1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU Darkroom - Digital SLR and Photography Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by DanishDevil, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. burtram

    burtram

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    589 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
  2. majestic12

    majestic12

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    553 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    boondocks, Michigan
    I think I'd rather have an EOS-1D X or a D3S than the Red... :p
     
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,654 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    me no has dslr, or a camera, but.....

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    but my phone is pretty awesome i think.

    nb hotlinked from facebook.
     
  4. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,070 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    [​IMG]
     
    garyinhere says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. majestic12

    majestic12

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    553 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    boondocks, Michigan
    [​IMG]

    Osaka at night. Thought this thread could stand to be updated!
     
    Ahhzz, burtram and garyinhere say thanks.
  6. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    959
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
  7. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    869 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    235
    [​IMG]

    OK .. So, happy new merry blah blah we have all had enough of that I'm sure.

    Here's my New Years Donation : A ~190Degree panorama of the Durban beach front, in South Africa, taken from the top of the arch of the Moses Mabhida Stadium built for the 2010 Soccer/Football World Cup.

    Interesting fact : The roads surrounding the casino (Big white building) in the far right of the image where also some of the main bends AND the "Pit" area for the A1 racing circuit that also ran in South Africa for 3 years.

    Taken using my trusty Canon SX20 - Sadly it had to be reduced a LOT for the TPU free image hosting to accept it - the original is roughly 25,000 x 3,300.

    I also had to JPEG it pretty hard to get it under the file size limit so it picked up a lot of grain.

    But there it is.

    LATE EDIT : PS : The stitch is not crooked as some have thought, regarding the ocean line. That's the curvature of the earth :) We really do all live in a VERY small world - I'm not gonna say anything stupid like throw your air-con away, or start living on salads - Just think about it next time you are using resources & do your best to be efficient :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2012
    garyinhere and majestic12 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    959
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    Did you stitch these together or was it a in cam pan?
     
  9. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    869 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    235
    Software - the SX20 is a very nice BUDGET camera - price to performance it is one of the best I have ever seen (And I still have rejected the SX30 (Well, EVERYONE hated that camera), and SX40 upgrades, because I honestly think the old SX20 takes BETTER pictures) , and insane battery life & battery storage life (literally over 6 months) - It's long range electronically and mechanically stabilized lens is even better because - lets face it , a full DSLR and all its attachments really aren't always practical. BUT it's processor is only just enough to get the job done - It has in cam pan shoot assist - but cannot even think of rendering anything that big on the camera :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2012
    garyinhere says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,710 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    How would I go about selecting every last hair in this picture?
    [​IMG]

    I can get most of them using refine edge, but the stray ones on the top of her head are just out of my grasp :p
     
  11. majestic12

    majestic12

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    553 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    boondocks, Michigan
    [​IMG]
     
  12. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,819 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    That last one is very cool. Still Osaka I imagine?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. majestic12

    majestic12

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    553 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    boondocks, Michigan
    ^Thank you and yes, it is still Osaka.
     
  14. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,047 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,154
    http://www.dpreview.com/previews/nikonD800/ or the D4 since it is low light. Its to late to salvage anything on that photo your show here. The details were never captured.
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,710 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Oh, what do you mean by "details"? It's not well exposed?
     
  16. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    959
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    not true, what Post Processing program you use? LightRoom PS5?... I have salvaged photo's two stops underexposed before but it is alot easier if you are shooting in RAW... the depth of field is pretty shallow due to a low f/stop but it can be done
    :toast:
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  17. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,047 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,154
    Details being the hair, what else. Your question was about the hair
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,047 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,154
    I shoot RAW/NEF always and use the best program for my cameras but that's not the point. I lost my EXIF viewer some FF updates ago so I can't see if that "hair shot" was done in RAW and/or with a decent exposures/camera/lense but from what I saw the details is lost.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    959
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    Sorry meant the op of the subject not you, i agree depth of field was way too shallow prob due to using Auto mode w/flash
     
  20. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Some VERY nice shot's in this here thread! :pimp:

    I don't own a camera, just what's on my cell (Samsung t989) and hoping to get some advice: I'm trying to take a pic in the dark, without flash, of a dimly lit item to submit for warranty purpose's but can't get the image to register. Is there some setting's i can try to get the image to show up? What other option's do i have? I'd hate to have to buy a camera to take 2 pic's and then return it :eek: Thank's in advance :)
     
  21. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,819 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Apply extra light, whether it's from a lamp or even a flashlight. Heck, there was one person who posted pics he took using his monitor for lighting (although he used it to provide a purple tint to the subject).

    If it's not registering because it can't focus on the object, sometimes you can add something to the pic to help it focus. I've seen people place a pen on a shiney metal object to get the camera to focus right.
     
    m1dg3t says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I think if i added an extra light source it would "wash out" what i'm trying to capture :( I have a couple LED panel's that have some LED's that stay light, ever so lightly when powered off. I don't think it's a focus issue just that the they aren't bright enough :banghead:
     
  23. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    It is extraordinarily difficult to do so without access to manual settings. Since you're on a phone, the only suggestions I have are to try with different angles, different times of day (lighting), or try to add some lighting from different angles and brightnesses.

    Our eyes have the ability to see so well at night because our pupils dilate heavily. That is similar to the aperture of a camera's lens, and settings like this can usually only be changed manually on higher end cameras and dSLRs.
     
    m1dg3t says thanks.
  24. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    The phone has a pretty decent cam, not DSLR but still good for a phone. It's a Samsung t989 (Galaxy 2x "Hercules") anyone know what setting's to look for/adjust? I'm a camera n00b :eek:

    Thank's in advance!
     
  25. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    You can play around with shutter speed, aperture, white balance, and backlighting if it has any of those options. Not dissing the camera on the phone, but the lenses just don't have the abilities that full-framed SLR lenses do. You might also want to try a macro mode if it has one. Might work.
     
    m1dg3t says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page