1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

THE scariest thing EVER.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by kyle2020, May 28, 2008.

  1. kyle2020 Guest

    christ i about pooed myself haha.

    Uninstalled a program that required reboot, so i clicked reboot, my bios splash screen popped up, then a black screen as per usual, but then followed by

    BOOTMGR IS MISSING!!?!?!!?!?!?!?!? :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

    i almost had a heart attack. checked all cables, booted into vista repair bit, it couldnt find my harddrive :eek:

    So i sat there, wondering WTF had gone wrong. so i popped the cd in again to do a fresh install, admitting defeat. However vista booted straight onto my login screen :wtf:

    Was possibly my most terrifying experience in computing EVER.

    Possible spam but i had to share it with you all. Dont know what went wrong :confused:
     
  2. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,260 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Iv had it happend to me to, many times. Except a few were not as lucky as you...:cry:
     
  3. kyle2020 Guest

    i dont know how i just magically booted into windows. confused the hell out of me.
     
  4. Drauk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    May I ask, what software you were uninstalling?
     
  5. kyle2020 Guest

    in all the excitement i cant remember haha. *brainstorms*
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,923 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,214
    i've seen things like that, if i leave a USB storage device (incl. my digicam) connected to the PC it changes the boot order, and the system tries to boot off those and fails.
     
  7. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,632 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,958
    I had read about people getting that on Vista. Apparently it's a problem either where you have more than 1 HDD or where your HDD is partitioned.
    After Vista's initial "loading installation files" you are given a choice as to what partition/drive you want to install Vista on. If there is any partition/drive above the partition/drive you want to use, then it will need to be disabled because Vista is going to write BOOTMGR on the partion/drive thats on the top of the "where do you what to install" list.
    Also you might want to check your boot priorities in the bios.

    If you remove the Vista disk from the drive, does your pc boot normally now?
     
  8. kyle2020 Guest

    well, i just did a reboot and no. i need the disc to be inserted to boot. I only have one harddrive, no partitions on it seeing as i have an external HDD. when i went into the repair section of the cd it couldnt find my harddrive, for some reason, and thus i couldnt repair anything. Im going to have to try again, but i dont know how to solve this. :(
     
  9. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,632 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,958
    I found this... maybe it helps?

    Method 1: Repair the BCD store by using the Startup Repair option

    You can use the Startup Repair option in the Windows Recovery Environment to repair the BCD store. To do this, follow these steps:
    1. Put the Windows Vista installation disc in the disc drive, and then start the computer.
    2. Press a key when you are prompted.
    3. Select a language, a time, a currency, and a keyboard or another input method, and then click Next.
    4. Click Repair your computer.
    5. Click the operating system that you want to repair, and then click Next.
    6. In the System Recovery Options dialog box, click Startup Repair.
    7. Restart the computer.


    Method 2: Rebuild the BCD store by using the Bootrec.exe tool

    If the previous method does not resolve the problem, you can rebuild the BCD store by using the Bootrec.exe tool in the Windows Recovery Environment. To do this, follow these steps:
    1. Put the Windows Vista installation disc in the disc drive, and then start the computer.
    2. Press a key when you are prompted.
    3. Select a language, a time, a currency, and a keyboard or another input method, and then click Next.
    4. Click Repair your computer.
    5. Click the operating system that you want to repair, and then click Next.
    6. In the System Recovery Options dialog box, click Command Prompt.
    7. Type Bootrec /RebuildBcd , and then press ENTER.
    • If the Bootrec.exe tool runs successfully, it presents you with an installation path of a Windows directory. To add the entry to the BCD store, type Yes . A confirmation message appears that indicates the entry was added successfully.
    • If the Bootrec.exe tool cannot locate any missing Windows installations, you must remove the BCD store, and then you must re-create it. To do this, type the following commands in the order in which they are presented. Press ENTER after each command.
    Bcdedit /export C:\BCD_Backup
    ren c:\boot\bcd bcd.old
    Bootrec /rebuildbcd
    8. Restart the computer.
     
  10. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    Backup Now!!!
     
  11. kyle2020 Guest

    i was just reading that too haha. going to print it off now :toast:

    Its just frustrating how its happened out of no where :banghead:
     
  12. kyle2020 Guest

    going to have to just in case ;)
     
  13. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,632 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,958
    Or maybe you can make windows to show hidden files, find your bootmgr file, probably it's on another partition... copy and paste it on the partition containing your OS... It's easier if you download something like total commander or similar.
    Good luck...
     
  14. kyle2020 Guest

    i dont have any partitions :confused:

    i have tried this anyway, reckons i need permission to add the file? cant get past it haha.
     
  15. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,632 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,958
    Are you logged in as administrator?

    Have you tried the 'startup repair' option?

    1. Insert Windows Vista DVD media into DVD-ROM drive, and boot up your computer using CD-ROM drive. If your computer doesn’t boot up or at least prompt you to ask whether to boot up with CD-ROM drive, you need to change the boot up sequence setting in your BIOS.
    2. At the “Install Windows” window, select your preferred language, time and currency format and keyboard or input method, and then click on “Next” button.
    3. On the next screen, click on the “Repair your computer” link on the bottom left corner.
    4. Choose which Windows installation that you want to repair, in case you have many copies of Windows partition. In the case you have only one installation, the choice is obvious.
    5. In the “System Recovery Options” window, click on “Startup Repair” to automatically fix problems that are preventing Windows from starting, including missing BOOTMGR.
    6. The recovery process should be pretty fast completed. Then take out your DVD, and try to boot up your computer using hard disk to check if the BOOTMGR is missing problem is solved.

    If you still facing problem, try the second option - “System Restore” instead, which should be able to recover and replace back original good BOOTMGR if the restore point is created before BOOTMGR is missing.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2008
  16. kyle2020 Guest

    no problem - just done it mate. Used the insructions that make you use command prompt. cheers panther! problem solved :D :D :D
     
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Sheesh Kyle. First an overclocking venture and now this. Your really hitting em out of the ballpark this week. Congrats you got it fixed. I was going to suggest to take a look at Disk Management to see if your boot partition was the active partition.

    Well in all reality glad to see you got it fixed.
     
  18. kyle2020 Guest

    i know haha - its my curse. If something can go wrong, it bloody will. Glad i sorted it, still amazed how it just happened for no reason. Atleast now i know how to fix it in the future :D
     
  19. smig New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    156 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Israel
    I always say - don't try to kill yourself this week. it won't work :D

    good it's solved :)
    BTW there is a reason for it to happen - using vista :p
     
  20. kyle2020 Guest

    your right haha. wish id have waited for XP SP3 to come out :(
     
  21. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,260 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Also may I note. NEVER UNPLUG THE COMPUTER OF HAVE IT SHUT DOWN BY ANY MEANS WHILE ITS IN SLEEP MODE!!!! IN FACT DON"T EVEN PUT IT IN SLEEP MODE CAUSE IF SOMETHING GOES WRONG, YOUR BOOT WILL MESS UP!!!!.

    Thats what happend to me pleanty of times with Vista+SP1 so I just stoped using Sleep Mode.

    Oh man did I try practicly everything in startup repair and the CMD to get it fixed...

    bootrec /fixmbr
    bootrec /rebuildbcd
    bootrec /fixboot
    bootrec /scanos

    SFC and more. Try useing one of those if you can't get your PC to boot.
     
  22. kyle2020 Guest

    my problems solved mate, but thanks for the input. i never put my system "to sleep" haha, i either lock it or turn it off :D
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,923 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,214
    i have no issues doing that. Using vista it simply resumes as if i hit hibernate - if you disabled the hiber file, then you of course will have issues.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page