1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The P35 Chipset Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Mediocre, Aug 9, 2007.

  1. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    sweet! thanks!
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,678 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    You people are getting the FSBs all confused.


    For example:
    Pentium 4 and allendales used 200MHz (800 in intel speak)
    First gen conroe and the Kentsfield use 266MHz (1066FSB)
    latest gen conroes and 45nm use 333MHz (1333 FSB)


    Before anyone gets more confused, intel quad pump the MHz to their FSB - when you overclock, you deal with the MHz numbers.

    If your motherboard supports a 1333 FSB CPU (333MHz) then its guaranteed to run at that speed. If you have a quad core (Q6600) that at stock is 266MHz with a 9x multiplier (266x9) and raise the FSB to 333MHz, that makes 333x9. Thats 3GHz.
    jds21, Irish_PXzyan and Cold Storm say thanks.
  3. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Thanks for the info :p

    When I begin my overclocking adventure..I could use with every bit of info before I take that leap!
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    1. Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
    2. Pentium Dual-Core E2200
    3. Right now 273FSB, 1.3v havent really tried to go higher yet but I will

    Love my board so far :D
  5. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    [​IMG]

    All right all, thats with a 7 multi! I'm not going to go with 8. It won't boot at 450.... and so I'm happy where I'm at with 500fsb.... sweetness huh?
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    [​IMG]

    Pretty proud of my self :D
  7. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Looks pretty good man... glad to see it like that! happy arent you?
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I hit a wall. I have my FSB at 400 and mp at 8x(3.25ghz) and I cant find stable volts for it.. prime always crashes around 20 mins. I have my volts at 1.337(stock 1.275) what should I do? My temps are fine its just that.
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2008
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,678 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    northbridge volts. Still discussing this with you in the other thread.
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I just ran Prime95 overnight after raising the volts on the cpu one more notch and it ran with no errors :)
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,678 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    thats what we wanna hear ;)
  12. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Australia
    Holy crap Coldstorm that is a hot load temp man. I can run mine for over an hour at full load and be stable with a load temp of around 45/50. It must be very hot ambient where you live?
    Ahh I see it is hot coz the volts are so high?
  13. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I live in Florida. And temp in the room was around 76.... I didn't have the fan on the cpu going at full speed ether... if I do the 550fsb, at 6 multi, I get alot better temps... If i turn on the vortec I can get about 10 degree drop... but, I really don't mind the temps if its under 70...
  14. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Australia
    It gets hot here aswell. For some reason my CPU can run insane low volts and still be stable... I do not mind coz it is nice and cool.
    [​IMG]
  15. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Yeah, here is my processor at 550fsb
    [​IMG]
  16. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Australia
    Breath thread back to life. Is there anyone in here running crossfire with P35 chipset?
  17. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Ok, quick update

    [​IMG]

    New P35 board, Foxconn Mars. 366Mhz FSB (so far). 3.3Ghz E8400. 1.22v and memory at 1.1Ghz :)
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I will be soon :)
  19. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Australia
    I was just wondering about the 16x and the 4x thing and how it goes.
  20. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    yeah I was wondering the same thing, then I got this damned Asus Xonar D2X pci-e soundcard... thinking that I could slot it in the PCI-E slot above the first graphic card slot.
    On my motherboard it wont go due to the fact that the bloody thing is too long and hits the ram.

    Solution, use the 2nd PCI-E 16X slot = no crossfire, unless I want to bin the soundcard and lose £130 hehehe....

    Aah well and i thought I was being clever getting a PCI-E soundcard!
  21. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Australia
    And to add insult to injury I think you also loose the 1x slots as soon as crossfire is enabled.
    twicksisted says thanks.
  22. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,357 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    902
    Figured that this needed an update from me. Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, E8400, 450FSB, 1.345V

    Attached Files:

  23. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Australia
    Nice work
  24. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Yup you do. Unlike the upcoming P45 which has 16 lanes dedicated to the PCI-E 16x slots, the P35 only has 20 lanes in total, 16x for the first slot, and 4 for ALL other PCI-E slots.
    Mussels says thanks.
  25. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Australia
    hhmmmmmm.... P45 I may look into one of those puppies.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page