, with my
    T'bred 2000+ AIUCB, it starts doing that at 2055 Mhz.
    I would get that BSOD when playing Goldeneye and when there was a lot of explosions (Nintendo 64 emulation) with probably both PJ64 and 1964.
    I heard that the AIUCB stepping sucks.

    And when I ran Prime95, Prime95 usually gave an error within roughly 45 minutes.

    Prime95 sometimes reported "ILLEGAL SUMOUT" 100 times.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2011
  16. RJARRRPCGP

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Springfield, Vermont
    According to Microsoft, Vista and later usually displays this BSOD instead:

    STOP: 0x00000124 WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff557321(v=VS.85).aspx

    According to Microsoft, the Vista and later equivalent of STOP: 0x0000009C MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION is:

    STOP: 0x00000124 WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR

    -> This BSOD code don't exist in Windows XP, Windows 2000 and Windows NT 4.0 <-
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2011
  17. dtunner

    dtunner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    very nice! thanks!
     
  18. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Awesome List, Subscribed.
     
  19. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,411 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    I CAN SAY THESE ARE THE SAME CODES YOUD SEE IN THE SAME SCENARIO ON A PHENOM II :shadedshudamn caps
     
    More than 25k PPD
  20. vladmire New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    118 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    here i am, nosebleed :(

    i still prefer OC'ng lga775^^ much easier compared to SB. that's how i see it.
     
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    LOL WUT?^^^^

    SB has been the EASIEST to OC is a long while. 4.3ghz with NO VOLTAGE increases! did LGA775 do that?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. vladmire New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    118 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    if i remember it correctly, yeah. i oc'ed e2140 without touching the vcore.
    [​IMG]

    but then again, i may be wrong, it's been awhile i havent done any oc.
     
  23. think_alien New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    this is completely awesome :D so do any of these codes apply to amd cpu's aswell or are they completely intel/chipset specific?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page