1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The PS3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Easy Rhino, Feb 7, 2008.

  1. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,411 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    yea you can do that. but i prefer creating my own folders. i never use those pre-made "my" folders.
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Mine does that too. However, it didnt fetch any of the "good" stuff off my external firewire hdd. So Ill have to move that stuff to my main hdd and I really dont want too :(
  3. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,411 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    well im not sure why, but WMP 11 will no longer share media with the PS3. it worked fine for 6 months and then suddenly it wont share. i even did resets of all media services on the vista box and reset the ps3. so now im using tversity and it works great. so long WMP.
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Hmm, Ill have to look into this Tversity. I have yet to check out WMP11 and PS3 sharing.
  5. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    How many of you are getting GTA4? and how many of you will I see online and get to play with me and my friend that recently got a ps3 and my other friend that said he'll start playing his ps3 again when he see's GTA4 which is paid off?
  6. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,411 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    i am getting it. im gonna preorder it tomorrow if i can get to the store :rockout:
  7. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    I'm getting it, I'm pre-ordering not tomorrow but the next day.

    @Easy Rhino,
    With that thing on the front page, do you mind people asking you to change it all the time (whenever they get a new game or accessory etc..)
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    The hell with GTAIV. That whole franchise is damn stupid. However, ya'll have fun with it.
  9. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    :slap:
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Uh, no, no slapping me. The game sucks man, Im sorry I hate it.
  11. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,411 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    you hate it? why ?
  12. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    How do you know you hate GTA4?
  13. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Well, lets see, I hated the theme from the get go. Its not a genre I enjoy. The characters are retarded. Oh and I hated 1 through 3. So yeah, I hate it. But fret not. Those of y ou who like it, Im glad you do. Enjoy it. I hope it looks bad ass on the system. For me, I cant stand that game. But Im glad ya'll have taken an interest in my enjoyment factors :D
  14. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,411 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    well i dont think ive ever talked to someone who says they hate the gta series. i can see people who dont like it, but not hate it. interesting.
  15. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Well, off the topic of hating the game, I am now a proud pre-order owner of the game. :)
  16. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Yeah, my nephew had 2 or 3 or both for the xbox, gave that a go again after a year or 2 and pretty much just wanted to smash his xbox ::rofl:: But I must say, the graphics on this game are pretty awesome.
  17. xylomn

    xylomn New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    661 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, England, United Kingdom
    Hey I need help :(

    Just bought a ps3 today plugged it in via the standard cable to set it up, when i plugged in the hdmi cable, set the ps3 to output to hdmi, then select hdmi as the source on my tv nothing appears on screen, the tv is detecting something is connected but not displaying anything.

    My tv is the Samsung LE32R74BDX, it supports 1080i and 720p so it should be ok with the hdmi but it just aint :cry:

    I've tried looking for solutions but to no avail, ayone know any solutions ;)
  18. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Have you tried restarting the ps3? I had the same issue and it had to "sync" up. I actually connected it first with HDMI but then I went to the rgb cables and had to go back to hdmi (looked better). Make sure the audio is set up right as well.
  19. xylomn

    xylomn New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    661 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, England, United Kingdom
    can't set then turn off-on after applying hdmi the screen goes blank (obviously coz i'm using the rgb atm) switch to hdmi source on screen nothing there, i have no idea the button combination required to confirm the settings so after 30 secs it switches back to rgb. so when i turn it off and on its still set to use the rgb output :cry:

    I wanna play in hd lol
  20. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    well you still can with RGB. But if you just hook it up HDMI after switching to hdmi and resetting it or powering it off and on, it should work. There is no reason for it not to. Also, make sure its on the right HDMI channel. Mine has 2, HDMI 1 and HDMI 2. I have it set to HDMI 1 as its the one Im using. and X confirms if its right.
    xylomn says thanks.
  21. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    To reset video settings...

    turn off the ps3 via the rear power switch.

    turn on the ps3 via the rear power switch.

    Then hold the power button for a few seconds until you see video output (it should also beep).


    You should do all the video/audio configuration on the HDMI port. You do not have to switch.
    xylomn says thanks.
  22. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Make sure your changing the output to HDMI as well as the resolution too one your TV supports.
  23. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    yeah thats what Ive been saying, in a nutshell :D
  24. xylomn

    xylomn New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    661 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, England, United Kingdom
    ok sorry for being a dumbass this is driving me up the bloody wall...

    I've tried the resetting holding down till beep still nothing over hdmi, i've uploaded a small video showing what i'm doing..

    http://rapidshare.com/files/107547747/MOV01088-2.wmv

    I have my tv set to show the hdmi input on the right and the standard rgb input on the left, if the switch worked the image should move to the right of the screen but as it shows it don't :cry:

    Hopefully this short vid will make it possible to know where the hell i'm going wrong...

    btw thanks for all the advise so far ;)
  25. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    unplug the rgb and only have the hdmi in. Try that.
    xylomn says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page